We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous. We'll be back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sante Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sante Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sante Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Bella Vita Wine Estate | Simonsvlei Road, Paarl 7646 , South Africa (Formerly Sante Winelands Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Paarl
Cape Town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous. We'll be back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

What an amazing place. It's just beautiful in gorgeous surrounds with magnificent views of the Simonsberg mountains. The rooms in the Spa Suites are enormous with really wonderful views and facilities. A lovely fireplace in the room!! A great bay window to loll in and absorb the magnificent views from. Large bathroom.
The massage was great and the people doing the treatments were very friendly and efficient!
A greatl breakfast.
All in all, a very relaxing and beautiful experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    25
    28
    20
    17
See reviews for
14
63
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

We went to the Sante Winelands for our annual conference and couldn't have picked a more suited place for this occasion. The staff and hotel have absolutely blown my expectations away. Spacious luxurious rooms, friendly helpful staff and breathtaking views makes this hotel THE hotel to go to!!!!! If you are in need for a good massage and some much needed pampering the Sante Winelands is definitely the place to go for both men and woman.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a breathtaking view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernXCpt, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Thanks Aneesa, we are glad your conference went well and hope to have you back at Sante soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My room including the bathroom was spacious with a 'day bed' in front of a huge slidingdoor window with the most beautiful views. The staff are very helpful and room service fast and on the spot. The food at the restaurant was divine and the shef all to helpful to allow you to be part of it and to accommodate any requests. Kevin was most certainly a great help to make my stay even more relaxing and to accommodate all requests. Hans Heuer and his team really have the ability to make it feel like home away from home. I could attend to my busy business schedule and yet feel as if I am on a tranquil holiday. I met various of the guests staying there at the same time, who shared my feelings in regard to Sante-experience. I've stayed there before and can honestly say Sante has come alive again, Highly recommended. PS Do book for a Dr Fish nibble at the Spa and good massage.

To Hans and his team all my compliments.

Adv le Roux

Room Tip: Spa Suite 238 is on one of the pools and with beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

PLEASE BE WARNED!!!!!!! My Wife and I stayed at this Hotel - we were told that it was under new Management (New Name Sante Hotel Resort and Spa) and dispite what had been posted on tripadvisor we decided to go as the website looks wonderful. Well from the moment we arrived to the time we checked out early by the way our stay was a 2 star experience. The staff do not know what they are doing - untrained not 5 star at all. We had to wait an hour for our room - we arrived at 4 in the afternoon. We were told they were waiting for linen to come back from the laundry - Oh my! Our room was dirty - dust and dirt - bath not cleaned - I complained and they sent a housekeeper to clean the room whilst we were in the room. We asked for towels and the housekeeper said as soon as they come back from the laundry they will bring them to our room. The restaurant food was terrible we had to send it back - the Chef came to apologise what a rude man - he didn't care and made excuses that I would expect from a 2 star hotel - we eventually left the restaurant. The next day we checked out. Take note of what is said on this site - DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernXCpt, Manager at Sante Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2011
Thank you for bringing the information to our attention, we are sorry that you did not have a good experience at Sante. Even though we have only taken over the hotel 3 months ago, we are working hard to ensure that the required service levels are achieved and that we meet all our guests expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I recently stayed at the new Sante Hotel, Resort and Spa. This Hotel situated near Paarl in the Winelands has new owners and is under new managment and a new name. Despite all the bad comments on this Hotel which I believe was when the previous owners managed the Hotel our stay was absolutely fantastic. What a treat! From the time we arrived the welcome was warm and the 5 star treatment was evident immediately. Our room was delightful we felt like kings and queens, the service from the staff was very professional and very warm and friendly, the restaurant was amaizing - the food was outstanding and the lounge and bar areas were inviting with fire places. The Spa - Simply Spa has so many different treatments on offer - the doctor fish experience is one I will not forget this SPA is one of the best I have been too worldwide. The views of the mountains, the beautiful gardens, the swimming pool area are all breath taking. I rate this Hotel as one of the best 5 star experiences I have had worldwide. So for those visiting South Africa do yourself a favour and stay at Sante you will not be sorry! It is exceptional!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are 5 star
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

We stayed at the hotel on the 30th of December as a romantic break. We are from Cape Town and have stayed at many of the 5-star establishment in and around the Western Cape over the years. We used to frequent Sante spa before it closed down some years ago and loved it but have never staed at the hotel before. We were really dissapointed with the hotel and the spa this time round. The overall service was poor, the staff at the spa were often not there or had bad attitudes and the general state of the hotel and suites is of neglect. None of the services promised in the brochure were delivered, i.e. no turn down of bed at night, nothing in the mini bar (not even a bottle of water) and the restaurant (where we were the only people having dinner) was slow, the food mediocre, the portions small and very expensive for what we got.
This is not a 5 star establishment and I would not recommend anyone to stay there, it is very expensive and not worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

I will definitely not recommend this hotel for a business function. We had our EXCO conference and Gala Dinner during the last week of November. The Conference went well, but disaster strike when the partners arrived on Friday and during the Gala Dinner. My poor Executive Guests left the function still hungry. The hotel is definitely not ready, I think they have serious cash flow problems – could not wait for us to make the final payment before the function – after the function we gave them feedback on the poor service we received – was not bothered to compensate for that – just want to know when are we going to make the payment on the outstanding amount.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sante Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sante Hotel & Spa

Address: La Bella Vita Wine Estate | Simonsvlei Road, Paarl 7646 , South Africa (Formerly Sante Winelands Resort)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sante Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flanked by the majestic Simonsberg Mountains in the picturesque Franschhoek Valley, Santé Hotel, Resort & Spa is situated on a working wine estate. Only 40 minutes from Cape Town International airport, Santé has it all - a luxurious hotel, outstanding conference facilities and an award-winning Spa & Wellness centre. The hotel’s fine dining restaurant serves gourmet meals with international flair and inspired by local delicacies - many sourced from its own organic gardens. The rooms are stylish and luxurious, with marble finishes, deluxe bathrooms and offer sweeping views of the mountains, lakeshore and vineyards. Three types of accommodation are available: Manor rooms – in the main hotel, Spa suites, and the Villas. Santé means ‘health’ and this simple message is carried through every aspect of the guest experience - from the décor of the luxurious and spacious rooms, through to the rejuvenating spa treatments and the thoughtful attention to detail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sante Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sante Hotel Paarl
Sante Hotel, Resort And Spa
Sante Winelands Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sante Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.