We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eikendal Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Eikendal Lodge to your Saves list
Eikendal Lodge
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Eikendal Vineyards | R44, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 106 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Ingolstadt Near Munich (Germany)
1 review
“Nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Nice people at reception; very good rooms in a good condition; good service; feeling like home or at good friends. A excellent wine tasting! This questionnaire is a little bit stuppit! The context will not be better with more characters! :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
67
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We used the Eikendal Lodge as our base for our visit in the Western Cape for our 10-day stay. The staff are friendly, attentive and very forthcoming. We felt very much at home by the entire crew especially Leonie and Wendy and of course Jack (the quasi-mascot). The winery and attached restaurant are also highly recommendable. All-in-all a delightful stay. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as a guest on the Eikendal Lodge. A great facility in the middle of the vineyards and very well furnished rooms. A highlight is the great service and extremely friendly staff. The breakfast was the best we've got in South Africa.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

You may have seen my reviews of Eikendal Lodge from previous holidays - our first visit was in 1996! All I can say after this year's holiday there, is that the experience is every bit as good as ever - best breakfasts we have found in nearly 20 years visiting most parts of South Africa.

Leonie Fourie is the perfect hostess, running a very efficient and friendly number of staff at the Lodge, situated in the heart of the Eikendal vineyards. If you want peace and quiet, in beautiful surroundings (just look up and enjoy the Helderberg Mountain), excellent well-appointed accommodation at very reasonable rates, you can't go wrong than go there.

We've booked for next year already and if you want to go in their busy season, then get in now, otherwise you might be disappointed, which is perhaps, the ultimate accolade and says everything about returning guests!

Room Tip: Rooms 4-7 have lovely views up the Helderberg Mountain. Rooms 1-3 are in the main Lodge and have Gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Lovely hospitality, very warm welcom, delicious breakfast, clean rooms and very cute decoratet. It's a quiet place in a beautyful landscape.It could not be better! It feels one is on honeymoon although you are not:-)


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have now visited 3 times and the standard of service, cleanliness and friendliness has remained absolutely excellent. The breakfasts are great with superb fresh fruits. It's also nice that they showcase some if the winery wines in the early evening. Should also say that lunch at the winery restaurant is brilliant too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberrieden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

excellent service - good surroundings -
nice people - fine room -
only the /bathroom situation could be renewed
(shower...) all in all a fine stay with nice people in a interesting location
especially for couples - not for groups




  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eikendal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eikendal Lodge

Address: Eikendal Vineyards | R44, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eikendal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an authentic Cape Winelands experience, blended with superior wines and true hospitality! Eikendal Lodge is uniquely situated amidst prized vineyards and a working winery near Stellenbosch. The property also offers a wide range of activities, from grape picking to a fly fishing clinic with experienced professionals. Our philosophy is focused around the personal preferences of our guests with each visit specially tailored to ensure a flexible Winelands experience. We strive in making every stay a memorable one with exceptional yet unpretentious, personalised service and a homely atmosphere, giving each guest a sense of ownership. Eikendal Lodge offers an idyllic Winelands retreat, and comprise of nine spacious, en-suite bedrooms. Each room has a private terrace opening directly onto amazing, panoramic views of the Helderberg Mountain, our beautiful garden and lusciuos vineyards of Eikendal. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. Each room is individually decorated and appointed with air-conditioning, satellite television, direct telephone, safe, fridge, and tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Eikendal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eikendal Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.