We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food in an idyllic setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cosecha Restaurant

Cosecha Restaurant
Klapmuts-Simondium Rd. | Noble Hill Wine Estate, Paarl, South Africa
+27.21.874.3844
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Paarl
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: cosecha is fresh latin cooking with vineyard views. The name, Spanish for "harvest", reflects our location next to the harvest area where grapes are sorted and crushed at Noble Hill wine estate. Ingredients are grown on the farm where possible, and we maintain a thriving pepper and vegetable garden which you are free to explore during your visit.
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food in an idyllic setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Set on Noble Hill Wine Estate in Simondium, Cosecha is a Mexican-themed menu and a pleasant change from the run-of-the-mill restaurant fare!
Thick-cushioned easy chairs, and a large table for the 6 of us ensured a relaxed experience.
The choice of starters is a little confusing, as some are to share and others aren't. We finally settled on some guacamole to share, and this is freshly made at the table side!
They offer degrees of "hotness" for the spicy dishes, most welcome!
The accompanying Noble Hill wines are a great match, especially the unwooded Chardonnay which held its own against the hotter dishes.
Good coffee to finish, unobtrusive service, knowledgeable waiters - thank you Edwin.
I also liked the online booking service, and confirmation reference number!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noblehill, Manager at Cosecha Restaurant, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for the kinds words: I am glad that you enjoyed your lunch! I hope we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    25
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent eggs, beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had such a great time at Cosecha. The food - huevos rancheros for me, and guacamole for the table - was excellent. We had had our share of biltong for one trip and were craving Mexican food, so Cosecha was quite a find. I wouldn't have imagined Mexican in South Africa could be so delicious! Our casual lunch ended up being one of the best meals of our trip. Not only did we have a great meal, but the restaurant itself was modern & comfortable, and as any visitors to Paarl know, the surrounding terrain is a pleasure to view.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We came across the Noble Wine estate as we were exploring the area.
The wine estate is situated in a beautiful position and the restaurant is well laid out and pleasant.

We were looking for a snack and ordered pulled pork ciabatta.My wife's was acceptable but I was unable to finish mine as it was way to dry and stringy.

I mentioned this to the two waiters at the end of the meal but unfortunately no apology explanation was forthcoming.

This was a shame as clearly the location and food is very popular with the local folk.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noblehill, Manager at Cosecha Restaurant, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear sir, please accept my apologies for your sandwich. Perhaps obviously we never want to serve food that is not totally enjoyable. I wish your waiter had taken better action in response to your comments and I will address it with the staff. We will always make you something different if you do not totally enjoy what you receive, not sure why this didn't happen except that perhaps your comments came after you had eaten? If you are in the area again please e-mail me, kristopher@noblehill.com, as I would not like this to be your last impression of our restaurant. We have many, many happy guests so it is disheartening to know we have missed you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Please look carefully for the sign for Noble Wine Estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

or you probably will miss the restaurant completely which would be a real shame. What a lovely location, really friendly staff and great food. Well worth a trip if you like Mexican.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bracknell
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We sat down in their outside restaurant on a bright sunny morning, there was some great music on in the background (everything from the monkees to mumford and sons) and we ordered a late breakfast of huevos rancheros, coffees and a half bottle of a cap classique (to avoid any possibility of drunk driving). We drank our coffees whilst the eggs were being cooked and enjoyed the views over the gardens and pond. Breakfast arrived we tucked in, drank our cap classique and declared that everything was well with the world.

Well of course everything is not well with the world but this is a place where you can kick back and forget for a while. Great food, good wine and excellent friendly service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noblehill, Manager at Cosecha Restaurant, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cosecha Restaurant also viewed

Paarl, Western Cape
Paarl, Western Cape
 
Paarl, Western Cape
 

Been to Cosecha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cosecha Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.