We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Asara Wine Estate & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 hotels in Stellenbosch
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Pure bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is well worth five stars (and more). We stayed at Asara from 3-5 January 2013. It was amazing.

We have stayed at many leading hotels and this hotel beats the others hands down (including leading hotels of the world!). The food was delicious, the views were superb and the service was also excellent. I could not fault the hotel at all. Check-in was amazing, check-out was amazing and the price is very competitive. The macaroons (an added extra to the room) are delectable...

We will return (soon!!). Book now, it will not disappoint.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    73
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
41
264
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We only spent one night here during our stay in and around Cape Town, but I would have happily spent far more. The room had an amazing view over the winelands and the staff couldnt do enough. Breakfast was fabulous. We chose to eat in the restaurant and really couldnt fault it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

What a way to experience 5 star treatment,this place knows how to treat their guests. We stayed in the executive suite and it was such an awesome experience,waking up to the lake every month and their 2 black swans were such a treat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I fear this review will appear to be a lone voice in the wilderness with all the positive reviews of this hotel, and that it will also appear to be the work of a perpetually dissatisfied traveler with unreasonable expectations, but this, I assure you, is not the case.
Asara is situated in a stunningly picturesque setting. And it goes downhill from there. This is NOT a five-star hotel- the management makes sure of that.
We took three rooms while my grown children were home for the holidays to spend a day in the wine lands. After checking in, we were shown to our rooms, of which ours had carpeting which looked as if several rugby matches had been played on it. Not a bit of dirt here and there, but significant areas of ground-in black throughout. After unpacking, the hotel staff appeared five minutes later and told us we would have to move rooms because of the carpeting, and we packed up and moved to a room which did not have functioning air conditioner (it was rather warm that day). We asked the front desk if a technician could repair the a/c, but was told that no, he could not, and was then redirected to repack our belongings and return to the original room. After unpacking a third time and spending a bit of time in the room, we realized that the a/c in this room was also blowing ambient temperature air and not cooling the room. We asked our children, and two out of our three rooms did not have a functioning a/c. Again, we informed the front desk of the situation, and a fan was eventually delivered to our room when we were out to dinner. My son and his wife were not so lucky, as they called the front desk in the night to be told that the hotel could do nothing for them. The carpeting in their room was also in a similar condition- ground in black stains, indicating the carpeting had not been cleaned in a very long time.
The next morning, my daughter awoke to a bed literally full of ants- not one or two, but 50+ ants. We shot a video of this to show management.
Upon checkout, we asked to see the manager about our stay, and were told by the duty manager that we would have to speak to the general manager. We waited over half an hour, and when he/she failed to appear (they would never tell us if the general manager was on or off site), the duty manager advised us to go on about our day, and that the general manager would shortly be in contact with us. We left our contact numbers and email (we live in Cape Town, so are easy to contact). The duty manager assured us that our account would be in suspension until we discussed the matter with the general manager.
A week has now passed and we have yet to be contacted by the management of this hotel, but they have made sure to charge our credit card.
The difference between two and three star hotels is not much, but when you get into the five star rating, which this hotel claims to be, it implies extreme attention to detail and customer service. Instead, it seems this hotel gets away with shoddy maintenance and customer service because of the lovely views. It is bad enough to charge five star prices for two or three star standards of cleanliness and maintenance, but for management to then show a complete lack of courtesy or respect when they so blatantly fail to provide it is absolutely inexcusable and shows a low business ethic. They’ll take their money any way they can get it, it seems.
I have submitted almost 30 reviews in Trip Advisor. I am not a serial complainer, and strive to give balanced, honest and encouraging reviews where they are earned. I want hotels which provide the level of service they advertise to reap the benefits of their labors through positive reviews. But to be disrespectfully treated as a chump by the management of a self-proclaimed five star facility is magnitudes worse than the dirty carpets, the non-functioning air conditioners in multiple rooms, and ants in the bed.
The Stellenbosch region is brimming with absolutely lovely places to stay; places where the owners are pleased to see you and who provide heart-felt service with pride. Asara is NOT one of those places. Yes, it is beautiful. Yes, the staff was very kind. The beds were very comfortable (when not being bitten). The breakfast was lovely. But, the management, in their complacent lack of attention and unconcern of their customers' needs, has allowed the place to degrade, and to make matters worse, are too lazy or uncaring to follow-up when they fail their customers. I don’t blame the staff- it is a management problem through and through. You don’t have to stay here. Do yourself a favor- find another, a better, hotel in Stellenbosch. They are out there- plenty of them.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsaraManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Restless TravelBaron
I am truly sorry to read that you are still unhappy with Asara.
Please contact me at your own convenience so that we may understand your comments fully and possibly find a way to make you feel less aggrieved – I can only apologise again from the entire team, that none of our apologies, nor the 100% refund have done anything to make amends in any way.
Kind regards
Janice Bell
0218888000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights late December in Asara. If I could give more than 5 stars, I would do it. We have never seen more polite and nice welcoming anywhere else. In ten minutes we knew everything about the hotel and the winery tour was reserved for us. We also enjoyed the breakfast and dinner on the terrace. For cigar lovers there is a nice lounge offering a wide selection of good whiskies. I recommend a visit to Big Easy -restaurant, owned by Ernie Els and a nice round of golf at Stellenbosch golfclub, only 10 minutes drive from the hotel(50 € greenfee). Wine tasting in Asara was not very recommendable experience, white wine was warm and also the entire tasting was nothing to compare with our visits in Jordan, Ernie Els and J C Croix wineries.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I did not stay at the Asara hotel. We were only there for the New Year's buffet.

The place looked great and the view was fantastic.

However, the food was so disappointing. We paid 379R per person, which is close to $45us for the most sad looking buffet I have ever seen. There were only 8 hot dish choices, in which 5 of them were vegetables. It was sweet potatoes, plain potatoes, roasted vegetables, creamy potatoes, and sweet potato lasagna. (you think we had enough starch yet?) The meat choices were a dried out beef dish, an over salty ham dish, and chicken minced up with vegetables. The salad section had potato salad(yes, more potatoes), cole slaw, cous cous, and a Malay cold fish dish. There were only two dessert choices. It was Tiramisu and a pudding. My husband tried both and said both were bad.

The entertainment all night was a country band in the bar and a pianist in one of the room.
Really?! Country songs for a New Year's eve party?!

No drinks were included in the price except I think a glass of champagne at midnight. But we were so disappointed that we left by 10:30. In which at that point half of the other patrons have left too.

Please do not host a New Year's eve party if your not gonna make an effort to make it a magical night. You've just ruined ours and the only things we walked away with is a bad memory.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Asara for 2 nights from December 6th until December 8th in the corner suite above the pool in the main building overlooking the georgeous mountains. What an unbelievable treat, if I knew it will be this good, we would have stayed here for the entire Cape Town visit as well. The hotel is beautiful, the vistas unbelievable and the service great - all at a reasonable price. I lived in Cape Town in my 30's and be assured, this is the hotel I will return to in future and where I will bring my New York friends to show them the country.

Stop reading now, pick up the phone or just hit the reserve button - from a local (ex) to you, there is no better place for a Cape Town swing if you are driving yourself.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Asara Wine Estate & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel offers five-star luxuries in the heart of the vineyards. With the luxury hotel, two restaurants, cigar & whiskey lounge, grand ball room for events as well as a range of award winning wines available for tasting - there is certainly something to satisfy a variety of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.