We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Thorntree Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Thorntree Country House to your Saves list
The Thorntree Country House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Cango Caves Road | R328 (North), Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 69 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A surprising find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

After driving Route 62 from Franschoek we arrived at Thorntree to find a green oasis.
We parked the car and as we opened the doors one of the staff came out to us and welcomed us in a wonderfully friendly way. Once inside the owner Louis joined us adding his welcome and setting the scene for a good stay.
Our room was spacious and well furnished, bathroom was large and modern with bath and shower and we had a small sitting area outside the room looking over the garden.
The grounds are beautifully kept spacious gardens with lawns, trellises, rose beds, shrubs and two swimming pools in separate areas.
Dinner was great fun - a 3 course meal with a limited selection of main dishes including local ostrich, but all well cooked and served. Wines were excellent value and a good selection including from the local area. We ate on both nights of our stay.
Breakfast was excellent and included a full English dish of Bacon, eggs etc.
Each morning when we got to our car we found it had been washed - what a pleasant surprise!
Louis and his staff were always there to make your stay as good as possible - they are a wonderful team.

Room Tip: Any room facing the garden will be quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    27
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
46
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the self-catering cottages of The Thorntree Country House and what a delightful treat. In the middle of a green oasis of breathtaking scenery and peace and quiet, was the perfect place to realign after 6 hours on the busy road. One could easily have thought that you were in Tuscany. Quaint, tasteful, quirky decor and all the modern luxuries we were accustomed to. And to top it all off, a meal fit for a Queen.Never before has Ostrich fillet tasted so delicious! And thanks to the helpful staff and hospitable owner Louis, we felt right at home and rather sad to leave to our next accomodation! Will definitely be back!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent the day in Oudtshoorn visiting the Cango Caves and Ostrich Ranch. What a great surprise when we arrive at the Thorntree Country House. The owners are very hospitable. The grounds are amazing with lots of plants and flowers. The guest houses are well appointed and very comfortable. The food was excellent and we ate ostrich. What a charming and enchanting place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights during our trip along the Garden Route. It's a small family owned lodge 12km N of Oudtshoorn, conveniently close to the Kango caves and ostrich farms. The rooms are adequate rather than luxurious, set in a pleasant garden round a nice swimming pool - a welcome oasis after a hot and dusty journey.

The owner Louis is charming and helpful and the general feel of the place is friendly and welcoming. The food isn't haute cuisine but it's good solid value for money, particularly if you're hungry (the portions are huge) or you like pancakes (there seems to be an obsession with them). It's a small thing, but the background music in the main lodge really got on our nerves - big band swing etc seemed so out of place. Come on Louis - how about some African music?

Overall this is a good value stopover with some rough edges, but if you're going to the Oudtshoorn area it's well worth considering.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Thorntree isn't five star luxury, nor does it claim to be. It is a small family run place to stay which has everything you need at a good price. If I'm honest, I wished there had been a bathtub but it wasn't the end of the world for me and I definitely would return a) because the settings and the gardens are so beautiful b) because the location is great for the ostrich farm and the caves and c) because Louis cooked some of the best food I ate over there at a great price. It wasn't busy but we still met people who we got on well with and my top tip would be: even if you stay there only one night, do not miss breakfast - the yogurt, granola and fruit combination was the best I've ever had. Enjoy. x

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We only stayed 1 night but the setting is lovely and the owner Louis and his team are very friendly and welcoming. The food that we had was very good and very reasonably priced. Our room was very nice with lots of space, but yes some bits were in need of a bit of a make over and maybe the channels on the TV were limited but I don't go on holiday to watch TV, I can do that at home. I go on holiday to enjoy good food, meet different people and experience different cultures. The Thorntree lived up to my expectations.

Room Tip: All rooms are self contained chalet style - ask for one looking out onto the lovely gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We had a disappointing stay here. Although the setting and general layout is good, these are let down by the poor standard of the rooms' fitments and the indifferent food.

On arrival at our room it felt drab and unloved. All the furniture, carpets and fitments seemed about 20 years' old. The TV had maybe three channels maximum. Plenty of food is provided at breakfast and dinner, but the choice is very limited and the quality well below what we ate elsewhere.

It was nice to have the car washed and some laundry done. We were welcomed by Louis and had the odd wave and 'everything ok?', but that seemed to be as far as his management went. The staff ran the place as if to suit them. For example, in summer, why not offer meals outside? The fact that the same musak CD was played each day summed it up. It was nobody's job to change it or even think about it. The boys who cut the grass round the pool forgot to clean the cuttings out of the pool until a guest started to do so with the pool net.

We met other people who stayed there elsewhere on our trip who had the same reactions.

Whilst it is not as expensive as most other places where we stayed, that does not excuse the generally low standards. Quite a few aspects can be changed without serious investment.

Would not recommend to anyone until it has been refurbished.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Thorntree Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thorntree Country House

Address: Cango Caves Road | R328 (North), Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Thorntree Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thorntree Country House is a luxury 4 star establishment offering exclusivity in natural peaceful surroundings. Situated on route to the Cango Caves, Cango Ostrich Show Farm and Swartberg Pass, this is the ideal base from which to explore the Little Karoo or just to enjoy life. Owner run and managed, ensuring quality service and personal attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Thorntree Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Thorntree Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.