We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'ALWAYS A WARM WELCOME'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Tree Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Apple Tree Guest House to your Saves list
Apple Tree Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Paul Kruger Street | Dennesig, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 106 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
East Yorkshire. England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“'ALWAYS A WARM WELCOME'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This was our third visit to Apple Tree Guest House, so that in itself should say a lot. Always a warm welcome from the hosts Michael and Noeline who are attentive to your every need, whether you are a first time visitor or a returning one. Our room was clean and comfortable and the guesthouse is very tastefully decorated. The town and its lovely restaurants are a leisurely 10/15 minute stroll (you couldn’t walk fast in January because of the heat, and that’s when your room air conditioning was always particularly welcome). A great guest house which provides very good value for money and is certainly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    40
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
97
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

There is nothing wrong with this guest house but have given it a 3 rather than 4 star rating because it was a longer walk into town than claimed and although the staff were friendly enough we didn't experience the same level of personal service as described by other reviewers - during our stay the owners did greet some other new arrivals like long lost friends so perhaps you have to be a repeat visitor to get the full charm?! The room was fine and the pool lovely to dip into. Secure parking. Our review may be influenced by the fact that we just didn't think Stellenbosch was as nice as Franshoek or Montagu. Would recommend for its good value and pool, so long as you dont mind a 20 min walk into town centre

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Excellent guest house, in a safe location which is walkable to the local town.

Owners were very forthcoming in helping us cover stellenbosch in the short time we were there and also very helpful prior to us coming in answering any queries we had.

Excellent condition of rooms, and they made our honeymoon very special ;)
Nothing esle needs to be said.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Overall, this is very good value for money, especially if you have a car and don't mind being on the edge of the town centre in a modern, not heritage, area. The students were on holiday so the only loud noise came from odd trains and emergency vehicles! The Guest House is comfortable, with welcome opportunities to relax in or beside the pool, particularly when it's very hot. [UK visitors: the pool is big enough for a swim but may not be as big as you're used to - the wide-angle lens effect may suggest otherwise!] Bedrooms are big enough to accommodate people and their luggage but there's not much room for two or more people just to sit and read, other than on the bed. To make up for that, there's a well-stocked (wine/beer/books) lounge. We weren't sure what to expect because of different reviewers' take on the distance to town etc., but felt quite safe walking into the centre on our first night, perhaps because we're used to multicultural cities and what to do (or not!) After that, it was more to do with time/tiredness that led us to drive! Michael was very helpful about restaurant booking and coped well with a fairly open brief - 'please find us a table for dinner at a good wine farm on any one of 3 nights'! (Yes, we had a very good evening, with sensational views!) Nothing to do with the Guest House, but I was feeling a bit under the weather so didn't enjoy the breakfasts as much as others have done. I longed for the plentiful mixed bowls of fresh fruit salad we'd enjoyed elsewhere. But the scrambled eggs I did manage to eat one morning were very good, as was the home-baked almost black bread served once.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wass
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Before this trip my wife, who is South African, said we must stay in guest houses as they are far more hospitable than large hotels, and with the Apple Tree Guest House she was absolutely right. Location wise it is an easy walk into the centre of Stellenbosch with its numerous restaurants. Our room was off the central pool area and was well decorated, clean and also was a decent size. The breakfast here was excellent with daily specials. We were particularly impressed with Noeline, the owner, who was very friendly and informative. This guest house was extremely good value for money and we would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We (two couples) had a two-night-stay at Apple Tree Guesthouse.
It is a great guesthoues and Michael and his team are very nice and helpful hosts. Michael gave us many hints for restaurants and things to do around Stellenbosch, he did the reservations as well. The whole guesthouse is tastefully furnished with many lovely details.
It is really a place to stay and next time we visit Stellenbosch we'll stay again at Apple Tree Guest House.
The pictures didn't promise too much.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We arrived at midday after overnight flight and Noeline happily took us to our room. She offered to tell us about restaurants ,attractions etc.Although we have been to Stellenbosch a few times before , her advice was useful.Next day Michael persuaded us to visit Jonkershoek Nature Reserve.It might have been a success if we had 4x4 , not a little Picanto +husband skidded into a stream and sported bruises for the rest of holidays. You have been warned!
Either Noeline or Michael were always available to help,The staff were very kind and smiling, it is a well run and happy place. The rooms are clean and comfortable and there is free wifi, decent speed of transmission. The elegant sitting room had a large collection of books as well as fridge with wine , beer etc.We did not have time to read books as the sun shone every day.

Room Tip: With entrance from courtyard?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Tree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Tree Guest House

Address: 6 Paul Kruger Street | Dennesig, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apple Tree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Tree is a new modern 8 bedroom guest house, all rooms are en-suite with walk in showers and baths. Its a 10 minute walk to town centre or University, within a few minutes drive you can be at one of the many wine farms around. Apple tree is not just a place to stay, its an experience. All rooms got air conditioning, Flat screen TV with satellite, mini bar etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apple Tree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Tree Guest House Hotel Stellenbosch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Tree Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.