We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Roche Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Roche Hotel to your Saves list
Grande Roche Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantasie Street, Paarl 7646, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Paarl
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Murnau, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“fantastic weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Needed a retreat in the middle of a very hectic business trip, and was not disappointed by the Grande Roche. Perfect balance of comfort & ease of relaxing plus lots of activities - could do as much as I wanted (cycling, visiting local wineries, gourmet chocolate tasting, to name a few) and also enjoy doing nothing. Very comfortable rooms with special little touches - comfy chairs & cusions, cuddly blankets (necessary on cold African winter nights), candles... and the main reception area was also extremly cozy (loved the deep armchairs in front of the roaring fireplaces!)
Fantastic staff who really went out of their way to be welcoming and friendly, but never overbearing. Shame I only had 2 days, most definitely hope to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel. We know that it is the small details that matter.

We hope that you will return soon and stay for a longer period with us.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    52
    18
    13
    9
See reviews for
32
164
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Grande Roche for the third time this year. We love the sneaky getaway from the city and Grande Roche does not disappoint. From the second you drive in and greeted at the gate, you can tell that you are entering what feels like a fairy tale. The old style building architecture, vineyards and beautiful view onto the mountains makes you feel like you are in a different world.

As we parked we were immediately greeted & escorted to the front desk to check in. The staff are friendly, greets you by name and looks after your every need. The glass of bubbles on arrival and a personal greeting by the lovely general manager certainly shows the personalized interactions and also why the staff are not shy to make sure your every need is taken care of, as well as try to ensure that your stay is welcoming and special.

The rooms are absolutely gorgeous, my favourite is definitely the big rain shower and Charlotte Rhys products. The bed and all the linen, robes, etc. is heavenly. Their housekeeping is of a very high standard and rooms are always spotless. Great attention to detail is displayed.

Breakfast can not be more magical, overlooking the beautiful valley & mountains whilst having a fresh cup of coffee (or bubbles & oysters if you like).

Thank you for always making our stay special, we can not wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.

We cannot wait for your forth visit to Grande Roche and we hope that it is every bit as magical as before.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rendsburg
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Why I say so? Because the combination of perfect service and high quality hotel was outstanding. From beginning to enter the property the service was excelent. Someone pick us up with umbrella, the check-in was perfomed while we have had tea by the fireplace.
The hotel is very nice and comfortable, it's a perfect hideaway!

And at least the hotel has one of the best restaurants in south africa: Bosman's.
Don't forget to make a reservation. You will enjoy it.

Next time to africa we are comming again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.We look forward to your next stay at the hotel and South Africa.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon. We were recommended this hotel by some friends and this was the beginning of our Cape Town experience as we did the safaris in Botswana first. The hotel was fantastic and looking back, we could have stayed here a few nights. Let me try to highlight why:

Service 11 out of 10

Our flight from JNB was late to Cape Town and instead of arriving at the hotel (with our rental car) at 7pm, we ended up taking a cab and arrived at the hotel around 130am. We had been up at 5am to start our on safari (then flew from Botswana) and were frustrated we didn't have a car (we didn't want to drive this late at night from the airport) but the staff member who greeted us in, told us he would take care of it all. Our bags were rushed to the room and the hotel staff said don't worry about checking in tonight (we had called ahead saying we were late) and that we could check in during the morning and told us they would see us when we woke up. He also said he will take care of the car rental and work with the am staff. We woke up to a perfect sunrise and were immediately seated for breakfast outside. All I could say was wow.... the view was amazing and the food was fantastic.

During breakfast the staff (new members) came by and gave us the car details and mentioned Avis would bring by the car in the morning. Great follow up and service! I was completely stressed out about the car but they hotel was extremely helpful and recognized this. After finishing breakfast we finally checked into the hotel and the received the car as Avis showed up.

We also asked for some recommendations on places to visit and the staff was fantastic. We used a wine guide they recommended which was top notch and definitely a great value for the money, and each winery they suggested we explore on our own was amazing.

One night we ate at the Bosmans and it was first class all the way. Great table, they put my wife and I in a quite corner and the meal was top notch. We were also invited to attend the dinner party the following night as there were local wineries coming to the hotel

Finally, the last night of our stay the room was decorated with roses and extra wine and snacks for us to enjoy.

This was one of our favorite hotels and once again the staff really went above and beyond to make us fell welcomed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.We are happy that we could take part in making you honeymoon a memorable experience.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 1 night at grande Roche hotel in Paarl. From the time we arrived we were pleasantly surprised. To begin with the staff were all so friendly and helpful. The buildings and grounds and views over the Paarl valley were all so lovely. Walking into our room we were greeted with a toasty warm comfortable room, tasteful and understated decor, big firm bed, lovely linen, Charlotte Rhys toiletries, complimentary wine, bottled water, biscuits, coffee and tea. The room was quiet and dark and had a great nights sleep.
We had dinner in the restaurant and the food and dining room were both lovely-crystal chandeliers, roaring fire and lovely staff.
For breakfast we sat on the trace overlooking the misty valley and had great coffee, local cheeses, freshly baked bread, farm butter and all the trimmings.

Overall I think it was a 5 star experience and real value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very friendly and professional staff. Beautiful Cape Dutch buildings in excellent condition with owls, squirrels and wagtails residing in the gardens. Bosman's Restaurant serves exquisite fine dining meals. We had the 3 and 4 course meals on 2 respective nights and both were excellent! The sommelier was very knowledgeable and service staff very friendly. The breakfast menu was very limited in variety and quite a let down after the dinners we had.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding breakfast.The Hotel is constantly bringing in the freshest ingredients and we take pride in offering guests our homemade pastries. We do try offer our guests a variety at breakfast including fresh west coast oysters.

It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A very cold and rainy weekend turned into an unforgettable experience at the Grande Roche Hotel. We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights during one of the coldest weekends of a Cape Town winter, but the excellent service, high quality and beauty of this hotel really made us feel all warm and fuzzy.

The room we stayed in overlooked the vineyards so we woke up with this beautiful view every morning. The under floor heating in the room really made us forget that we are in the middle of winter and we could comfortable walk around our room barefoot and with short sleeve shirts. The room has a spacious bedroom, bathroom with bath and shower and a lounge. They also provide limited complimentary wifi and a minibar.

Dinner and breakfast at Bosman's Restaurant was unbelievable. The food was delicious and the friendliness and service of the staff makes you feel at home.

Compliments to the management and staff of this beautiful hotel for giving guests a true 5-star experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnjaBoskenGM, General Manager at Grande Roche Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

My team and I are delighted to read your review of the Grande Roche Hotel.

We do hope that you visit again and experience the hotel in summer.
It is our passion to ensure that all guests depart the Winelands with such happy memories.

Kindest regards,

Anja Bosken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Roche Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Roche Hotel

Address: Plantasie Street, Paarl 7646, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Paarl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Paarl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Roche Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grande Roche, celebrated international hotel, famous for its exquisite location in the heart of the beautiful Cape Winelands as well as for its luxurious, cosmopolitan accommodation, award-winning cuisine and matchless service and hospitality. The immaculately restored Cape Dutch homestead at Grande Roche dates back to the 18th century, and offers guests a variety of sumptuous accommodation which include 28 luxury suites. The Vineyard Venue with an open-air amphitheatre sits on the upper slopes of the estates, in the midst of vineyards and plum orchards, with a backdrop of Paarl Rock. Whether it's an international conference, a board meeting, cutting-edge product launch or high-profile company summit, Grande Roche will take care of your needs... we know it is the little details that matter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grande Roche Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Roche Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.