We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, lacking service, rude waiter” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Pineta

La Pineta
Rue de L'Aerodrome, Stellenbosch, South Africa
21 880 0293
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 176 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Good food, lacking service, rude waiter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This use to be one of our favourite resturants to go to - but unfortanetely lately the service has gone from bad to worse. Our waiter was openly rude, ignored our requests and walked way while we were still talking to him. The food is really good - but the bad service was embarrasing to me as the host of a party of 6.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    33
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great service and excellent views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had dinner at La Pineta on Saturday evening with a friend. We had Groupon vouchers, and were a bit skeptical about the food and service and whether this would be up to scratch. However, the experience was simply awesome and memorable: excellent service from our professional and friendly waiter; the ambience was great with the fireplace being on (Stellenbosch seems to get rather chilly in the evenings at this time of the year); the views of Table Mountain in the far distance together with the sun setting over the vineyards was more than we had expected.
We all happened to order the baked line fish, and can only comment on this - it was very tasty, and we tried a selection of desserts which were even better! The wine and coffee were just as great. Will definitely go back.
Liked the best: dessert (lindt choc torte and summer berry pavlova) & the fireplace
Liked the least: can't think of any.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Family Friendly eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is the first restaurant I went to where the fact that I had bought a Groupon voucher did not make a difference to the owners...we were treated well regardless of the voucher (unlike a few other places where I've had some kind of issue every time.) They even accepted my 2 vouchers for Sunday lunch, although Sun lunch was excluded. The food was delicious (especially my prawn tempura), the view is gorgeous and our kids could play to their heart's content at the huge playground, which would have made La Pineta a new Summer favorite if I stayed just a little bit closer. I think I will make the effort/drive again, there is a lovely relaxing atmosphere and all-round great place to hang out with some friends!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bures. UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Watch the sun go down over Table Mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This restaurant has had a makeover and is well worth a visit. Good food, good service. Good view of Table Mountain in the distance. Very pretty sunsets on a clear evening. Log fires.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset west
2 reviews
“we won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We arrived ages before a busload of tourists but they were all served before even one waitress could tear herself away to take our order, let alone bring our food!
When we told friends about our visit, they said that they had heard it was not very good at the moment....

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Pineta also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to La Pineta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Pineta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.