We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay- Beautiful Grounds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Wigwam to your Saves list
The Wigwam
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Wigwam Boulevard, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay- Beautiful Grounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I loved this place. The common areas are stunning. The historic lobby is so beautifully furnished, with wonderful pictures of the resort's past. There are two very nice fireplaces inside the lobby, as well as a fire pit outside the lobby to gather around. As other reviewers have stated, some rooms are dated. Ours had a few minor issues- the carpet absolutely needed to be replaced as there were coffee stains all around the coffee station, but other than that, we really liked our traditional adobe room. With that type, you get a casita that houses four rooms, which would be great if you were visiting with others. Each has a great patio outside the door. We did not hear a peep from the other rooms. The sheets and bed were amazing. There were a few decorative pillows, but easily put to the side. The bath also was a bit dated, with the shortest shower head I have ever seen, but they are in the process of renovating rooms, so you may want to call and request a room that has already been redone if that is a concern. The main pool is the domain of children, but the Oasis pool is very quiet and relaxing. At the main courtyard, there is a daily happy hour, as well as live music. The landscaping is absolutely amazing. Younger people may find the location a bit quiet, but if that is what you're looking for, it is perfect. My husband was able to play several rounds of golf at their course, walking on several afternoons as a single, with very reasonable afternoon rates. The golf shop also had some really nice and tempting things for sale. I would absolutely stay here again, and would have given it all 5s if we had a renovated room. Also really enjoyed restaurants on site, but would avoid the pool grill for anything other than cool drinks and tortilla chips.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are truly humbled by your gracious comments and offer our heartfelt thanks for the time you have taken to share your experiences. The Wigwam has a long history and offers our guests an entirely unique Arizona family resort experience where casual elegance meets historic charm. It thrills us to learn how much you enjoyed the atmosphere and amenities offered at The Wigwam and we cannot thank you enough for your kind review. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    170
    59
    19
    20
See reviews for
271
221
21
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Wigwam was a really nice place to stay (despite it's goofy-sounding name) with an rich history and great service. The room was quite comfortable and the dinner in the main dining room was excellent. Staff was attentive and considerate. For the prices, I found it to be a real value.

Room Tip: Go with the deluxe or the refurbished rooms. (All should be refurbished by the fall of 2013.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Wigwam for your recent stay in the area. We’re pleased that you consider our resort’s history, our guest services and accommodations all to be a great value and that you enjoyed your stay. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

While visiting AZ for Spring break (2 adults + 15 & 17 yr old kids), we'd booked a 3 night stay at Arizona Grande only to arrive and find it overcrowded, unorganized, dirty and just plain below our standards. We took a flyer and actually booked Wigwam FROM THE CHECKIN LINE at AG. It's located in a neighborhood area with conveniences nearby but once inside the walls of the property you really don't have to leave. It as 40+ 1 & 2-story 'casita' buildings on 70+ acres (not including the golf courses). The grounds are simply AWESOME. The pools are great & the service is 1st rate. It's upscale but caters to couples, retirees and families.

Only downsides were that the bathrooms are in need of updates and the cocktails were a bit weak. Hardly worth noting.

Room Tip: Check out the Oasis pool - there were never more than 10 people there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
It’s great to hear from our guests and learn that our amenities, our property and services all fully met their needs. Thank you so much for sharing your impressions of The Wigwam; we’re thrilled you had such a great time. We loved having you stay with us over spring break and hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Kansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Besides being a very nice resort the staff at the Wigwam is awesome and always ready to take care of you. The bartenders and waitresses's at the Wigwam bar will always ensure uyo have a good timer and keep you smiling.

Room Tip: Rooms around the South pool are the best 600 series
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your stay at The Wigwam. It’s wonderful that you found our associates to be so delightful as it is always our goal to take care of our guests and make them feel welcomed. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have been going to the Wigwam for years! Always a great get away! My husband and son will take in 18 holes, my daughter and I will take in a service at the Red Door Spa! Everyone is happy. Enjoy Litchfields for dinner just tops off the day! If you go for the weekend, the Sunday Farmer's Market is a great end to your weekend:)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
At The Wigwam we sincerely value our guests and it is always a pleasure to hear from them. Thank you very much for your kind review. We’re thrilled that everyone has had such a great experience each time your family visits. The Red Door Spa is the perfect spot to relax and have some quality mother and daughter time alone while the men are off bonding on the golf course. We look forward to welcoming your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Wigwam for Passover and was very impressed with the service. The grounds are well-kept and the staff is helpful. The pool area is pleasant but a little crowded on a busy day. If you have small children, you are better off staying near the Tower pool which has a sprinkler and slide. The hotel dates back to the 1920s and has a certain charm to it. The biggest complaint people had was that many of the rooms have not been renovated since the 60s or 70s and are old and dated. If they renovated all the rooms, this would be a five star hotel.

Room Tip: make sure to get a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Wigwam for your recent stay in the area. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your compliments for our staff. We would like to let you know that plans are underway to renovate our guest rooms and we look forward to sharing the updates with you the next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our second stay and I absolutely adore the Wigwam. Our rooms were upgraded each time, and they are spacious and clean. Bathrooms could use some renovating with dated tile, but are very spacious. The grounds are immaculate and beautiful, staff is friendly and welcoming. Perfect place to stay during spring training. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: Private patios are very relaxing for reading and unwinding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We could not be more pleased to hear that your recent stay at The Wigwam during spring training was such a great experience. We are committed to providing every one of our guests with incomparable service and comfort. Thank you for all your lovely compliments for our resort and staff; they are truly appreciated. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Address: 300 Wigwam Boulevard, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wigwam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.