We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre wedding night and wedding night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bakenhof Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paarl
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bakenhof Guesthouse
Save
You added Bakenhof Guesthouse to your Saves list
R45 | Road to Malmesbury, Paarl 7654, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 36 Paarl B&B and Inns
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“Pre wedding night and wedding night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The best place ever! The service was excellent. I stayed in the honeymoon suite on the pre-night of my wedding and then we spent our honeymoon there! Beautiful views, excellent service and the best guest house that i have ever visited. Thank you Bakenhof!!!!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite - nice and big and absolutely beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We unfortunately only spent one night at this tranquil and peaceful guesthouse. its situated in the middle of the wine district in Paal. Surrounded by lots of other wine farms and the beautiful mountains. The guesthouse has 5 beautifully decorated rooms, which we booked as a group of friends attending a wedding near by. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, very spacious with white and mirrors all around the room. The bed is comfortable, the room has its own lounge, kitchen and outside patio aread where you can relax watching the sun rise or take a walk on the garden. There is a pond outside with ducks & a you might bump into a beautiful peacock while walking around the gardens.
Breakfast was good and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

If you want a tranquil getaway from the city this is your place.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is the best or the garden room which is also outside by the pool & garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Yes, like everyone says the view is stunning! Its peaceful and beautiful and the home of 1 peacock just tops that something special in one's mind.The place has a natural welcoming warmth that surrounds it. On a clear day you can see Table Mountain, our day was misty but even that was lovely. We received a friendly, professional welcome, yet relaxed. Nicola's sparkling personality and openness made us feel right at home. The rooms, ground, is looked after well, nothing was to much trouble to answer or to show us. I recommend this Guest house. The only thing one will be sorry about is if you do not make a booking there!

Room Tip: If you are looking for quiet,peaceful and nature, this is the place. Rooms look welcoming and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Bakenhof is most probably the Guest House with the most amazing view, over the wine lands and also Table Mountain. The service is so good with friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are beautiful with that extra touch that makes you feel so welcome that you don’t want to leave. The Guest House has a deck which compliments the view; it is the perfect venue for a special occasion such as a small wedding, engagement party or even a birthday celebration. I would recommend Bakenhof to anyone for any occasion, whether its conferencing, a wedding, honeymoon night or a birthday party. It is worth it to make that trip and experience the Guest House and its view yourself.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Wow we had such an amazing time at Bakenhof, the room was breath taking pure white with rose petals and bubbly, I felt like a princess!!!The staff are so friendly and efficient we felt like part of the family! I was so sad to leave Bakenhof as I could not get enough of the views and the piece and quietness!!!
I would defiantly advise people to go to Bakenhof for their Honeymoon!

Room Tip: Defiantly the Honeymoon Suite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bakenhof Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bakenhof Guesthouse

Address: R45 | Road to Malmesbury, Paarl 7654, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Paarl
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious 4 star Guesthouse, Wedding, Conference and Party venue on private wine and grape farm, between Wellington and Paarl in the heart of the Cape winelands. Be enchanted by our supreme setting and exclusive ambiance - perfect for 2, 40 or 100 guests, be it summer or winter, sunshine or rain, formal or informal, day or night; a glamorous white wedding or private elopement; a breakaway Wedding Moon or chic civil ceremony. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakenhof Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.