We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful country house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thorntree Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Thorntree Country House to your Saves list
The Thorntree Country House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Cango Caves Road | R328 (North), Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 69 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful country house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were part of Greg S's group. The house is in a lovely setting about 10k out of Oudtshoorn. The owners warmly welcomed our wet bedraggled group into their lovely property. Accommodation was in cottages, good quality furnishings and comfortable beds. Dinner and breakfast were arranged in their dining room, beautifully prepared and presented. Yes, our wet bike gear was dried for us and the owners recommendation to visit the nearby elephant park and feed them was one of the special memories of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    27
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
46
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wagga
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a very enjoyable stop over there on our African motorbike adventure. The staff were excellent in every way possible they dried our wet clothes for us, looked after our bikes and made sure that our rooms were comfortable for us. The owner went out of his way to make our stay memorable. He arranged our visit to the ostrich farm, the elephant park and recommended a restaurant in town for lunch.
We ate dinner and breakfast there and our meals were delicious.
The rooms were large cottages and the beds were comfortable.
Would I stay there again yes, yes, yes.

Room Tip: Make sure that you eat there as the food is delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We found this hotel to be very welcoming. Lovely food served by the very pleasant staff. We had bought a bottle of wine but no corkscrew and they were happy to open it for us with no corkage charged, so we sampled and shared with them.

The accommodation was lovely with good views over the field of sheep and wonderful sunsets over the mountains. They even washed the car for us without having to ask, what more could you ask?

Well worth the short drive out of town for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Rooms are beautiful and modern. Staff are friendly and the gardens are stunning.

Your car is washed in the morning for free.

Just a pleasant relaxing experience. The perfect place for couples or families. Both will feel welcome.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Good accommodation in beautiful grounds with two swimming pools that are also well maintained. The accommodation is a little tired and not a lot of public rooms so socialising was very limited. Louis, the owner, cooks the evening meals should you decide to book, and it is a fair way out of town, and he also hosts the evening. The food is good but not great, breakfast could do with a little updating, the cocktail was not always to our taste.
The staff are very welcoming and helpful, but at times we felt they could have benefited from a little more management, that said we enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: Thee ones that face the gardens have the nicer view but are the least private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape town
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

En route to the Cango Caves, ostrich farm, winery and Swartberg Pass - a good place to stay. beautiful gardens, well appointed rooms, food tasting. The service friendly, helpful and chatty without being too familiar. Will visit again when next in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Nice clean, comfortable accommodation in beautifully kept grounds in easy reach of the Cango Caves and Ostrich Farm. Louis is an engaging and helpful host. We chose to have dinner here and it was well cooked, presented and good value. Try the ostrich steaks! A suggestion would be to re consider the breakfast menu and perhaps revert to the style of a fruit and cereal buffet rather than the breakfast cocktail which was presented. My observation was that this did not find favour with most people, particularly children. Generally though, a very pleasant place for a stopover.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thorntree Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorntree Country House

Address: Cango Caves Road | R328 (North), Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Thorntree Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thorntree Country House is a luxury 4 star establishment offering exclusivity in natural peaceful surroundings. Situated on route to the Cango Caves, Cango Ostrich Show Farm and Swartberg Pass, this is the ideal base from which to explore the Little Karoo or just to enjoy life. Owner run and managed, ensuring quality service and personal attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Thorntree Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thorntree Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.