We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid old property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sonstraal Road | Klein Drakenstein, Paarl 7628, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Paarl B&B and Inns
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Splendid old property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I certainly wasn't disappointed, however, my expectations were rather high given the five star rating. This is an absolutely stunning property comprised of vineyards, fruit trees, vegetable gardens, rolling green lawns, grand old oak trees, koi ponds, etc. I did feel that the property was in need of some TLC but that didn't take away from the wonderful experience. The staff (Jowine) was delightful and very attentive. I stayed in one of the cottages which was decorated with some very beautiful art deco pieces. The bed was extremely comfortable and made up with crisp, white linen and duvet cover. Unlucky for me, I only noticed the electric blanket on the second night and that made a world of difference as it was a rather chilly (middle of winter).

Breakfast and Dinner is served in the stately dinning room in the main house. Eating off antique crockery, and the lavish table settings really took me to pondering about the history of this establishment. Breakfast (included in the rate) was very generous with lots of choices to eat and drink. Dinner is a set menu with a few main course options. The food was tasty and well presented, however, I definitely felt the price tag was hefty at R300 per person.

Guests are invited for complimentary drinks before dinner in the loft lounge which is very comfortable with oversize leather sofas, gas fireplace (wood would be fantastic!) and a large tv screen (the tvs in the rooms are not connected to satellite and only play dvds/cds).

Kick this place up a notch or two and it very well could be worthy of it's five star tourism grading. But do go, you'll love it for it's old charm and beautiful surroundings! I'm looking forward to going back in October when I plan to spend much time at the pool and under the grand old oak trees.

Room Tip: All rooms have their own charm and decorated with beautiful antiques. Check their website for detai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jowine, Public Relations Manager at Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Kittispike

Thank you for your wonderful, detailed feedback. We truly appreciate the time you have taken to write this review.

Thank you for bringing some points to our attention (TLC and price). We have submitted these for discussion and will attend to them.

Wishing you a great week ahead.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    18
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
16
78
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is truly a hidden gem. As we were the only people staying at the hotel (mid-winter), we were upgraded to the honeymoon suite. The room was absolutely fantastic - beautiful antique furniture, absolute attention to detail, a modern bathroom; all very romantic. We had a look at the other rooms, and they were beautiful too. The staff were friendly, helpful. An awesome weekend, and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite adjoins a common room. It was okay for us, as the hotel was empty, but I can ima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jowine, Public Relations Manager at Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Howard

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Palmiet Valley Estate. We are glad to hear that you had such a great experience. We pride ourselves on our staff being so friendly and helpful. We do hope you return and look forward to your next review.

Best wishes,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Wow!! - was my first thought at driving into this hidden gem just outside Cape Town. The venue is beyond beautiful ...lush well maintained gardens, beautiful Cape Dutch buildings (obviously treated with much love by the owner) and impeccable service. We took a group there for lunch under the oak trees and they loved every second of it. I then went to stay there a few weeks later and the experience was just as memorable. Perfect in every way!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jowine, Public Relations Manager at Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear HelenJ000

Thank you for your professional feedback. It is lovely to know that we met (or exceeded) your expectations. We did like having you stay and thank you for bringing your group for lunch. We felt honored to host such a lovely event.

We hope we see far more of you and your lovely team.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Love the tranquility,wonderful hospitality,super breakfasts and hearing frogs and owls at night! Service is excellent-compliments to GM Hennie and Ellen,who serves a magic brunch! Great for a stress-relief break!

