We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Leeuwenhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added De Leeuwenhof Hotel to your Saves list
De Leeuwenhof Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Leeuwenhof Farm | Sonstraal road, Paarl 7646, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Paarl
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little slice of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We absolutely loved this place! 4 of us stayed for 3 weeks for business in the area. Dan and his family couldn't do enough for us... from the Braai's, the food, wine tours and seeing friendly faces at breakfast!

The location is perfect and only 10 mins away from Paarl. You wake up to the sound of birds and the view of mountains. You have great dinners alfresco by the pool. The farm tour with Dan shows his and his family's love for the local area and their farm. The friendly cats and dogs are great companions when you're sitting out in the sun.
Dan was also kind enough to recommend some boutique wineries and actually took us to a few himself... which resulted in us taking 30+ bottles of wine home with us! Olsen was a definite bonus for us.

The highlight was the Braai night which is enjoyed with other guests and the whole family, who really are keen on getting to know people and sharing a great experience. We loved the first so much that we also asked for another :)

Thanks Dan, Yvonne, Tessa and Stefan!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    26
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
53
130
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

One of the most expensive accomodation venues in Paarl, but nothing more than an average 3 star establishment. Booked a self catering unit for my family for 5 nights. Situated in a bad area of Paarl, no satellite TV, dated decor and power tripping when we arrived ( told was because of rain" not even winter yet ?)
Relocated to Lemoenkloof Guest House, double the value at half the price.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deleeuwenhof, General Manager at De Leeuwenhof Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
We thank you for your review as this gives us the opportunity to elaborate.
A negative comment is never nice especially if the motive of the review is questionable.
On the rainy day, the family of four arrived late, many hours after check in time, nevertheless our staff was waiting for them warmheartedly.
This family had booked via the internet with us: a ‘Family Apartment’ in the main house with big Parent bedroom upstairs children bedroom downstairs, kitchenette, bathroom (shower), sitting area, private terrace overlooking the pool, TV and DVD, Wi-Fi and double air conditioning, perfect Wi-Fi uncapped internet. These apartments offer great comfort and are overlooking our vineyards and have a private pool (shared with 1 other apartment).
However, the accommodation booked by his wife, was not what the husband had in mind and he felt mislead as he probably misread the offerings of the specific facility.
The main issue at hand was that the programs on the TV in the apartment did not offer a specific sport channel, to watch his rugby. It is clearly stated on our web-site and confirmed in the booking, that the apartment does not offer a satellite receiver for those specific sports channels. Secondly the husband did not want to sleep upstairs as he apparently had a bad foot.
When a scenario like this appears we will always try and find a solution as soon as possible to accommodate the guest to the best of our ability. However, having no other rooms available that night, we could only accommodate the gentleman and his family, so offered, the next morning, with a room that did offer a satellite receiver to see his favourite rugby. The husband however became very persuasive and demanded solutions on the spot which we could not offer at that specific moment.
We regret to say that the family departed after their observations and left us no room to compensate for their misunderstanding. The last we heard were threats of bad reviews and legal action to get their down payment refunded leaving us is disarray. Their general rating of our establishment given the short time of their presence should be valued accordingly.
Remarks about an over rated price should be taken in perspective and the reader of this reply should judge his own observation and comparison. The guest booked with us indirect via our web-site, for 5 nights and clearly done their homework as most others first phone or mail regarding special needs or specific requirements. (Like speed of Wi-Fi or satellite reception)
The power outages after heavy rain fall as mentioned never last long and are dealt with accordingly, but unfortunately go with our area. The guests are from our country so they especially should know better.
Reviews are great means of picturing an accommodation, the offerings and especially the atmosphere. However in this case we are taken hostage by a review writer who was not capable of finding a compromise on his own misjudgement and who chooses the review for stress release.
Due to our specific marketing and our enormous efforts to do it right, most of our guests like to fit in and enjoy the atmosphere and offerings of our historic site. In this case it seems, the guest had different perspectives or ideas and again we feel sorry we could not compromise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamuela
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Beautiful and peaceful surroundings. The entire family was focused on and engaged with their guests to ensure our stay was a memorable one. Tastefully decorated, warm and cozy. History of the location and the effort put forth to restore the estate building to their original condition was very interesting. We highly recommend this place when traveling in the area around Paarl.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very friendly staff and family-owned. We learned a lot about the South African way of life and how it must be, to set up a Business there.

