We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful setting by the Stellenbosch Mountains.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dornier Bodega

Dornier Bodega
Blaauwklippen Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 880 0557
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 181 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: Winery, Mediterranean, Vegetarian, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Scenic view, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Part of the Dornier Wine Estate, this is a great place to enjoy the best in life. Spend time with your family on the generous verandah and pair some great Stellenbosch wines with dishes from a creative seasonal menu.You can taste our wines at the table or at the Wine Lounge in the same building.
Lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Delightful setting by the Stellenbosch Mountains.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Three of us enjoyed lunch here on a warm and sunny afternoon. The menu is mainly Mediterranean but we had the Easter special of local crayfish and sea food. The huge prawns were particularly good. The usual menu is moderately priced but the seafood was expensive. We were charged for extra bread which was a bit mean as we were paying such a lot for the seafood.
Service was excellent and the local wines good value.
The setting is lovely and there is an excellent play area for children. The restaurant serves lunch every day, including Mondays.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    68
    20
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buonas, Schweiz
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place, service must improve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

As they are open now for dinner on some days we went there to have a light meal. We had a nice evening, the food was very nice, the wine from the estate was good, only the service must improve. The waitress was very kind and helpful but she didn't know a lot about the menue she was explaining.
Looking forward going back for lunch one day - it's just a nice place to enjoy some time with friends.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Such a nice place for lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a lovely lunch at the Bodega. The view is fantastic from the terrace and the food is excellent. There is also a nice playground just beside the restaurant, which was much appreciated by our youngest son. There was no trouble waiting for the food!
Try the Flammekuchen with Salmon! Really nice!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best Sea Food Platter in a long, long time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We celebrated our wedding anniversary and a birthday at Bodega and thoroughly enjoyed our lunch. It is the best sea food platter that I have had in a very long time. We have also had lunch there on a number of occasions in the past and rate it very highly. The food was great, service (by Percy) was friendly and fun and the views are wonderful. We have already booked for Easter Sunday lunch as we will have one of our grandchildren with us. The facilities for the kids are great and not in a place that disturbs other diners.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pure bliss & relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is one of my favourite lunch destinations over a weekend - fantastic food (easy, from Flammkuchen, meaty and vegetarian options, over tapas to "proper" dishes), beautifully prepared and presented in an amazingly relaxing atmosphere. I prefer sitting on the verandah (shaded) with what must be the most stunning views over the Stellenbosch mountains: tranquil, almost undisturbed, a place to breath. Right in front, of course, their own wine cellar with a violin shaped roof - if you are patient enough, the sun will cause a reflection in the dam to complete this picturesque set up! The (indigenous) garden is a delight, unpretentious and naturally beautiful to look at. You might want to secure a booking before coming out on this scenic drive, as they are a very popular venue, also hosting weddings and functions in the old manor, which has been amazingly restored. Prepare yourself for classic architecture with a very modern twist - colourful, vibrant, young. Taste their own wines (whilst listening to the interesting stories told with charm - no typical sales talk), but they also stock other wines. Make sure to try out their flag ship Donatus range (white and red), it goes splendidly with their food offerings. Cheese platters, while visiting with friends over some more wine while catching up, are a delight. Their desserts are stunning (I miss the Panacotta though, which used to be on the menu), coffees a must!
As if you hadn't have enough yet, make sure to pop into their tasting room to stock up on those gorgeous wines you've been tasting (they also ship), as well as some blankets, table clothes and little merchandise they offer from community projects! There are beautiful hippos (in pink as well) which are just waiting to be taken home and one simply can't resist to shop for all those who remained at home ;)
Go with a significant other or friends, the atmosphere is relaxed (not stiff), and the service efficient and un-intrusive. Smokers are accommodated on a separate veranda (you can't eat here but certainly retire with your wine, dessert, coffee).
Ideal also for those seeking for an outing with kids - a little playground with slides etc is present. It sometimes gets a little noisy, but you can simply escape to the other far end and it won't really bother you. Well done to the team of Bodega - you guys have a special place in my heart!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dornier Bodega also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Dornier Bodega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dornier Bodega, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.