We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Asara Wine Estate & Hotel to your Saves list
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at Asara during our honeymoon and extended our one night to two because the hotel was great and location was key. The entire staff was friendly, outgoing and helpful. They assisted me and arranged for a driver less than 12 hours prior to our arrival and request. We booked on hotels.com and I emailed them directly. They were helpful and wanted to accommodate our needs in any way they could. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    83
    24
    12
    14
See reviews for
49
300
9
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

I'm a regular visitor to Asara & although it still ranks as one of my favorite wine farms in Cape Town, the service has deteriorated with each visit.

Dissapointing as the food and location are amazing.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We sneaked away for the weekend, leaving the kids at home and what an experiece. The views, food, service and ambiance. The place is magic and real value for money. Can recommend it to any traveller.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over teh pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I had two exceptional nights stay at the Asara... The staff were excellent and the food was top notch, I ate Spring Bok for the first time and after this experience it won't be the last

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I planned just 1 day to visit wine country during a whirlwind tour of S.Africa - we chose Asara based on others recommendations and the stunning photos of the grounds... We're so happy with our choice, it was a wonderful experience! From the second we arrived, we knew we were in good hands. The service is top notch: glass of wine at check in, followed by a tour of the grounds, restaurants, lounge, tasting room and market - all were spectacular.
It ended up being a rainy day, so we decided last minute to get a driver to tour the wineries - rather than risk driving in unknown territory with wet roads- Kalin, at the front desk booked us a driver within minutes and we were on our way 30 min later. so great! **Incidentally, the wine tour company was Go Tours (http://www.gotours.co.za)...loved them also!
After visiting a number of wineries, we decided to have dinner at Raphael's, which was a quick walk from our hotel room.. the food was to die for! Service was great and the decor was very hip...we felt like Alice in wonderland with all the big & funky furniture.
To top off our fabulous stay, when we returned from dinner, the staff had covered our bed and bathroom with rose petals and ran a warm bath...it was our honeymoon and they truly made us feel so special. I would LOVE to return if I'm lucky enough to book another trip across the world. To future travelers, enjoy it!! oh, and be sure to get some of their homemade nougat from the market! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pond & pool...views are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We wanted to stay at a wine estate instead of in town and were completely happy with our choice! The estate was beautiful and our room was great. The staff was amazingly helpful, they definitely went above and beyond with anything we needed. The wine tasting room is great and has some very tasty tapas. Book here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

What a fantastic hotel. The staff were very helpful, friendly and went out of their way to meet our needs. We had a fantastic room, and what a beautiful view of the mountains, vineyards and lake!! Out of this world!! The restaurants are great with super staff and fantastic food.
Oh yes, we can highly recommend this hotel and we will be back!!
E & B

Room Tip: Book a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asara Wine Estate & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asara Wine Estate & Hotel

Address: P O Box 882, Stellenbosch 7599 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Asara Wine Estate & Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel offers five-star luxuries in the heart of the vineyards. With the luxury hotel, two restaurants, cigar & whiskey lounge, grand ball room for events as well as a range of award winning wines available for tasting - there is certainly something to satisfy a variety of tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo and South African Hotels so you can book your Asara Wine Estate & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asara Wine Estate And Hotel
Asara Wine Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asara Wine Estate & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.