We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orion gets our vote of Extreme satisfaction!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sante Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sante Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sante Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Bella Vita Wine Estate | Simonsvlei Road, Paarl 7646 , South Africa (Formerly Sante Winelands Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Paarl
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Orion gets our vote of Extreme satisfaction!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Anything review prior to Orion's take over can be ignored,we stayed there for 3nights,absolutely stunning.
Food ,7star,service 10 stars,fantastic venue,one of the very best in the Cape.
Go and. Enjoy,these guys know how!

Room Tip: Private suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Coen

Thank you for such a great review following your stay at Sante. Sounds like you had a blast! Thank you for your kind words and compliments which will be forwarded to the relevant parties. We hope to see you again soon and you get out vote of ‘Awesome Guest’!

Warm Regards
Staff and Management
Sante Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    29
    20
    17
See reviews for
14
64
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The suite was very spacious and beautiful; quiet, private and nice view. food and service was good and visit to spa was well worth while. Good value for money and friendly staff. I will definately go again as this is a one not to miss out on!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Sante Hotel and Spa. We are glad that your experienced great service from our staff-your kind words will be passed on. We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Sante Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife planned a surprise overnight stay ( including the "special Valentines Day Dinner) for Valentines day at the Sante Spa.
On arrival , I had to fetch my own luggage from my car , parked about 50+ meters from the hotel entrance. I the had to ask for someone to assist with taking the suit cases to our room. The person concerned did not welcome us nor make any attempt to explain the operation of the Air Con or TV. It was not necessary to explain anything else since there was no mini bar or even water in the room.
The actual experience did not align with the advertised valentines day brochure : The luxury Suite did not get/have a "Romantic Turn Down" the Set Menu deviated in some ways from the advertised menu.-- No bottle of Simonsig Sparkling,No prawn and melon salad,no pepper rolled sirloin, no GRILLED line fish and no glazed duck.
On booking out the next morning, we were told that we had to pay for the Free 30 minute massages which were included in the "Valentines package" the lady at Reception kindly sorted this out and went further to assist my wife with the suit cases while I went to fetch the car.

We are regular travellers and my wife has frequently visited the Spa for various treatments which have in the past been very pleasant experiences.

I feel that the Hotel is understaffed and is in need of maintenance and until these things improve , we will not be going back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your honest review of Sante. We do apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. You have brought to light some very valid issues which we will address promptly with the responsible parties. We assure you that the points you have raised will be dealt with. We are glad that your wife has enjoyed her previous treatments at the spa - we will pass the compliments to the spa team.
We do hope we see you and your wife at Sante again and we know that we will not only meet, but exceed your expectations.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Velmore Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This was my first visit to Sante Resort and on a whole the experience was fairly average.
The staff were very friendly and the landscape was beautiful.

Should management pay a bit more attention to detail, this venue could certainly realise its full potential.

The deck chairs and light fittings in and around the indoor pool area were filled with cobwebs; windows were stained, it was quiet apparent that the area had not been swept in a while. The much looked forward to massage as fairly average; the masseuse had long fingernails and she kept randomly digging into my skin.

Our room was positioned away from the main area and the path to the main area was unlit, which made movement at night unpleasant and slightly eerie.

Given the shortcomings, I felt that the venue was highly over priced.

Would I return to this venue....probably not, unless there was an attractive promotion.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of your stay at Sante. We thank you for pointing out that Sante has beautiful landscapes and we are glad that the staff where friendly throughout your stay. We do acknowledge the points you have raised and we assure you that we will address these issues with operations.


Regards
The Staff and Management Team
Sante Hotel and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It seems as if the management at Sante went on leave during the December Holiday season and clearly they did not stay at Sante! Allthough the staff are eager to please, the hotel is poorly managed and understaffed. Used pool towels and glasses litter the pool area where only two of the three umbrellas are in proper working condition.

The poor barman at the spa side has to run to the hotel bar in order to get glasses for the over priced drinks, leaving the bar unattended for ages. Not sure which glasses at the spa counter have been used or not(!)

