We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eikendal Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Eikendal Lodge to your Saves list
Eikendal Lodge
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Eikendal Vineyards | R44, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 107 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zug, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

There is no quick and easy way to sum up our stay at the Eikendal Lodge apart from Awesome, Fantastic, and when can we stay there again. The cleanliness of the rooms, the small terraces where you can enjoy a wine looking at the Helderberg Mountains, and the clean fresh air, where should I stop? The staff are friendly and do everything they can to make you feel comfortable. There is always laughter in the air. Relaxing by the pool after a day of sightseeing is great. The small wine tasting that Leonie and her team organise is a relaxing way to end the day, sampling some of the great Eikendal wines in their true home! Thanks for the lovely 8 days we spent with you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
79
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for three nights at Eikendal Lodge during the South African summer. In general it was wonderful. Great and friendly service, which made you feel at home from the moment of arrival. Breakfast couldn't be better. Rooms were clean, quiet and spacious. A nice and quiet pool.
The views form the lodge weren't as beautiful as one might assume looking at the webpage of the lodge, and the bathroom, though clean and well equiped, could benefit from an small update of the interior.
One restaurant suggestion by the staff was diappointing; "De Volkskombuis" in Stelllenbosch. We strongly advise people not to go there.
Overall the experience at the lodge was positive and we will consider going back there if we will be in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

A lovely place with great staff. Enjoyed the jazz evening. Running amongst the vines early mornings before breakfast was a novelty for me. Good restaurant at the winery - shame not open in the evenings but good places nearby. Enjoyed the wines too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thun, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Eikendal Lodge is still the same nice place then 4 years ago.We are there the 2.time and
we liked again.The Rooms are very clean,big enough to stay there more then 2 Days.
The Manager are very friendly and the staff are very very nice too.
I can say go there and stay in this beautyful area and relax on the pool,he is very clean too.
The presentation from the breakfast are so perfect and you become all what you need.
For me is it hard to explain Eikendal Lodge.Just go enyoy eat and relax.
My number one in this area.
Thank you Eikendal Lodge

Room Tip: All rooms are very very nice,doesnt mather which room you take,you will love all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Best kept secret of the Stellenbosch wine route, the hottentot holland mountain range overlooking the vine valley will take your breath away. Highly recommend this place. The pool is lovely and the gardens are well kept. The rooms are stunning and each has a private area to look out in the vineyards and the mountains.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Valley
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This place is beautiful! Out in the country, behind the winery, this comfortable, gracious country guesthouse is spacious, clean and very welcoming. The breakfast selection was top quality with a large variety of food from which to choose. Also served hot entree. The hostess was very helpful with any requests and went out of their way in the service department.
Also served wine each afternoon with the other guests - nice touch. Loved the place and would go back in a minute.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was me and my husband's first time to South Africa and we started our trip off with our first two nights at Eikendal. It was so easy to get there from the Cape Town Airport (20 minute, easy drive). We arrived late in the evening (6pm) after flying for 11 hours, and we just wanted to stay in and unwind. Leonie and the staff were amazing and made us a yummy tray of cheese, meats, and bread to enjoy in our room with some of their excellent wine. It was just what we needed to relax and get settle in after traveling all day.
The room and bathroom were very comfortable and spotless, furnished and cared for so that you feel right at home, even better than home.
Breakfast in the lodge is AMAZING. The offer a great array of fruits, cereals, breads, cheeses, yogurts, and MORE. And then a delicious hot breakfast prepared to your request. The place settings and beautiful backdrop of the vineyards are breathtaking. You can even take the walking trail around the whole vineyard to work off all of the breakfast you consume.
Eikendal Lodge is a gem and the whole staff are sweet as can be.
The tasting room and restaurant are also great, we had a delicious lunch out on the grass in front of the winery tasting room/restaurant.
Thanks for welcoming us to South Africa! We highly recommend Eikendal Lodge!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eikendal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eikendal Lodge

Address: Eikendal Vineyards | R44, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eikendal Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to an authentic Cape Winelands experience, blended with superior wines and true hospitality! Eikendal Lodge is uniquely situated amidst prized vineyards and a working winery near Stellenbosch. The property also offers a wide range of activities, from grape picking to a fly fishing clinic with experienced professionals. Our philosophy is focused around the personal preferences of our guests with each visit specially tailored to ensure a flexible Winelands experience. We strive in making every stay a memorable one with exceptional yet unpretentious, personalised service and a homely atmosphere, giving each guest a sense of ownership. Eikendal Lodge offers an idyllic Winelands retreat, and comprise of nine spacious, en-suite bedrooms. Each room has a private terrace opening directly onto amazing, panoramic views of the Helderberg Mountain, our beautiful garden and lusciuos vineyards of Eikendal. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. Each room is individually decorated and appointed with air-conditioning, satellite television, direct telephone, safe, fridge, and tea/coffee-making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Eikendal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eikendal Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.