We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to meet friends.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Swan - Restaurant & Wine Bar

The Black Swan - Restaurant & Wine Bar
109 Baron Van Reede, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
+(27)442720982
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Cuisines: African, Italian, Steakhouse, Café, Pizza & Pasta, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Lovely place to meet friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

By Charley, aged 9. (And mum, aged 44!)
Very obliging in accommodating our party as it changed from 3 to 6 just as we'd ordered! Fillet steaks were beautifully cooked and extremely tasty. Lovely sauce for the rack of ribs.Pleasant ambience - even outside in the middle of winter. (Patio heaters were a boon!) Good, discreet service.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WELL DONE!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

While on a well deserved holiday, my husband and I decided to take a little trip down the Garden Route with a stop over in Oudtshoorn. On our first night our Guesthouse kindly made us a booking for supper at a restaurant the receptionist called "...an absolute must for the best all round experience..." - we soon realized what she had meant by this comment when we arrived. Apart from super friendly and competant staff, the owners themselves were extremely attentive to our needs as well, there were roaring fireplaces that greated us and made sure that we soon forgot about the cold outside. The food was devine and did not lack anything when it came to value for money. We ended up staying for the entire weekend and eating almost every meal at this restaurant. Well done to the owners on the very well designed interior and fabulous atmosphere - you made us truly feel right at home. We will definately be back in the future.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This place has that something!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Great food, the best service and the very best atmosphere and company. I wish them blessings and longevity!!! A must.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Extremely friendly owner and staff rounded off an excellent meal. Definitely a must if you are in Oudtshoorn.
Stephan, Marise, Monét en Luah van der Merwe

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESwieg, Owner at The Black Swan - Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Stefan and Family

Thank you so very much for your review on Tripadvisor

It was such a pleasure having you, your family and Bella at our restaurant.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Regards

ETienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Extra special restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great atmosphere! Excellent food and not badly priced. Lovely roaring fires to warm you up on the cold winter evenings. Service was excellent - we were actually served by the bar lady, as a lot of the staff had called in sick that evening! She was great and very efficient and definitely an asset to the restaurant! The food arrived very fast and was piping hot. Although we were given steak knives, they really weren't necessary as the steaks were so tender and beautifully cooked to our liking. The pudding were very rich and actually could have been half the size and still been excellent! (Very generous proportions!). Well worth a visit and highly, highly recommended.(Our bookings were kindly made by our B & B Swartberger Lodge). Very good idea to book ahead, as it is becoming understandably, very popular.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESwieg, Owner at The Black Swan - Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you so very much for the great comment you have made on Tripadvisor about our Restaurant.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and hope to see you again in future.

Kind regards
The Black Swan
Oudtshoorn

P.S. If you book in future, be sure to ask for your special (Bar lady) Waitress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Swan - Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to The Black Swan - Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Swan - Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.