Sehr familiäre Atmosphäre. Als einziges negativ aufgefallen ist, dass die Tischsets aus Stoff offensichtlich nicht täglich erneuert wurden. So fanden wir auf unserem Tischset Nahrungsmittelrückstände, welche vom Vortag stammen mussten.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moers, Alemania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

very nice and personallity hospitality, really good guideance. From Daan a good overview about South Afrika in the last 20 years. A lot of Background informations around Paarl, the Leeuwenhof, South Afrika and the personal history of Daans Family. We like to come back again. Good evening Events and Dinners, we love the best Braai of Paarl - please more of them!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

The hotel is familiy managed leading to a warm atmosphere. Very nice place to stay when in the vine region. Good value for money compared to many overprized vineyards in the Stellenbosch region.

This is the right place for open minden people that love to hang out in a familiar atmosphere, enjoying an awsome braai and some bottles of vine while discussing the good sides of life.

Special recommendation: enjoy the homemade Shiraz !!!

A personal statement to all "high class travelers" (based on the experience with some people we met there): This is not a 5 star superior hotel - and I believe they don't want to be - so if you come here, don't behave bitchy and give bad ratings. The absolutely correct high rating comes from the special experience as a combination of the nice estate, the warm atmosphere and excellent food.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Well what can I say about our stay except ….. fantastic. Daan organised our parties accommodation with ease and we were certainly vey well looked after by not only Daan but the rest of his family that also run the Estate. We have a great night with the Estate tour, wine tasting and a superb Braai around a great log fire. The food served in the evening was of exceptional quality and the four Farm Cottages and one room that we booked we could not fault. We were made to feel extremely welcome and loved the personal family feel that we enjoyed with our stay. If we have the Pan African shoot again in Paarl next year we are definitely going back.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to De Leeuwenhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Leeuwenhof Hotel

Address: De Leeuwenhof Farm | Sonstraal road, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Leeuwenhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"De Leeuwenhof" was founded in 1698 by a French Hugenot who came to the Cape winelands to grow fruit and grapes. Nowadays the 4-star Cape Dutch Estate is restored to it former glory and offers 11 luxury guestrooms and two apartments, 4 self-catering cottages and a small restaurant with a nice entertainment area with two pools and safe parking. The Estate is family run and the personal touch will make you feel quite at home. Most guests come to rest and enjoy the food and wine and beautiful surroundings. "De Leeuwenhof" 11,5 Ha is still a working farm and produces 64 tons of grapes and 200 tons of fruit on a yearly basis. The estate is situated in the historic wine lands of the Western Cape, tranquilly situated on the foot of the mountains 5 min from Paarl itself.The offerings more specific: Rooms & family apartments: We can accommodate 36 people in total!Attached to main House (1698): Two family apartments , with two double bedrooms with queen-sized four-poster beds, kitchenette, terrace and bathroom, fully air-conditioned (cooled and heated) TV, DVD and local TV station. Minimum charge of two people per apartment. In adjoining historic building " The Old Barn"(1914 ) Four luxury rooms **** with queen-sized double bed and en-suite bathroom, coffee/thee tray, patio and linked to private terrace with pool. In The orchard we offer 4 self catering cottages with bedroom including en-suite Bathroom and separate kitchen, dining area with fire-place and outside terraceand we offer 6 luxury rooms in "The Old Stable" with en-suite Bathroom and private terrace.Also: - Secured private parking space on farm - Own private terrace with the apartments and outside terrace with the luxury rooms. - Air-conditioned ( heating and cooling ) - Swimming pool - TV, DVD in apartments and Satellite DStv and LCD flat-screens in luxury rooms - Internet facilities present (wireless ADSL ) - Laundry service on request. - Daily cleaning of rooms - Credit card facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your De Leeuwenhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Leeuwenhof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.