We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay at De Leeuwenhof!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Leeuwenhof Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added De Leeuwenhof Hotel to your Saves list
De Leeuwenhof Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Leeuwenhof Farm | Sonstraal road, Paarl 7646, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Paarl
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved our stay at De Leeuwenhof!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

De Leeuwenhof is a lovely little retreat in the South African winelands. Daan, Yvonne and family are most welcoming and go the extra length to make sure you are well cared for. The place is full of comfort with a touch of luxury. We enjoyed both the estate and pool area as well as several day trips that Daan helped us plan. The days always began with a delicious hot breakfast and coffee on the porch. If possible, try to arrange a visit over a Sunday as the Estate tour, wine tasting and African Braai really complete the experience providing additional historic context as well as a true taste of bbq in S. Africa. Absolutely worth it!

Room Tip: No need to worry about room reservations - there is not a bad room on the estate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    36
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
69
167
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed at De Leeuewenhof Guesthouse for 4 nights. We would recommend this accomodation to anyone. The spacious rooms are decorated lovely, and the estate is beautiful, surrounded by winefields and fruit trees. The Dutch owners, Daan and Yvonne, will do anything for you you make you feel at home. There was a winetasting and traditional "braai" as well, which we would recommend to any guest who will stay at De Leeuwenhof. The price is very reasonable according to the quality. This accomodation will be added to our top ten list for sure!

Corine and George van de Vorst

Room Tip: We would advice to book one of the family rooms, they have a veautiful terrace at the back of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochem, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

although we arrived late we were welcomed and offered a good bottle of their own wine. Beds are comfortable end everything is available, pool, drinks, wifi as the town, golf courses and access to the main road are within minutes. a place to return to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were looking for accommodation in the Paarl area and found this wonderful guesthouse with the ideal setting. Even though there is a very relaxed feel to the venue, the service was excellent. Would definitely stay there again and encourage anyone else to do so too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights. Everything was fabulous and Daan and Yvonne made very good and friendly hosts. If you are here when a braai (barbecue) is prepared, you must do it. It's fantastic. Daan also does a great pre-braai tour of the farm, which is very interesting. I dropped a blob for location only because the wine towns of Franschoek and Stellenbosch are more appealing than Paarl, but both are easily reached from De Leeuwenhof.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

great braai, very friendly athmosphere, we felt very welcome, Daan the owner can tell very fascinating stories, excellent spot to refill energy, relax, nice base for winetasting in the area. we like !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kleinmachnow, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and myself stayed four nights in early January in with Daan and Yvonne (or should I better say with Jack, their nice little Jack Russel Terrier). We had chosen De Leeuwenhof because of the excellent reviews at tripadvisor and all we can say is, that all our expectations got exceeded. It was just perfect, nothing could have been better! Daan and Yvonne are the perfect hosts and De Leeuwenhof is just the perfect place to stay in the Winelands. It is wonderfully located, perfectly restored and the spacious rooms for the guests are ideal to relax for a few days - or even longer. You van chose from many different breakfast options and special wishes, i.e. the eggs, are prepared fresh and with a smile.
Special highlight of our stay was the Braai and Daan's presentattion of the entire farm and the stories behind it.
We couldn't think of any better place to stay in the Winelands and as whenever we will return to the Winelands we definitely will first have a look whether there is space available in De Leeuwenhof!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Leeuwenhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Leeuwenhof Hotel

Address: De Leeuwenhof Farm | Sonstraal road, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Leeuwenhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"De Leeuwenhof" was founded in 1698 by a French Hugenot who came to the Cape winelands to grow fruit and grapes. Nowadays the 4-star Cape Dutch Estate is restored to it former glory and offers 11 luxury guestrooms and two apartments, 4 self-catering cottages and a small restaurant with a nice entertainment area with two pools and safe parking. The Estate is family run and the personal touch will make you feel quite at home. Most guests come to rest and enjoy the food and wine and beautiful surroundings. "De Leeuwenhof" 11,5 Ha is still a working farm and produces 64 tons of grapes and 200 tons of fruit on a yearly basis. The estate is situated in the historic wine lands of the Western Cape, tranquilly situated on the foot of the mountains 5 min from Paarl itself.The offerings more specific: Rooms & family apartments: We can accommodate 36 people in total!Attached to main House (1698): Two family apartments , with two double bedrooms with queen-sized four-poster beds, kitchenette, terrace and bathroom, fully air-conditioned (cooled and heated) TV, DVD and local TV station. Minimum charge of two people per apartment. In adjoining historic building " The Old Barn"(1914 ) Four luxury rooms **** with queen-sized double bed and en-suite bathroom, coffee/thee tray, patio and linked to private terrace with pool. In The orchard we offer 4 self catering cottages with bedroom including en-suite Bathroom and separate kitchen, dining area with fire-place and outside terraceand we offer 6 luxury rooms in "The Old Stable" with en-suite Bathroom and private terrace.Also: - Secured private parking space on farm - Own private terrace with the apartments and outside terrace with the luxury rooms. - Air-conditioned ( heating and cooling ) - Swimming pool - TV, DVD in apartments and Satellite DStv and LCD flat-screens in luxury rooms - Internet facilities present (wireless ADSL ) - Laundry service on request. - Daily cleaning of rooms - Credit card facilities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your De Leeuwenhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Leeuwenhof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.