We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step above Holiday Inn” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Asara Wine Estate & Hotel to your Saves list
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A step above Holiday Inn”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I disagree strongly with most of the other reviews for this hotel. I admit that I have high standards, but this hotel missed the mark on so many levels.

I arrived with a small group of 17 people for a two night stay. Upon our arrival, entrance to the main entrance was denied, and we were sent down the road to an unpaved, pothole riddled "delivery entrance". For a supposed 5 star hotel, this was extremely unprofessional. They would not allow our small coach to drop us off at the main entrance, so we had to walk with our bags down a somewhat steep hill to reception.

The wine they offered us at check-in was good, and the white Cabernet was delightful- slight points for that.

The rooms were okay, but the carpeting was stained, the doors on the tv armoire were broken, the mini bar was empty (you have to order room service, basically, to stock it), and the toilet reeked of urine like a port-potty. When I requested that the bathroom be cleaned carefully with detergent, the room smelled of bleach, and the toilet room still smelled of urine. The bathtub was dirty, and the bathroom had been shabbily re-caulked in many areas. The shower wall above the tile was mildewing and splitting. The tiles in the shower were 16x16" polished marble tile, which provides a very slippery surface and is dangerous. When I pointed this out to the concierge, including the fact that most of the people in my group slipped in the shower, he didn't seem to think it was a problem.

We were all situated in a building facing the vineyards with a corner view of the mountains and the small lake nearby. While the view was fantastic, the porches were not at all private, with a wall separating neighboring rooms for only half the depth. If you stand at the railing, you can see clearly into your neighbor's room.

The internet was slower than dial-up. Free, but pointless.

There is no fitness room, but guests are instructed to wander through the vineyards, although there was no instruction as to how to get to them.

The restaurant had pretty good food, but the service was lackluster at best.

The travel agent who had made the reservations (who was one of our party) was as shocked by the quality of the hotel as we were.

We were told the owner of the hotel is a German businessman who exports to China, and that his main involvement with the hotel was a periodic visit to sit in the bar and smoke cigars, so be prepared for a smoke-filled bar. If you are a smoker, you'll be happy there.

The hotel charges a "Tourist Tax" which is simply a extra levy that has nothing to do with government tax.

There are plenty of other nearby hotels that are comparable in price and offer far more amenities, facilities, and service than Asara. I recommend trying one of them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Manager at Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay.
We are most concerned to read of your disappointing experience while staying with us. We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that you left feeling the way you did.
I would very much like to have the opportunity to discuss with you the details of your feedback. Please could you contact us directly so that we may address the unfortunate issues you experienced during your stay.
Please rest assured that we are taking this matter extremely seriously as we always strive for service excellence.
I look forward to hearing hear from you at your soonest convenience.
Janice
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    83
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
48
299
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were a little worried about staying here as it is a bit more up-market than where we would normally have stayed, but was recommended by our daughter who stayed here a few years earlier. It is in an amazing setting amongst the vineyard with beautiful views and all you hear is the birds on the lake. We had dinner in the restaurant, this was delicious and not overly expensive. The staff were courteous, the room was spotless, and we thouroughly enjoyed our stay here even though the weather wasn't great, but we mad use of the umbrellas everywhere!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and had the most incredible time. The setting is absolutely stunning... everywhere you look the views of the surrounding vineyards and mountains are beautiful.

On arrival we were welcomed with a cold glass of white wine to have while we checked in. Randall on front of house is charming, incredibly attentive and genuinely helpful with every request we threw his way (hiring bikes, taxi to Franchshoek, wine tour recommendations). All the staff there are fantastic and from visiting many other wonderful wine estates while we were there, we can safely say that Asara is by far one of the most beautiful.

Raphael's (main restaurant at Asara) is great for breakfast and the service and atmosphere is excellent however although the food is good, there are better restaurants in the region for dinner.

3 days in the winelands is not enough. The scenery is breathtaking and the wines are excellent. We can't wait to go back to Asara on our next visit to South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel is set in the beautiful wine lands just outside stellenbosch. Our stay at this beautiful hotel was made even more memorable through taking part in the wine wine tasting....Jeanne-Marie was friendly, knowledgeable and patient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Having travelled in South Africa for the past 3 weeks and experienced over 6 different luxury properties, I must say that this hotel at first impression gives me the feel of the old school British Gentlemen's Club. Every piece of furniture speaks formal. Perhaps target market is meant for old retirees who appreciate the formalities. There seems to be rules and regulations everywhere. Reception staff seems tired and frustrated, understandable since we checked in at around 6pm

The porter introduced us to the room facilities. The room was huge and shower, bath facilities were extremely spaciously new and modern. The views of the vineyards were amazing. Features were floor heatings. Points are also given to the bodum coffee maker in the room as I like to start my day with a good strong cuppa. Turn down service was expected of the standard of many luxury 5 star hotels; the chocolate, the water by the bed, the slippers, the curtains nevertheless were appreciated.

I went straight to Asara wine tasting as we were planning to do more tasting in Stellenbosch the next day. I was impressed with the enthusiasm and knowledge of the wine tasting staff. I was disappointed that as a hotel guest, there's no incentive for me at the vineyard. Perhaps the hotel should look into a free tasting for hotel guests. Nevertheless worth the try !

Had dinner at the Asara restaurant as it was raining heavily for the whole day. Appreciate the not so subtle courtesy call from reception asking if we would be interested to dine at the restaurant. Again was formal atmosphere. Leather lounges, chandeliers. That aside, the staff were all excellent from Maitre D, supervisors, wait staff and Chef, all of them presented a well executed dinner. Bravo.

English luxury is charming but I would prefer it to be understated. That aside lies a great winery to be discovered.

Room Tip: Perhaps if you are into the very formal luxury "titantic" atmosphere, this might be the pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for a night as part of a weekend to Cape Town.
I had Asara on my "Cape Town to do List' - thinking we would just be visiting for wine tasting.
When we checked in I was beside myself - stunning hotel, great service, gorgeous room and good food.
Attention to detail is what they're best at - glass of wine on arrival, fudge on your bedside table at night, coffee mugs are branded and the most comfy slippers ever!
Our room had a large balcony that looked over the dam and vineyards - the sunrise was breathtaking! The views are unlike any other you've seen before!
Add to that the fantastic wine we bought at the wine tasting the next day and the result is the perfect weekend!
The hotel is set in the most picturesque setting and it will definitely leave you grateful for having picked this hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Unfortunately we could only spend one night at this beautiful estate... the views from our room were spectacular, our room was spacious with attention to detail that leaves many highly rated hotels to shame!
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful (front desk slightly less so). Breakfast was lovely. We visited during October so nice and quiet, relaxing and romantic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Asara Wine Estate & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel offers five-star luxuries in the heart of the vineyards. With the luxury hotel, two restaurants, cigar & whiskey lounge, grand ball room for events as well as a range of award winning wines available for tasting - there is certainly something to satisfy a variety of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.