We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Gem in the Winelands, Needs Some Refinement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Avenir Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added L'Avenir Country Lodge to your Saves list
L'Avenir Country Lodge
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Klapmuts Road R44, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 106 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Small Gem in the Winelands, Needs Some Refinement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This country lodge is a real gem in the winelands. The Icon room we booked was very good indeed, except for the very small outdated TV which seemed out of place in such a large room. The setting is beautiful and the staff are very friendly and helpful and cannot do enough for you. The nice bottle of sparkling wine I received on my birthday was a nice touch. This very pleasant destination needs some refinement though. The breakfasts were rather disappointing and not comparable to other similar establishments. The access roads to the country lodge were in a state of disrepair and seriously need some attention as it creates a negative impression in this beautiful setting. Very good value for money, but needs some refinement to compete with the best. Highly recommended. Kenneth & Petra Fisher.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg KZN Natal South Africa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were so lucky to have found L'Avenir. Lovely rooms with seating on a deck outside our room to enjoy the peace and beauty of their gardens. Top marks to all the staff for first class hospitality. Everyone friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were really good - hats off to the chef who prepared the eggs exactly as ordered - neither too soft or too hard. The wooden floors were a little noisey late at night when guests returned but the hotel is set in such a quiet spot with no traffic noise which made up for the little inconvenience. All in all L'Avenir offers quality at great value. We visit Stellenbosch regularly and we will definitely return. Thanks to Julie and her staff!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We came on this beautiful place by chance and can say that on a value for money baisis it was by far the best place e stayed on our South African holiday. Service impeccable with helpful and always happy and smiling staff, perhaps other than in the wine tasting. Rooms and facilities first class. Nice pool area, walk intot he vinyards. Good lounge with all wines and other drinks on an honesty basis. Stellenbosch a short drive and the wine route to Franschoek immediately accessible although the wines of L'Avenir were excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for one looking out by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We started our two week vacation in south afica by arriving at midnight at LAvenir.
We were surpised how lovely the place was and immediately fell relaxed.The rooms were comfortable pool and sitting area very cozy. The staff were very friendly and accomadating.
We rented a barbeque there and Bry?? Brie? spelling?/.
We spent a day touring vineyards and the best wine we tasted was The L,'Aenir Wine.
The Homemade biscuits and muffins added a special touch to delious breakfast.
We were there for three nights with two other couples and no car so it meant all our meals
were at L'avenir. Food was good, But its the same small menu for lunch and supper everyday.
It would help if they at least had a daily special.

Room Tip: I would suggest in the main building on the back appeared more private. We were directly opposite th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Thank you very much for the amazing experience we had at your lodge over the weekend, it was fantastic. Your staff was very friendly and they put 120% towards their job and made sure that we were home away from home. Elmarie was amazing it will be the shame if you will have to loose her , she is genuinely friendly and natural. She has no fake smile that i have seen in hotels and lodges i have to.
The kitchen ladies were also wonderful especially the designs they had on the table for breakfast. Thank you again even if you have put me in trouble with my wife who wants to come back there again but it is worth it.
looking forward to meet you again

Room Tip: Room1 to Room4 have great morning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My Wife & I had a lovely time at L'avenir! Excellent staff, great service & a beautiful place!!!

We felt very much at home from the start. Very relaxing & cozy. An awesome place to relax & unwind...

Would definately go there again :)

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

A couple of days staying in stellenbosch as an excellent excuse to sample lots of wine :-) L'avenir has proven to be a lovely base from which to explore...the staff are so very helpful. Our room is excellent and the grounds and pool too. It's quiet and been a great place to relax each evening. Thanks to Nicola and all the staff here for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Avenir Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Avenir Country Lodge

Address: Klapmuts Road R44, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Avenir Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your L'Avenir Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Avenir Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.