We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After many visits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wigwam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Wigwam to your Saves list
The Wigwam
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   300 Wigwam Boulevard, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Morrison, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“After many visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Wigwam is a beautiful property in Litchfield Park, AZ. It's been around a long time and always been "quite the place"! Very well maintained and landscaped with superb dining! Litchfield's...
with wonderful, flavorful meals served by attentive fun and interesting wait staff. What a Chef!! The W Bar, great for breakfast or an afternoon drink. There are two other restaurants that we've not visited but our friends and folks we met, said they're food is GREAT! Also, there is a beautiful golf course and a nice spa and large pools! Most importantly...The Wigwam has the best Employees of any hotel in which I've stayed in a very long time!! Kind, interested, attentive, fun, interesting to speak with and just down right wonderful! We ALWAYS enjoy our stays at the Wigwam!!!

Room Tip: Spend a little bit more and receive more. Corner suites are wonderful. Rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We can't thank you enough for sharing such a glowing review of The Wigwam and gracious praise for our staff. At the resort, our guests and their comfort are our number one priority. We will pass along your comments to the team here to let them know the impact that they had on your visit. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    162
    56
    17
    18
See reviews for
262
212
21
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

loved the set up of the hotel. They don't have a traditional hotel with multiple floors....They have separate villas that are much more private and quiet. Pools are amazing. Golf was OK. Food was excellent. Loved it!

Room Tip: don't stay too close to the pools. Walk there. I liked the rooms back by the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had such a great time at the pool. At The Wigwam there is a refreshing place that is just right for everyone with our four pools, two twisting water slides and Jacuzzi. We hope that you can visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We attended the Jazz Fest in October held on the grounds at the Wigwam so the location was terrific for the event. Room was nice with two queen beds and Hughes bathroom with double vanities, separate shower and jetted tub. We had a nice patio with view of second pool. We used both pools- one had a bar/snack bar for kids and adults and slides etc for the kid ( or kid in you if an adult). Both pools had spas... The second pool by our room was more quiet as no 'fun' features for kids but still very big and nice pool for lounging and sunning. Overall very nice. Our bathroom could have used some attention in the shower with new grout, etc vs multiple patch jobs with caulking but given size and features, could live with it for a couple days. Did not golf but courses looked nice. They have a Red Door Spa ( did not use) and health spa ( ditto) as well as close to gas, groceries and off-site dining if wanted which is good considering hotel food and be stages kind of pricey.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed the Phoenix Jazz Festival, your accommodations and the pools at The Wigwam. The luxury of having multiple swimming options is that there is a refreshing place poolside that is just right for everyone. This April, the Phoenix Jazz Festival returns to The Wigwam and we hope that we can welcome you back as well. Thank you for sharing your impressions with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Great golfing, best deal around, golf shop very well stocked, great staff, 3 courses in superb condition. Greens were a little slow but understood due to the heat. Eat on site or off plenty of choices. Rooms were clean and comfy. Had a little trouble with hot water coming out of cold tap instead of cold water. Planning to return next year.

Room Tip: Rooms near Golf Course and Golf shop have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
It is absolutely wonderful learn that your recent stay at The Wigwam was your best vacation ever. Our three 18-hole championship golf courses offer diversity and a unique challenge for golfers at all levels. We are sorry to hear that you experienced some difficulty with the hot water; we hope that the inconvenience was minimal. Thank you for your review; we're looking forward to your return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I couldn't have been happier with my stay here! Everything was wonderful... the staff was extremely helpful with a smile... and the locatrwas perfect! Beautiful landscaping and beautiful rooms... this place is definitely worth visiting :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We can't thank you enough for sharing such a glowing review. It is always a pleasure to learn about our guest's impressions and experiences at The Wigwam. Thank you so much for your compliments. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Came for Labor Day 2012 which was our 7th holiday weekend visit to the Wigwam (see previous reviews). Sad to say, it will probably be our last.

We found ourselves rather disappointed in the dining, especially in Litchfield's. Food was excellent here on our other trips, but they got a new chef and changed the menu. The service was dreadful; some dishes came out long before others; some sides never even arrived; had to ask for some things 2-3 times before getting them; and most of the food was cold.
The food in Red Allen's was still pretty good, and the breakfast buffet was above average, but it's not enough to make up for Litchfield's.

The golf courses were in terrible shape. Greens were bumpy and dying off, with such slow greens speeds we could never make a putt. Fairways were brown and uneven.

We started asking ourselves...if we have to leave the Wigwam to eat and play golf, then what is the point in staying here anymore?
We will not be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We could not be more disappointed that your most recent stay did not live up to previous visits and for this we sincerely apologize. Your comments will be shared with our management teams so that they can use this opportunity to strengthen our commitment to providing the best in service to each and every guest. We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to regain your loyalty. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

I was very impressed with the hospitality at this resort. Everyone was so attentive to catering to our stay. My grandchildren loved it as well. I plan to return for a longer stay when I come back to Arizona:)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWigwam, General Manager at The Wigwam, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We can't thank you enough for sharing your impressions of your recent stay at The Wigwam. Our guests are highly valued and taking care of their needs is a top priority. Your gracious praise for our staff is sincerely appreciated and we are all looking forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wigwam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wigwam

Address: 300 Wigwam Boulevard, Litchfield Park, AZ 85340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Litchfield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wigwam 4*
Number of rooms: 331
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beloved by generations, this Arizona landmark, Historic Hotel of America and AAA 4 Diamond property couples historic charm with a truly modern sense of adventure. Relax in the elegant comfort of 331 casitas and suites, but be sure to carve out time for our legendary golf, superb spa, four pools - including a new 25-foot tower with twisting water slides -distinctive cuisine and innovative, Arizona-inspired programming. The Wigwam is the ideal choice for both locals and guests who seek exceptional accommodations, amenities, activities and service that are enriched by the genuine flavors and real character of Arizona’s past and present. Rich with over 80 years of tradition, The Wigwam inspires locals and guests to “Make Some History” by creating memorable stories and cherished new traditions of their very own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Wigwam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wigwam Golf Resort And Spa
The Wigwam Golf Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Hotel
Wigwam Hotel Litchfield Park
The Wigwam Arizona/Litchfield Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wigwam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.