We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oak Village B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oak Village B&B to your Saves list
Oak Village B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   7 Hamman Street | Town Central, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 108 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Absolutely Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

It was wonderful the staff was so helpful and accommodating to us - the Breakfast was amazing and the room was clean and so comfortable. We really loved our stay and will be back soon. Thank so much xx

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamman7, Manager at Oak Village B&B, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Dear Chantal,

Thank you for staying at Oak Village B&B, and thank you for your "Absolutely Brilliant" comment.
Have a wonderful day.

Kind Regards
Oak Village Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

It's OK. Main problems are that: This is business and feels more like a hotel than a B&B. It has no family atmosphere. Oak Village is in 3 buildings. In the room we were in the internet access is very intermittent and the door provided no soundproofing from the rest of the occupants, including the kitchen as breakfast was being prepared. The bathroom had no door, giving a nice view of the garden, and anyone in the garden a nice view of the loo! Why was there a tray marked "poison" under the bed!!!. On the plus side it is in very easy walking distance of the centre of the town. Overall OKish, but the least impressive of the 5 B&Bs we stayed in over the fortnight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stay was very pleasant - only one night.
Lady who served breakfast was wonderful as was the fresh fruit salad.
Rest of breakfast not so great tho - would have liked some cold meats, muffins/croissants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were very happy with our stay at Oak Village - self catering. Everything was very neat and tidy and clean, and a big bonus was the daily cleaning that was included. It's ideally located, and within walking distance of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Horrible horrible horrible..... this was the worst part of my experience in all my stay in South Africa. Our arrival was greeted by the false smile of a horrible check-in clerk by the name of Geannie. After a 12 hour flight from the UK her opening line was that we were late and should have been here at 10am... i looked at my watch it was 11am.
There is no welcome folder with any info etc. No working wifi. Pool was filthy. TV has no channels tuned. No sockets to charge phone/ipad. Never mind that there was no electricity for the first day/night. Food purchased for self-catering spoiled. When electricity came back a filthy iron ruined shirt for wedding. Got accused of stealing sheets when we left them out to be cleaned. DVD player.... don't even ask.
Personal favourite quote from the ever unhelpful Geannie when asked why there was still no electricity on day 2 of our stay .... 'Your bad luck"... .complete joke of a place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OakVillage, Owner at Oak Village B&B, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments, please be assured that we take this serious.
I think you were cross about the letter where we asked you for linen (2 continental pillowcases and flat sheet) because it was not in the room when we cleaned it in the morning. The rest of the linen were stained seriously. I know you were embarrassed with the letter, but in future please let the guesthouse know about these kind of abnormal conditions and there will be no embarrassments or questions. We know that you cannot wash it, but we need to keep track of our linen and that was the only reason for the letter.
On your arrival I know Gene meant that the house was ready from 10h00 because we cleaned it first because we know you were an early check in, I think she just wanted to say we are ready for you and did not mean that you were late (after all you are on holiday and an hour here or there is not a problem)
There is a guest folder on the sitting room table with all the information regarding plugs, sockets, wifi. Our telephone number is in the file and we are next door, you were welcome to come and ask. I know Gene helped you or a member in your party when you said that the tv channels was not working. The television was plugged out for a laptop lead used by the party, after the tv plug was plugged in, everything worked again.
Electricity issue was the plugs circuit in the house that was not working on the first night. All other lights were working. We were told by a member in your party that they only need the iron for the next day's wedding and therefor it will be in order to sort out the plugs-situation in the morning. The electricity and plugs were sorted the next morning. Irons sometimes leak water when it is not completely warm, I don't know if this maybe caused the problem because we use these irons to iron all our linen.
I am stunned about the "bad luck" comment or body language that gave you the idea of this kind of comment. This is rude. There was 3 managers working while you stayed here and now nobody confessed that they told you this. My apologies for this behaviour on behalf of our guesthouse.
Christelle Kriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We started our cycling trip at the Oak Village b&b in Stellenbosch. Very layed back and hospitable atmosphere, comfortable rooms and thanks to the great service of Gené and Margaret you feel at home from the moment you walk in. Conveniently located close to the center of Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

I am from Stellenbosch but live in the Uk. My boyfriend came with me for Christmas 2012 but because my parents' house were full with guests we booked a room in Oak village for three nights. We were given the room at the pool ( it is not really a room but a badly constructed outhouse) but it soon became apparent from the smell in the room that there was a damp issue. This was evident from the dehumidifier and the black mould present on the curtains that there was a serious issue. We phoned Jeannie who came to see us and we said we could not stay in the circumstances and we left. She said she was unable to offer us an alternative room on the day but could do so on the following night. The room we were allocated the next night was spacious and well decorated. Upon check out i was shocked to learn that he was required to pay the full price for the room with the damp issue by Jeannie and was not offered a discount. She was rude and abrasive. This was a very unpleasant experience for him and embarrassing for me that he was treated like this in my home town. I will not recommend this guest house to anyone.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oak Village B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Village B&B

Address: 7 Hamman Street | Town Central, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Village B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Village Bed & Breakfast and self catering in Stellenbosch, is situated at Hamman Street, just off Dorp Street in the historical town centre of Stellenbosch. This popular Stellenbosch guest house also offers 1 self-catering facility, with two bedrooms, bathroom, lounge and fully equipped kitchen and close to the communal swimming pool. This Stellenbosch Bed & Breakfast and self catering, offers the perfect stay over for any traveler or business person. Your hosts, Dawid & Christelle Kriel, share their passion for food, wine and people, with all visiting their home and make you feel welcome with real Cape hospitality! Visit Oak Village, our Stellenbosch bed & breakfast, self catering accommodation and feel at home in the heart of our historic town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oak Village B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oak Village B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.