We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages

Save Saved
You added Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Clouds Estate | Helshoogte Road, Stellenbosch 7560, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Tranquil Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Next door to Delaire Graff and a fraction of the price, albeit without some of the amenities. It feels a bit mean to mark it as average, as when the staff engage with you they are lovely, the rooms are good and with Delaire and Tokara on the doorstep it really is value for money.

But I couldn't help feeling that weddings are the main business here. We arrived a day after a big wedding and the staff were preoccupied in getting the place ship shape afterwards. Lots of cigarettes stubs in the grass by the pool, loungers and umbrellas had been removed and only reappeared two days after.

There was no proper welcome on check in, we were shown to our room by one of the maids/kitchen staff. Two days later the manager/owner (?) was back and the difference was noticeable.

Ok- that was the less than satisfactory. On the positive side, the breakfasts were really good and the morning staff very attentive. The room was clean and well attended to, and our balcony afforded a beautiful view across the valley. The estate is peaceful and pretty, but not too far away from the town. Walking to Delaire isn't necessary as they will send a golf buggy for you, but I wouldn't recommend walking to Tokara down the busy dual carriage way.

At the time the "shabby chic" style of the rooms wasn't particularly my preference, but if you look at the website now they are having a huge makeover, and it looks like it will be far more contemporary - the addition of a bar will be a good improvement.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
77
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The room just oozes with an air of romance - from the views of wine country and the mountains, the humungous bathroom and tub overlooking the patio and wine country, the large, plush and comfortable bed, the ornate desk and chair, it is a lovely experience. There was a good variety at breakfast, and fresh fruits and juices. If Delaire is booked, but you want to enjoy its restaurants, pool and spa, this is an excellent alternative - you can stay here and either walk over on a gravel path to Delaire (about a 5-minute walk), or a golf cart can come and get you and also transfer you back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

my partner and I had the pleasure of staying over at the Clouds Wine Estate on the Helshoogte pass outside of Stellenbosch this weekend (10/03/2012). We opted for the cottages option however guests can opt for either a cottage or to be accommodated in the guest house in your own room. The guest house accommodation comes standard with breakfast however if you would like as a cottage guest to have breakfast you are most welcome to. We took this option and where treated to fantastic breakfast of fresh fruit and a full hot breakfast of your choice. All this while sitting on the roof terrace overlooking the amazing views of the valley below. It is easy to see why so many couple choose to have their weddings at this venue, the views and the staff are world class.

We stayed in the cottages aptly names “tranquility”. The cottage comes standard with all you would expect from a self catering cottage (full kitchen, TV, Wireless etc).The beds are new and very comfortable. The view from the cottage is fantastic with you walking out right onto the vineyards.

For lunch or dinner you can also treat yourself to the Indochine at the Del Air Wine Estate. It is truly is amazing to have one of South Africa’s best restaurants on your doorstep. This is situated right next-door to Clouds and the best part is they come and collect you in a golf cart to drive you across and back.

We will certainly be back time and time again. I would suggest making sure you book in advance as this is a very popular estate

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK-US-NO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed all over Cape Town and Clouds was our favorite by far. The view/area is stunning! You feel so relaxed here, it's quiet and peaceful and everyday you wake up to view the beautiful mountains from your balcony. And they really know how to take care of you here. It's the little things that count, like turning on your room lights at night so when you return, you don't have to scramble in the dark; leaving still water and chocolates; refilling candles; providing complimentary snacks, tea and coffee; and so on and so on. Plus, the breakfast is divine! Fresh, local produce (had figs picked from the garden that morning), fresh squeezed orange juice, delicious homemade breads. And they always ask what else they can get you. The staff are very approachable and friendly. You really do feel spoiled and tranquil here!

Room Tip: Luxury Room 1 was very nice, I think it might be the smallest, but it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Beautiful setting looking at vines and mountains.Our garden apartment"Peace" was old and dated,full of clutter with no auction value.TV hopeless.Pool was shared with next door-the whole arrangement a disaster.The place will be totally wonderful when some bright person re-arranges-currently it is not worth the bother-we are sure hotel part is much better.
Breakfast excellent.we dined at Graffs both nights we were there,this was a wonderful experience

Room Tip: Avoid until refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Located just between Stellenbosch and Franschhoek this place is HAEVEN. Hotel offers 5 rooms!!! Absolutely high level, wonderful breakfast, swimming pool, very good OWN estate wine (white or rose), next to delaire graff and tokara winery this is the place if you are looking for something quiet off the path of mass tourism. wonderful views, very friendly and helpful staff and an atmosphere where you fully relax. When staying there, we heard that the estate was recently sold to a dutch couple, operating some business in germany, we heard, that there will be a lot of changes in the future, so we cannot judge how it will be. For now, its heaven.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvedon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Great hotel - owners who run it very helpful. The view was fab from our room which was very spacious and comfortable. We went next door to the Delaire Graff which was a great experience (but be warned...not cheap!).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages

Address: Clouds Estate | Helshoogte Road, Stellenbosch 7560, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Specialty lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clouds Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clouds Estate - Clouds Village Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.