We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High street Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Mare

Terra Mare
90A Main Street | 7646, Paarl 7646, South Africa
+27 21 863 4805
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bistro, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This spot has a well-deserved long-standing reputation. Expect to find consistent food (that ever-elusive ingredient to success) and friendly, efficient service thanks to the personal care of the owner, Olivier, and his family team. This popular Paarl restaurant offers an intriguing mix of European-style dishes with the best that this area has to offer. The owners, Olivier and Delenia Jaeggi-Wright, he being Swiss and she of Italian descent, bring a European sensibility to a cuisine that is never precious, but concentrates on maximum flavour in generous portions - the kind of cooking that has made it a favourite with the locals for many years. Helping Olivier with the cooking is Thabo Nqadini, who has been at Terra Mare for 9 years, adding his very own African touch to the Swiss style of the house....
cape town
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“High street Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

walking up from the rear car park through a gloomy outside terrace, we were pleasantly surprised by the slick modern feel of the restaurant.

With clever touches of the Winelands and local sentiment the restaurant space reminds one of a "London High street Italian". We went on a Saturday night and the shop was buzzing with locals and a smattering of tourists.

The specials board had "a chef who loves cooking" feel to it. The main menu was simple, yet classic and the specials board offered great choice.

Well priced wine list offered tons of choice featuring a host of local wines.

Food highlights were the Springbok carpaccio, the Duck and the Rack of lamb. Good size portions, friendly service and good value made for a most enjoyable dinner, definitely on a par and if not better than Cape Town's overpriced posh Italian cousins.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    60
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Perfect Dinner in Paarl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The owner of our guest house recommened us this restaurant. We were really excited because we didn't read something about it in our tour guide. This restaurant is a secret. The location is really modern and stylish. The food were excellent. We had a lovely night there. :)) Thank you to all the staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neuchâtel, Suisse
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I love this place.The food is always delicious.The service is very good. And the owner is very friendly. I really recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch here on a Saturday. Place was deserted but apparently they get busy at dinner. What I really liked was the service, which was very attentive. The food was very good and after a long walk in the Paarl nature reserve, perfect. We gave not had an expensive meal in SA yet, and this proved very good value.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Constant quality and always good comments from our guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We run a guesthouse in Paarl and we quite often send guest out, for wineTastings and good food and all other great items Paarl has to offer. For us it is of upmost importants that the quality and service is more than good and of constant quality and our guests are treated as expected and with Terra Mare Restaurant on the mainstreet in Paarl, we can't go wrong.
We, ourselves, as well as our guest love the offerings of fine food and great wine selection, offerde at very resonable prices. Almost always, in the morning at the breakfast table, we receive compliments regarding the referal to Terra Mare and this is proof enough for us that we have a solid partner in the tourism industry.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terra Mare also viewed

Paarl, Western Cape
 

Been to Terra Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.