We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Queens Hotel to your Saves list
Queens Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Baron Van Rheede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625 , South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
turkish delights not here
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

we stayed only one night at this lovely hotel on our tour of south africa every was tip top a big group of us stayed for a evening meal which the staff were brill and also made time to joke with us as with a large party the jokes were going back wards and forwards as they served us brill people all in all one night was not enough [its called the queens as our queen stayed there]

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    55
    35
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
66
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uniondale, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We use this hotel because it is a central place. It is faded and old fashoined and in need of a make over, especially the front desk. The worst experience is that should you complain , the front desk clerk says "why stay here again". Indeed, the front desk was the most arrogant and unhelpful indidividual encounterd. The hotel serves a good local-character buffet breakfast with helpful attendants. There is a nice cafe next door, by the same hotel. However the main restaurant with so-called south african dishes is need of a menu make-over.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west england
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

No doubt this was once a top quality place for those times. Now it’s clearly faded. It was t he worst place we stayed during our three weeks in South Africa. Rooms are small but with all the basics, unfortunately including uncomfortably soft beds.

Service at breakfast was totally useless. They advertise service starts at 7 so we arrived bang-on for opening (as we were on a tour that was leaving at 8). Not a single table unoccupied. Found one in the courtyard and asked for it to be set. Ignored. Went round the dining room “stealing” items from other tables. Managed to find cups and one set of cutlery, which we shared between the two of us.. Asked for coffee. Ignored. Found a jug in the kitchen and took that. Asked for sugar. Ignored. Food selection was poor – certainly the worst on this trip.

Wouldnt recommend this place at all. But if you do stay, try Kalinka for dinner (turn left out of the hotel and about a 15 minute walk) - best meal of our trip.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Third hotel on our Travelsphere tour.
Located on the main street with some traffic noise.
Very good clean and comfortable room.
Excellent cooked breakfast eaten in the small courtyard.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

As other reviews we found the rooms very small. We were travelling with our 2 small daughters and the staff insisted that there were no adjoining rooms, so we had to split up with my husband in one room with one daughter and I in the other with our 2nd daughter. They also put us in different corridors - no explanation as to why, and staff fairly uninterested in helping.

This hotel has several pictures up of their heyday, and I'm not sure they have moved on.

It was surface clean, but when I moved the bathmat off the bath onto the floor, there was mould on the underside. Yuk.

Outshoorn is lacking in a good alternative from what we saw, but it wouldn't take much to outdo this hotel.

Breakfast was OK. Some good local selections which we hadn't seen at other hotels. Breakfast staff were good and very helpful.

This hotel is an OK selection, but reception staff and bathrooms need work.

The Outshoorn location was a neccesity for us with the caves and the Cango wildlife park - both a must do if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed overnight at the hotel.
The check in was smooth .The hotel is nicely located near a number of restaurants
It has a nice ambience -a lovely lounge which guests can use.
The breakfast was really good -live hot food counter where we could order our eggs. A lovely choice of hot and cold breakfast options.
However the rooms were small but since we were there for one night it was ok

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

This hotel is in a good location although we weren't overly thrilled with Oudtshoorn itself. It's a very big bustling town but not the kind you particularly want to visit. However, it's worth staying here for the proximity to the Cango Wildlife Park which is great. Back to the hotel though - Lovely big impressive colonial reception area, but the rooms are very small. The bathroom is basic but had a good powerful shower. Breakfast was good but the service wasn't great on our second morning. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was excellent. Overall, it was ok.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 5 Baron Van Rheede Street, Oudtshoorn 6625 , South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Hotel dating back to 1880 is a colonial masterpiece built with sand stone and is the third oldest hotel in South Africa ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oudtshoorn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.