We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imitation, not innovation and quite average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Asara Wine Estate & Hotel to your Saves list
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
HCMC
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Imitation, not innovation and quite average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Overlooking the main road back to Cape town, Asara really wants to be in California with the palm trees around the pool area. It tries to look Tuscan, it prices itself like it is Napa. It boasts of being modern and luxurious, but there is no mention of bland. And, bland is what I felt Asara was. With the exception of where the owner has decided to enforce his design 'flair' and has installed a chromed motorbike in a cage outside the flagship restaurant; totally out-of-place and gaudy (see photo attached).

I guess it was actually our fault that it seems bland, because we had been staying in the exquisite charm and history of the Lanzerac previously and it felt like stepping down when checking into the Asara. Having enjoyed the tranquility of vineyards in Franschhoek and the sophisticated estates of the upper Stellenbosch valley at other vineyard+hotel operations, moving closer to the highway was not the best choice. However, it did save us 10 minutes on the trip back to Capetown airport, which was the point of staying there.

Room Tip: Lakeside definitely offered more morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    83
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
48
299
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Garden Route
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This was truly a wonderfull experience - from the moment we stopped with our car at the entrance to the next morning that we departed. The Front Desk was friendly and enthusiastic and gave us a lovely surprise when we were told that we were upgraded to a suite - Vineyard suite.- which of course was superbly furnished, huge with a wonderful view. Unfortunately it was raining, so we could not enjoy the lovely gardens and other Hotel surroundings. But the service,ambience,hospitality and Restaurant and Bar made up for that. We had a lovely meal in their Raphael's Restaurant and the breakfast was a treat. The best display with a huge variaty that we have experienced at many hotels and guesthouses in South Africa and abroad. We found the cost very reasonable, considering that it is a five star hotel.
I had a peep at the other rooms, and even if we were not upgraded, I would consider it good value for money. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Very nice estate with cosy rooms that somehow also seem spacious. Wine tasting was good and restaurant had some excellent dessert. A good value-for-money get away

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Certainly not just a hotel but a beautiful wine resort full of amenities. The in room massage service is professional and a wonderful way to spend the late afternoon after wine tasting. Only suggestion is the wireless internet service is rather spotty.

Room Tip: room 105 is a great walkout room towards the lake, centrally located and not far from the desk and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here during our recent SA trip. It's not always easy to find such fabulous accommodation when you're traveling w a child (18 month old son) so we were very pleased. They were able to provide a cot, and highchair for mealtimes. The restaurant was great, beautiful grounds and very attentive staff.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starnberg, Germany
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice and the service is very good. I also liked the meals at the restaurant and the service there. Why only four stars? I missed something special at this hotel which is unique and outstanding. The wines are also excellent. Wifi did not work the whole weekend. What is also a little bit strange, the long distances at the resort. Best thing is to go mainly by car...

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were treated like royalty!! The estate is exquisite. The rooms are large and luxurious. The food was truly amazing!!! The hotel is within a stone's throw from Stellenbosch and many other amenities. All in all one of the best places we've stayed at anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: even basic courtyard suite is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asara Wine Estate & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel offers five-star luxuries in the heart of the vineyards. With the luxury hotel, two restaurants, cigar & whiskey lounge, grand ball room for events as well as a range of award winning wines available for tasting - there is certainly something to satisfy a variety of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.