The acclaimed spa pool's features are not all operational, e.g the current resistance, bubbles and water jets?? Nadda. Same with the multi experience showers. Shouldn't somebody check these things?

Whoever the owner of the estate and buildings may be, some much needed maintenance and care is needed to the structures. Some of the spa suite buildings are shouting neglect and dereliction.

What a beautiful setting and what wonderful potential is going to waste here? I thought the new management were taking over in December. May be a bit difficult for them if they are o holiday somewhere else?


  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review of our Sante Hotel, Resort and Spa. We do apologise for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your stay. The establishment is currently undergoing maintenance and upgrade programs and we expect to see a vast improvement shortly. Sante is indeed a beautifully-set establishment and we hope to see you again soon to witness the changes.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Sante Hotel, Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I had booked for Sante for the second time having enjoyed my stay in 2012.
Upon arrival , our group of 4 , with confirmed booking in hand , was told that there was no booking for us , apparently the computer system had crashed and lost all reservations , obviously no back ups?
After a wait we were offered alternative accomodation close by which was very nice but this obviously meant we were unable to make use of the facilites , the main reason we had booked Sante?
I emailed the hotel to find out how we could be compensated for our loss and was advised that we could have a room at a reduced price by Mr Bruce Walker , General Manager.
No phone call to apologise or make some worthy compensation , the man obviously has no people skills and he will continue to chase away business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam

We thank you for your honest review following your recent stay at Sante Hotel, Resort and Spa.We do apologise for any inconvenience you may have had from a result of the confusion created by your reservation. In September 2013 our network server was in fact hacked and all data encrypted, leading to the loss of major data, this has since been rectified .Our understanding is that an alternative was provided at our expense and a discount rate offered for a return visit. Sante now has a new General Manager in place and is growing from strength to strength - There have been major technology upgrades and infrastructure expenditure to ensure that the issue will not happen again.

Our Sincere apologies.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Sante Hotel, Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We have visited the Sante Resort a few times int the last few years, but nothing could be worse than today's visit. Not sufficient staff, only one waitress and tables and floors very dirty. Only 3 umbrella's at the pool area, no service at the pool for drinks or to clean up the mess around the pool. Gardens in very poor condition. The salad for lunch was about a week old. And to top it all, after we left I got a phone call from the front desk to accuse us of not paying our account at the spa. It was paid for a month ago! Terrible, poor and shocking service! Sante will never see us again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Willem

Thank you for your honest review of our Sante Hotel, Resort and Spa. You have raised some valid concerns which we are currently reviewing. Sante has just taken on a very capable new management team who will undoubtedly raise the standard of the establishment. We can confidently state that Sante will once again don its crown as one of the finer establishments in the Cape Winelands.
We do hope to see you again.

Warmest Regards
Staff and Management
Sante Hotel, Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sante Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sante Hotel & Spa

Address: La Bella Vita Wine Estate | Simonsvlei Road, Paarl 7646 , South Africa (Formerly Sante Winelands Resort)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sante Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flanked by the majestic Simonsberg Mountains in the picturesque Franschhoek Valley, Santé Hotel, Resort & Spa is situated on a working wine estate. Only 40 minutes from Cape Town International airport, Santé has it all - a luxurious hotel, outstanding conference facilities and an award-winning Spa & Wellness centre. The hotel’s fine dining restaurant serves gourmet meals with international flair and inspired by local delicacies - many sourced from its own organic gardens. The rooms are stylish and luxurious, with marble finishes, deluxe bathrooms and offer sweeping views of the mountains, lakeshore and vineyards. Three types of accommodation are available: Manor rooms – in the main hotel, Spa suites, and the Villas. Santé means ‘health’ and this simple message is carried through every aspect of the guest experience - from the décor of the luxurious and spacious rooms, through to the rejuvenating spa treatments and the thoughtful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sante Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sante Hotel Paarl
Sante Hotel, Resort And Spa
Sante Winelands Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sante Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.