We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely holiday time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WedgeView Country House & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added WedgeView Country House & Spa to your Saves list
WedgeView Country House & Spa
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   PO Box 62 | Bonniemile, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 106 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely holiday time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for two night. The service was excellent - friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and have lovely views with a great shower/bathroom. Breakfast was a fresh and delicious buffet style feast. We were served tasty soup in our room as we did not want a big meal in the evening. The cheese and meat platters were also very good which we enjoyed for a light supper.
We loved being out of town in the country and enjoyed the close proximity to Spier's Eagle Rehabilitation Sanctuary and Stellenbosch. We had a wonderful time at Spier watching the eagles train as well as browsing around art gallery's in Stellenbosch
We had relaxing massages and one beauty therapist was noticeably more experienced than the other. Thank you to the WV team for a special time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    42
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
79
172
10
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I have been so busy at work, I decided we needed a break from the city. We spent the weekend at Wedgeview Country House and Spa. I had no idea what to expect but I was blown away by how friendly the staff were and how big and spacious our room was. We also got to experience the spa which was both relaxing and professional. It was definitely one of the best weekend's I have had in a long time. We hope to go and stay at Wedgeview again soon!

Room Tip: We were in one of the deluxe garden suites and it was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My friend and I stayed overnight at Wedgeview and it was lovely. We were upgraded to a superior room upstairs which was great! We were welcomed by a lovely young Dutch man who showed us around the place. We completed our registration seated outside in the sun with a glass of white wine admiring the views before being shown to our room. We were advised of the local restaurants and a taxi was arranged to take us there and back. The breakfast was delicious at Wedgeview. The service exemplary. We enjoyed a pedicure, a massage and facials at the spa which were very good. This is a 5 star country house of note!
Thank you to Enile, Sophie and the staff for making our stay so pleasurable. A five star service and more. Apologies for taking the keys back with me. Hope you received them in the post!!

Room Tip: The superior rooms upstairs are lovely. Anything better than that I should imagine would be outstand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed overnight and had such an amazing time. All the staff were incredibly helpful and nice. We had a spa appointment until after check out and they allowed us a pretty late check out so that we can change and shower after our spa appointment. We didn't have dinner onsite, though the Braai looked delicious. The breakfast was lovely and they even offered hot breakfast made to order (complimentary)! I would definitely recommend WedgeView to anyone. The only thing that was strange to me was that the bathroom did not have a door knob nor lock in the Superior room and the Garden Deluxe room's bathroom was an open concept to the bedroom, so if you go with friends, make sure you are comfortable with that. We opened the bottle of Shiraz that was in the room and it was much better than any of the wines we tasted at the wine farms!

Room Tip: Superior rooms have great views from the Balcony. Garden Delux rooms are just as lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Peter and I stayed at Wedgeview for three nights - and it was fantastic! When we arrived, we were served the "Winelands Platter" which was lovely - we didn't even need to go out for supper. On the first morning after a brisk walk in the vineyards and a really tasty breakfast, we both had a massage, which was so relaxing. We stayed in June (which is winter), but found the room very cosy. The staff were all fantastic and assisted us with printing documents. Peter especially enjoyed the soft-boiled eggs! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 which was upstairs and had a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a stunning guest house. The rooms are top standard, the food is delicious and the service is exactly what you would expect from a 5 star and more! I used the spa facilities and you definitely won't be disappointed! Don't miss out on this gem!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We only got to stay 2 nights, but I relaxed the moment I stepped through the doors. Fantastic staff and accommodation and Verucia in the spa was so fantastic - I just had to get in another massage before I headed back to Cape Town.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to WedgeView Country House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WedgeView Country House & Spa

Address: PO Box 62 | Bonniemile, Stellenbosch 7604, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — WedgeView Country House & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WedgeView Country House & Spa is located on a one hectare plot just outside the picturesque and historic town of Stellenbosch, where the luxury of a five-star hotel mingles with the exclusivity of a private country residence. Your hosts Dave and Anouk Bakker, together with the WedgeView team, will look after you during your stay and will also welcome your business meeting or other events. WedgeView Country House & Spa boasts stunning views of the surrounding Vineyards and Stellenbosch Mountains. With 18 Luxurious individually decorated Rooms and Suites, 2 solar heated pools (one is 15 x 6 m.), Large gardens and the Spa for a relaxing treatment, WedgeView Country House & Spa is the perfect holiday retreat. At WedgeView Spa you can indulge yourself in relaxing treatments given by the lovely professional therapists. WedgeView 360°The central location of WedgeView in the heart of Cape Winelands gives you the perfect base to explore all major attractions of the Cape in a 360°. Cape Town, the V&A Waterfront and Green Point Stadium are within 30 minutes' drive, CT Airport only 15 minutes, the beaches of Muizenberg, Strand and Gordon's Bay within 30 minutes and Hermanus, Pringle and Betty's Bay for the famous Whales, Grabouw, Elgin, Franschhoek, Wellington, Bloubergstrand (kite surfing), Kalk Bay (culture and galleries), Simonstown (penguins) all within 1 - 1 hour and 15 minutes. WedgeView is also the perfect location for Golf lovers. With over 15 superb golf courses within 35-45 minutes' drive it is a Golfer's paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your WedgeView Country House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WedgeView Country House & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.