We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Asara Wine Estate & Hotel to your Saves list
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We attended a Greek wedding at Asara and it was a splendid experience!
Picture a cold rainy Cape day with underfloor heating, home made macaroons, and a big King size bed with a view of the picturesque Helderberg Mountains. Whatever the occasion, Asara will not disappoint. The staff is friendly, the breakfast scrumptious, the bar stocks any spirit imaginable, and the room a delight!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    82
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
48
298
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
galway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Great food, wine, the staff are lovely. The winery tour on site was really nice. Restaurant is really, really good. The rooms have underfloor heating so if you go in August when it is a bit chilly it is so nice to have a warm floor underfoot!! Free bottle of wine when you arrive. Lovely stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Most amazing service and attention to detail. Friendly staff always on hand to cater to your every whim. Great food and superb wines! Lovely touches as you would expect from a five star establishment. The views of Stellenbosch are to die for! The dinning room is lovely with glass chandeliers and the finest glass and silver ware. The layout is of an Italian courtyard style, and the cellar is well worth a visit. Rooms are spacious and quite with all the trimmings. Great concierge and valet service. All in all a most pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I can,t speak more highly of this wonderful hotel. The staff were so welcoming and the rooms with such wonderful views. The breakfasts were to die for and sitting outside for our lovely evening meal with the fabulous scenery was a truly wonderful experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

tasty food served by very friendly staff, try their mushroom soup. never had one like that. and take your time with their in-house brand of wines, trust he waiters recommendations. the food is sumptuous and freshly prepared and the cook and will pamper you as they have very attentive staff and ever present management.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Where do we start? From the minute the extremely friendly staff greeted us (and thank you again for the upgrade to the Avalon Suite) to dinner at Raphael's (each night) and the after dinner drinks at Sansibar - we could not come up with enough compliments for the staff, the quality of our food, the beautiful and extremely affordable wines and just for an added bonus - the extremely beautiful views from our suite.
This is one of the most enjoyable stays we have had in all of our trips overseas - the only criticism we have is that we can't go there every second weekend for a getaway - it is heaven on a stick.
We would thoroughly recommend staying there to anyone and we would stay here again in a heart beat.
Thank you Asara for a most memorable stay with you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and the experience. The staff were very helpful and attentive and organised drivers in and out of town and a fantastic wine tasting tour. The restaurant Raphael's was top notch and we enjoyed a few drinks at the bar. I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asara Wine Estate & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel offers five-star luxuries in the heart of the vineyards. With the luxury hotel, two restaurants, cigar & whiskey lounge, grand ball room for events as well as a range of award winning wines available for tasting - there is certainly something to satisfy a variety of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.