Room Tip: The cottage next to the reception is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jowine, Public Relations Manager at Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear GeorgKnoke

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words. Always working hard here and happy to know that guests are having a lovely time.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Having requested a quiet room and been told that they were all quiet, we were given an obviously luxurious room but unfortunately one of the noisiest on the estate, having to switch to a less luxurious one to avoid traffic noise. This after a long wait, as the only person in charge had gone to the gym and to get himself a pizza for dinner!
The estate is beautiful, but sadly the overall running of the place is in disarray at present, the owner having unexpectedly passed away last month.
The room was quite ordinary for a so-called 5 star hotel, and in the first half-hour of settling in we encountered a huge coackroach and a worm. There was real coffee but no coffee making facilities, the converter plug didn't work, there were a few CDs but no player and the rusks were stale beyond belief. So, despite the antique furniture and the marble surfaces in the bathroom, we felt quite cheated.
Food was a whole different ballgame. Breakfast was delicious, with a good range of fruit and cereals, juice, and a reasonable number of cooked options, in a beautiful setting outside. Dinner, on the other hand, was diabolical. Food that seemed to come out of an 80's amateur cookbook, with too many flavours, a starter with excessive salt, and a banana creme brulée which was virtually inedible. We were relieved not to have had dinner there the first night!
The well-meaning attitude of the new manager went some way towards relieving our distress, offering us sundowners on the astro-turf terrace which allowed breath-taking views of the mountains as the sun set.
So, people tried and there were some good points, but overall the cost of our stay did not represent good value and the reality did not measure up to our expectations from the description in the guide.

Room Tip: Be aware that the upstairs rooms are much noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jowine, Public Relations Manager at Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Andrea

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are saddened by the experience you had. Unfortunately, the owner did pass away unexpectedly. We can inform you that we have recently employed a new General Manager- Luke Barton, who has year of experience in this field. He has been handling the property with extreme professionalism and I can assure you these types of mishaps have not been occurring.

I have noted down your review and will submit it to management for discussion. Could you supply me with more details, your names, dates of stay and contact details (send these to info@smm-solutions.com).

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 2nights, one night with the bridesmaids and another in the honeymoon suite. The grounds are simply magnificent and so much more beautiful than I expected. The rooms were both gorgeous(actually suites), and had every luxury provided despite the antique appearance.
We were so well looked after and every requirement was seen to, including some last minute ironing emergency!
The breakfast served outside under the oaks was splendid. Would love to return again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jowine, Public Relations Manager at Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Georgina

Thank you for this lovely review. We are so glad you had your wedding with us. It is truly one of our specialties. We would love for you to come again, perhaps for your wedding anniversary?

Wishing you all the best.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

My sister and myself decided to treat ourselves to a little break from the city life and booked a one night stay at Palmiet Valley Estate. Best decision! We arrived on a beautiful sunny Saturday afternoon, were shown to our luxury room and then were off to relax at the pool. We enjoyed a couple of Savannah's here and chatted till late in the afternoon. Then we had a nap and went off to have sundowners on the sun deck. The Palmiet Valley white wine is to die for and the sparkling wine was enjoyed by my sister (who had a bit too much ;-)). Then off to a three course dinner in the dinning room. A large table was elegantly set for four. They arrange that all guest joining for dinner sit together so that one can get to know each other. I first thought this would be awkward, but now I think it is awesome. We met the nicest couple from Germany and chatted till late in the evening, way after the kitchen had closed.

The food is outstanding as well. Real attention to detail. Next morning we enjoyed the breakfast set up in under the oak trees in the garden. This is probably the most beautiful experience at Palmiet Valley. The feeling of sitting under the majestic trees and being served excellently prepared breakfast is a true treat.

Although we only stayed one night, we felt like we had a week long vacation. Well rested and ready for a long week at work on Monday. I truly recommend that capetonians make more use of our guest houses in surrounding areas. Yo don't need to go oversees to have a great break. We have it all here :)

Room Tip: Choose the luxury room. So worth it. Book through a DMC as they can get you better rates. We used M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel

Address: Sonstraal Road | Klein Drakenstein, Paarl 7628, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmiet Valley is a producing Wine Estate in the heart of the Cape Wine Lands with thirteen romantic guest rooms in the historic Cape Dutch Manor House of the Estate. All rooms have en suite bathrooms and are furnished with the finest antiques. We have an international chef who is cooking exclusively for our house guests. We have been rated "Five Star" by the South African Tourism Grading Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmiet Valley Wine Estate & Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.