We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blue Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Bay Lodge
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Henry Wicht Avenue | Blouwaterbaai, Saldanha 7395, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Saldanha B&B and Inns
Hasselt
1 review
“Lovely lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights and was very pleased with the relaxed atmosphere. Rooms were excellent with good housekeeping. We had a braai in the evening and I enjoyed a lot, with the great view over the bay on top !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblilly, Owner at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your positive review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
23
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Spent a few days here in January 2014. Location is great as it's in the "middle " of the west coast. So half an hour to anywhere. It's also one of the very few places you'll find that is actually on the beach.
Our rooms overlooking the pool were great, with kitchen and a couple of TVs. Plus spacious balcony. It was a little worn around the edges, but spotless. The staff were all fabulous, though the spa- which is run by someone independent of the hotel, was an absolute disaster. The owner was never there, or couldn't fit you in, and eventually just never pitched. Avoid at all costs, they don't deserve your business!

The bar and dining room were fabulous, and you look out onto a beautiful blue bay. The pool was wonderful, and checking and out smooth and painless. I'd certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblilly, Owner at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you so much for writing this positive review! We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location and hotel. Thank you for informing us about your experience with the beauty salon, as you said this is not a part of the hotel and is independently ran and thus we need to know about things like this because it reflects badly on our name. Thank you once again, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our stay was most enjoyable. Lots to do for the kids to keep them busy. Staff at restaurant very accommodating. We has a knock on the door by a beggar on the Saturday which put quite a damper on our stay as it's enough we get beggars on the street, one doesn't expect this when on holiday, which is also a safety concern. Please address that urgently.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblilly, Owner at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for your review and for bringing this issue under our attention. We take the safety of our guests very seriously and we have never had beggars coming to beg at the cottages, thus i would encourage anyone who does experience this to let us know immediately in order for us to act on it. We unfortunately cannot control who enters the resort from the beach front and thus we make it our top priority to know who is wandering around the resort who do not belong here. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay apart from that incident and once again thank you for bringing it under our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alfred
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

No Bath towels - had to go and buy, No Tea,Coffee,sugar. Cutlery in self catering was dirty, sewerage smell very bad, reported it - not really interested - would tell housekeeping!. Restaurant was excellent - service was great first night, not so good second night - food both nights very good

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblilly, Owner at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The sewerage problem was looked into upon your complaint. It was a problem from the municipality and we had them sort it out as soon as it came under our attention. I have reported all your the other issues in the cottage to our housekeeping staff. We do supply towels and I am not sure why the housekeeping staff did not supply you with any. For the rest the cottage is self catering which means that all food is for the guests own cost. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and we have looked at doing extensive service training with our restaurant staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kloof
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Sitting at the restaurant overlooking the lagoon is simply blissful. They also have a big comfy couch in the room to do just that. Try their fresh mussels - best ever. We had a very average upstairs room but it was well designed and comfortable. Prices have gone up for 2014 and this may discourage us a little, but will try their cottages as the location for our purposes is great. We had excellent service in the restaurant - even over New Year. The beach of the lagoon in front of the hotel calls for long walks in the morning and evening.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea facing room - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblilly, Owner at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for writing this positive review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, location and surrounds. We will be sure to take your comment about the increased rates into consideration as we would love to have you here again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

for sure there are better places to stay at in saldhana; this is a very average place, nothing special about it; you can spend a night there but definitely not more. lodge rooms are big, clean but with a cold atmosphere, absolutely not charming at all; restaurant is ugly, with freezing atmosphere; breakfast is regular, you won't be hungry but you won't be delighted either. restaurant service is unfriendly and poor; reservation staff is very efficient and kind.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay but glad to hear that you at least found the reception staff efficient. I guess that is what makes this life so beautiful, everyone is different and has different tastes and I'm sorry to hear that Blue Bay Lodge was not according to yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuils River, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Great place to stay.Club Mykonos is 15 min drive and wild animals is vissible on route.The Lodge facilites such as pool and play areas and well maintained. The restuarant serves fantastic breakfast,lunch and supper.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bblilly, Manager at Blue Bay Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities that are available as well as the location of the Lodge. We are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Lodge

Address: Henry Wicht Avenue | Blouwaterbaai, Saldanha 7395, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Saldanha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Saldanha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Bay Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Bay Lodge offers three star beachfront accommodation just outside the beautiful West Coast Village, Saldanha. From a mouth-watering a la carte restaurant to world-class conference facilities with the capacity of up to 120 delegates. Choose from 32 B&B en-suite rooms or 14 self-catering cottages and with in-house wedding, conference and function coordinators, Blue Bay Lodge really has something on offer for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Blue Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.