We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting Better With Age!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Wigwam to your Saves list
The Wigwam
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Wigwam Boulevard, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jacksonville, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Getting Better With Age!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was a little skeptical when I found out I was staying at a hotel that I had previewed 30 years ago, but what a wonderful surprise when I drove up the front driveway! From the impeccable landscaping, to the helpful bell staff, to the friendly front desk reception, the huge rooms, excellent and attentive housekeeping personnel, great food, and professional golf staff -- everything was 1st rate! Food on property was well prepared and tasty at all venues with prompt and friendly service. I will stay here again!

Room Tip: Property is only two stories. I prefer ground level with the walkout patio, but the ice machine was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We cannot thank you enough for sharing such a glowing review for The Wigwam. It was a true pleasure to read your review and learn that you felt everything during your stay was first rate, from the staff and your accommodations to our restaurants. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    160
    55
    17
    18
See reviews for
260
211
21
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Wigwam is a hotel built in the early 1900's and updated over the years. It has recently been remodeled yet again, and this latest incarnation is spectacular! The rooms are HUGE, all with a balcony or patio. There is a golf course, tennis courts, world class spa (Red Door) with the added bonus of the constant cooing in the resident quail. The beds are fabulous, as is the service from the staff; both housekeeping and waitstaff. Desk staff was attentive and helpful as well, and the lobby and common areas are gorgeous, with beautiful period antiques, Navajo rugs, and b/w pictures of the evolution of the hotel. Most of the rooms are single story, ( @ 330 rooms) so the property is huge. Staff will give you a ride in a golf cart anywhere you want to go on the grounds..just call the desk. Pool area is beautiful and clean, and the bar area staff were wonderful. We only ate at the bar, but there is also fine dining, or you can opt for the restaurant at the tennis courts which is also good. This hotel is @ 30 miles from downtown Phoenix, but there are plenty of places to eat and shop, play golf, tennis, swim or just chill and listen to the quail.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but if you don't want noise, then you don't want to be by the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
For over 80 years The Wigwam has been welcoming guests through our doors and inviting them to relax and enjoy their experience. Your gracious praise for our staff and our resort is greatly appreciated, thank you. We’re delighted you had such a wonderful stay with us and hope that we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was there for a conference, didn't look into the wigwam, didn't have anything to do with the decision to be there... but what a stroke of luck! I understand that the weather is fabulous in Phoenix most all of the time, but we got especially lucky in being there during the narrow window of time when the cactus flowers bloom. There were thousands of other flowers on the property, too. Incredibly well maintained - my hat is off to the gardeners. I don't golf but I enjoy using the golf course walkways for my morning run and I have rarely enjoyed that morning run, more. So beautiful and the weather was so perfect. The staff were very friendly, the food was great, the pool areas were pleasant. My only disappointment is that the slide was not opened. I was only there on weekdays and it was still a bit cool, so they didn't have the lifeguard on site and wouldn't open the slide. Oh well, the hot tub was very pleasant, too. Beers delivered right over! My 'casita' was incredible - luxurious, very spacious, comfortable. All for a truly reasonable price. My sister-in-law lives in Phoenix and came out to see the place while I was there - she's planning a stay-cation in the near future because she was so impressed! I made use of the Red Door Spa while there - I have not ever been to that brand of spa. I have been to many spas and this one was not the most elegant but I would rate it in the top 1% for services. Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
What a truly lovely review, thank you. We are elated that your recent stay with us for the conference was enjoyed so much by you and that you had an opportunity to explore our grounds in addition to spending some time at the Red Door Spa. It is always a pleasure to learn that a guest was fond of our 440 landscaped acres and all its flowers. We can’t thank you enough for all your compliments and for sharing your experience with your sister-in-law. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The staff in all areas were so attentive to the needs of our group. The beautiful outside was a perfect setting after a long day of meeting. I would highly recommend Wigwam. The rooms are very clean and I can definately say this was the best sleep in hotel rooms. Perfect

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
It is always wonderful to learn when a guest enjoys their visit to The Wigwam. All our guests are special to us and it is our desire to accommodate the needs of everyone. We are delighted that our associates took such good care of your group and that you enjoyed your time here. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Spent 3 nights @ the Wigwam and had a great experience. My family and i have been coming here for over 30 years and it keeps getting better. Lots to do at the resort for all ages. And, the live music on Fri/Sat evenings was great. Check out jazz guitarist Jay Soto who performs in Litchfields (hotel lounge) on Friday nights. Great vibe!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are thrilled that for over 30 years The Wigwam has been a part of your history and your family has been a part of ours. It is such a pleasure to welcome you back each time and we cannot thank you enough for your gracious praise. It is truly an honor for us to be considered a treasure by you. Thank you so much for your review; please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here three nights during a week-long trip to Arizona for spring break. The resort was beautiful, with extensively landscaped grounds and walking paths, and a great large pool with water slide and poolside service. It was nice just walking around the resort in the sunshine away from the long and cold Midwest winter, and we spent an entire day just lounging and swimming in the pool. Our Wigwam room was not one of the newly renovated ones, and it did show its age, but it was attractively decorated and was large, clean and comfortable. It was also really quiet in the evening. My kids loved swimming and laying out at the pool, walking around the resort in the evening and playing bocce ball.

We found the location perfect for our trip to the Phoenix area. Although it was about a 25 minute drive to the attractions downtown, we were close to Surprise, where we took in a Spring training game. The resort is located in the suburbs, and in the evening it was easy to find a restaurant. It really was a great place for a three day stay in Phoenix, if your focus is relaxation, sun, and perhaps a baseball game!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you; we sincerely appreciate your review and many compliments. We are thrilled that you and your family had an enjoyable and memorable experience at The Wigwam when visiting the area for spring break. Bocce is an exciting sport that all ages can play year-round in the perfect Arizona climate; we’re so glad your kids had fun playing! We hope that the next time you are visiting the area you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MASS
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We were there for my nephews wedding w/e . This place is sprawling and incredible.
Facilities offered are numerous. Golf, waterslides, pool, bocce, walking, spa, great restturants,lounges and entertainment nightly. Sit around the fire pits and enjoy relax or whatever.

Lots of area things to do within an hour's drive or less.

Room Tip: Golf course view rooms were quite pleasant. All the rooms we saw were similar only difference b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Weddings are such a joyous occasion and a wonderful opportunity to experience all the beauty and amenities at The Wigwam. Your review of your recent stay has made our day. It is always a pleasure to learn that a guest has enjoyed and appreciated the amenities and activities available here. Thank you so much for your many kind words. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Address: 300 Wigwam Boulevard, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wigwam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.