We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Wigwam to your Saves list
The Wigwam
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Wigwam Boulevard, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Great property with user-friendly golf courses (not the tricked up desert courses that you can find in Arizona). The Patriot course was quite challenging, to say the least. Hit it straight and long on that course!!
The hotel staff was very helpful, courteous and friendly.
Our room was right on the golf course with a great view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of The Wigwam. Our three 18-hole championship golf courses offer diversity and challenges to golfers at every level. We’re delighted that you enjoyed playing on the Patriot Course with its bunkers, ponds and challenging dog-leg fairways. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    155
    54
    17
    16
See reviews for
248
205
21
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were at the Wigwam for a jazz festival. This historic property is absolutely beautiful. The restaurants were very good. The room was a nice size and very comfortable. The only downside is the bathrooms are very outdated and need to be redone. From the sink to the shower and toilet, it was very disappointing. We have booked for the next jazz festival in April. Hopefully some renovations will be made.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
At the Phoenix Jazz Festival this past October, some of the best jazz musicians both nationally and internationally entertained the crowds here at The Wigwam. We're so happy you enjoyed the festival and your stay with us. We do regret, however; that you were not overly impressed with the bathroom in your room and hope that it did not take away from your overall experience. This spring the festival will return with many more amazing musicians and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Wigwam is a beautiful historic hotel/resort in Litchfield Park, Arizona. It is beautifully landscaped and the rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The Wigwam has a great golf course, tennis courts, large workout facility and spa, plus 2 pools, one with a water slide. The restaurants offer diverse menu selections and the food is delicious. I was there for business. The meeting rooms were well appointed and the service was very good. I had a couple of small issues and these were resolved quickly. The staff are very pleasant and service is obviously a high priority. I did not have time to try the spa or other amenities. It is about 20 miles outside of Phoenix, so be prepared to pay about $70.00 for a limo or taxi (one way) from the Phoenix Airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
The Wigwam's history dates back over 80 years and throughout that time our commitment to provide our guests with exceptional service has never wavered. We're delighted that your stay with us for business was one which you enjoyed and we hope that you will return soon for another stay and try out the many amenities we have to offer. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked 3 days from the 3rd to the 6th of November to celebrate 6 years anniversary with my wife and ended up staying for just one night. Walking into the lobby, We were greeted by extremely nice staff and the renovated public area wowed us. We were upgraded (bonus!) to a suite and after a long flight, we couldn't wait to drop our bags off and start having a good time. We were directed to our room and I gave the keys to my wife thinking she was going to be surprised by the 4.5 star hotel that I booked and as everyone gave it such awesome reviews, I was for certain the rooms were going to be nice. They were not.

The rooms are 2.5-3 star max. We then went back to the front desk and asked for their newest room so we were degraded to a normal room which were newer but not much better. We called Expedia who we booked our trip through, cancelled the 2 nights and went to a five star hotel an hour away from Wigwam the next day after playing 18 holes at the Wigwam golf course.

Nice Resort! Awesome Service and everyone was so helpful but its not 4.5 stars. Its 3 stars

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
It's disappointing that although you have shared an appreciation for our staff and several aspects of our resort, your accommodations were not as anticipated. We are sorry that we could not meet your expectations but we hope that you had a wonderful anniversary. Thank you for sharing your opinions and thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

During a business trip, our usual company-preferred hotel was booked, so I had a chance to stay at the famous, historical Wigwam for a few days. I liked it quite a bit because it was a gorgeous property in the quiet Litchfield area. The hotel room was quite nice, and had a comfy bed as well as a gorgeous bathroom.

The hotel is definitely more suitable as a luxury resort than a business hotel. There was no laundry service, but they did have dry-cleaning which was pretty expensive. There were 3-4 restaurants in the hotel and all were very good, but again a bit spendy for a business trip. If I was staying with my wife and daughter, we could enjoy the pool and other amenities more. As I was working, most amenities just didn't get used.

The hotel itself is very historical and there's many great spots to lounge and soak up the history both for ranchers and native americans. The staff were great and very professional and helpful too.

All in all, I would love to take my family here for a restful 2 nights and 3 days during a winter in Arizona. The Wigwam is definitely one of the premier luxury resorts in the greater Phoenix area, and if you're willing to spend some money, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The hotel lot is huge, so try to get a room near the hotel lobby itself. Otherwise, you might do a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Whether your stay is for business or for leisure, it is always our pleasure to provide you with exceptional services to create an outstanding experience. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the history and ambiance of The Wigwam and we hope that we can welcome you and your family soon for a relaxing winter getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Wigwam is a beautiful property in Litchfield Park, AZ. It's been around a long time and always been "quite the place"! Very well maintained and landscaped with superb dining! Litchfield's...
with wonderful, flavorful meals served by attentive fun and interesting wait staff. What a Chef!! The W Bar, great for breakfast or an afternoon drink. There are two other restaurants that we've not visited but our friends and folks we met, said they're food is GREAT! Also, there is a beautiful golf course and a nice spa and large pools! Most importantly...The Wigwam has the best Employees of any hotel in which I've stayed in a very long time!! Kind, interested, attentive, fun, interesting to speak with and just down right wonderful! We ALWAYS enjoy our stays at the Wigwam!!!

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more and receive more. Corner suites are wonderful. Rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We can't thank you enough for sharing such a glowing review of The Wigwam and gracious praise for our staff. At the resort, our guests and their comfort are our number one priority. We will pass along your comments to the team here to let them know the impact that they had on your visit. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

loved the set up of the hotel. They don't have a traditional hotel with multiple floors....They have separate villas that are much more private and quiet. Pools are amazing. Golf was OK. Food was excellent. Loved it!

Room Tip: don't stay too close to the pools. Walk there. I liked the rooms back by the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a great time at the pool. At The Wigwam there is a refreshing place that is just right for everyone with our four pools, two twisting water slides and Jacuzzi. We hope that you can visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Address: 300 Wigwam Boulevard, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wigwam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.