We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue, but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dornier Bodega

Dornier Bodega
Blaauwklippen Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 880 0557
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 176 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Price range: $12 - $18
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas, Vegetarian, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Part of the Dornier Wine Estate, this is a great place to enjoy the best in life. Spend time with your family on the generous verandah and pair some great Stellenbosch wines with dishes from a creative seasonal menu.You can taste our wines at the table or at the Wine Lounge in the same building.
Hermanus, South Africa
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice venue, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have eaten at this restaurant several times in the past and always been happy with the food and service. On our recent visit however we felt that the food was rather overpriced. Two courses (in my case, soup and a burger) for R175 seems a bit over the top. We also missed the lovely basket of fresh breads that they used to offer here. Our waitress was efficient at first, but because she was busy elsewhere when we wanted to leave it took ages to get our bill. We will not be rushing back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    59
    18
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Delicious mountain views, wine and food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Spectacular view of the mountain. The verandah would be ideal but we choose a rainy day and sat indoors looking at the walls instead. The service was excellent, ask for Michaela who was sharp and attentive without being intrusive. The atmosphere is relaxed and the wine and food superb. We chose a seven year old merlot R130 which is the best I have ever tasted. I look forward to revisiting in the summer when I can feast off that mountain.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and winery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We opted for Dornier Bodega restaurant to meet with some family over lunch. The place has an amazing view over their lawn with the mountains in the background. The booking went smoothly. Unfortunately for us on the day of our lunch it was cold and rainy so we sat inside. They had a little trouble with their fireplace and the place smelled a bit of smoke.

But nonetheless, we had a great lunch. Most of us opted for the two course menu and some of their wine. The food was excellently presented and was delicious. The wait staff was very friendly and efficient.

I can recommend this restaurant for anyone from a few people to a large group.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good wine tasting, poor restaurant service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We were a table of 8. The wine tasting was professional. The meal was a different story. For the first course 3 starters were served then 5 minutes later 4 more - the last starter arrived when everyone else had finished eating their first course. When the mains were served it was almost the same: 4 guests were served, the waiter then went off to serve another table and later came back with the rest of the mains. The pork belly was served with no crackling - the crackling had been forgotten. It later came on a separate plate for all to help themselves. The biltong risotto was tasteless and undercooked. There should have been a Dijon Glaze but instead the pork was liberally drizzled with balsamic vinegar which did nothing to enhance the flavour of the pork. The lamb burgers were equally disappointing. The star performers on the day were the duck spring rolls and flammekuchen. All in all a very disappointing food experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Revisited and Reviewed......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The staff were most helpful in trying to correct the problems we endured on a previous visit and invited us back for a re-appraisal. We didn't go on the "Seafood Special Day" as previously but a week-day lunch would be a good test. The resulting warm welcomes, excellent explanations by the staff of the menus, certainly placed us in a most relaxing mode. We selected the 3 course lunches with paired wines and can give high compliments to the chef for presenting a delicious lunch experience. The food, views and overall ambiance along with the scenic drive into the foot of the mountains can all be highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dornier Bodega also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Dornier Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dornier Bodega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.