We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views, stunning estate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages to your Saves list
Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Clouds Estate | Helshoogte Road, Stellenbosch 7560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views, stunning estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Having stayed in Cape Town for work and family visits, we took a last minute trip to the wine lands and stayed one night at Clouds Estate. The setting is truly breathtaking with stunning views and beautiful surroundings. Everything is new with stylish design and a warm welcome from the Dutch owners. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and breakfast was cooked to perfection. The room was thoroughly modern with various apple gizmos and little extras such as everything being complimentary in the fridge. We were driven to dinner next door on a motorized golf buggy and had an outstanding dinner at Delaire Graff. It was a truly wonderful 36 hours and we have every intention of returning to Clouds when we're next in SA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
99
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Clouds Estate, recently renovated, is a very polished operation. The suites are very well appointed, clean and comfortable. The lounge converts to a very comfortable double bed making each suite suitable for two and two. Great views from the decks of the nearby mountain ranges and the valley full of vines. There are new pools. There is access via a side gate to another winery adjacent, Delaire Graff, that has two high-class restaurants. My friends and I enjoyed a very tasty dinner there at a surprisingly moderate cost. Clouds is well worth a visit. Its proximity to the Stellenbosch area and the numerous wineries makes it a good base for those tasting excursions. Finny39

Room Tip: All the suites have excellent views and decks in front from which the scenery and the sunsets can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in Clouds Estate during our week in South Africa and cannot wait to go back. The entire estate has been entirely renovated with a superb contemporary design style. Everything, from the room, to the common areas, to the terrace and the pool looks perfect. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with gorgeous balconies overlooking the mountain and very nice bathrooms. The breakfast is excellent and you can take it on a terrace with views of the mountain and the infinity pool. That is a place you can really relax in, and enjoy life. Marika, the manager, would also give you great tips on the regions and where to have lunch or taste wines. Just to say a bit more about the view and location: Clouds is situated on the Helshoogte pass where presumably you have the best views in the entire area on the neighbouring mountains. Not a coincidence that Delaire Graff, the luxury wine estate, is in this exact same location. We went to have dinner in Delaire Graff (Clouds will arrange a golf car to get you there, as the two estates are communicating), and while a very luxurious and nice dinner experience, we thought the value for money of staying in Clouds is much better than Delaire. We will definitely go back and recommend it a 100%.

Room Tip: We were in room 2 which has a very nice view on the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We are two Poms from Oxford in the UK who have been very regular travellers in your lovely country for nearly twenty years now.
Our reason for visiting the wine country in 2013 is because my daughter Sacha was getting married at Delaire Graff in February and we had to book accommodation somewhere nearby.
How lucky can you get? Just next door my lovely daughter found Clouds, it was undergoing extensive renovations, but she promised that by the time we got there it would be perfect.
And indeed it was!! We were greeted by the lovely Marika on our arrival, we were shown to a most beautiful room with views to die for!! We looked out over the pool, over the vineyard, looked at other vineyards and farms into the distance where mountains reached for the heavens! Wow!!
Other guests stayed in the hotel and the cottages, and the cottages are so roomy and excellent value for money.
Service from the staff throughout our visit was both friendly and professional and most of all they made every effort to ensure our stay was perfect and indeed it was.
The breakfast was freshly cooked, you could go very healthy or you could indulge in the African equivalent of a full English breakfast. Yum Yum!!
We would have no hesitation in returning to this wonderful location, we have brought literature to share with friends and if you as a reader of this review are looking for somewhere special in the wine region, look no further, get on the phone and book it now!!
Muchos gracias to all at Clouds - you are magic!!
MIke and Linda Skinner

Room Tip: Every room seems to have a perfect view of the valley and mountains - check with Marika!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We returned to Clouds in February, eighteen months since our last stay and the complete renovation is amazing. There are a series of beautifully appointed villas, glass-fronted pools and a beautiful reception and dining area. The only thing that has not changed is the view which would arguably be one of the best in Stellenbosch right next to Delaire Graff. We stayed in a self-catering villa so once we had checked in we had little interaction with staff. It is an easy drive into town and only takes a few minutes. Paarl and surrounding wine areas are all within 20 to 30 minutes drive. A very luxurious and enjoyable retreat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achthuizen
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a few days at this luxurious resort. One always searches for such a retreat and now we found it. The rooms are extremely modern and superbly decorated and very spacious. The staff is very friendly. The owners had created and booked a great tour for us as well, meaning they booked a helicopter and private yet for us to visit the Gorah safari. My wife and I are spoiled brags when it comes to spending holidays but Clouds Esate is a dream come true. After that we went to Cape Town and spent one night at the Bay Hotel. Never book the Bay Hotel. It is such a disappointed after you spent a couple of nights at the Clouds Estate. Ones you have been there, you will definitely go back which is actually against our principles but my wife and I decided to break that very important rule all because of this tremendous holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This is the life. Magnificent views all around, rooms that are boutique in style and Dutch in design and a real feel of the high life with an unobtrusive manner.

Relaxing in style is the way with an infinity pool looking onto the mountains and the vines that provide the wine by your side.

Simple things such as water by your bedside as you turn in and a complimentary bottle of the estate wine really make a difference.

It's a place to have on your list when you're in SA again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages

Address: Clouds Estate | Helshoogte Road, Stellenbosch 7560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clouds Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.