We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swartberg Country Manor

Save Saved
You added Swartberg Country Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swartberg Country Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Farm Voorbedacht Matjiesrivier, Oudtshoorn, Western Cape, 6625 | Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn 01312, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Oudtshoorn
Alkmaar, Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2007

On a roadtrip from Stellenbosch to Graaff Reinet, Oudtshoorn is practically halfway. We thus decided to stay only one night at the Swartberg Country House and Manor. Looking back at just this fact we wished we would have stayed longer. The location of the hotel is just breathtaking. Attractions in the area are of course oudtshoorn and the cango caves and more (if you are into driving) the fantastic drive over the Swartberg pass and the return drive through the Meiringspoort. (this last route is the most exhilarating drive I have ever done, where not the height (just 1600 m) of the pass, but the scenery and the (poor) quality of the road are the main draws)

The manor itself is big enough for the basic facilities and small enough to be very personal. Our room was located in the historic building and was very cosy and above all comfortable. In one of the previous reviews is written that the manor should get some sort of heating. Even though that we didn't need heating at all, they seem to have tackled that problem since we did have a small electric radiator in the room as well.

Since the manor is located some 40 km outside Oudtshoorn, we found it not an option to eat out and thus had dinner at the manor. They present one menu for all the guests and we can qualify the quality of the food as okay... but maybe we just had the wrong ostrich (kind of tough meat, but very tasty).

Speaking of ostrich... they breed them at the manor as well. And where the wind came from the wrong direction outside (not in our room) there was some country odours to enjoy.. thus calling it the country house and manure. But all in all a lovely find where we will return.

  • Liked — The stunning location and atmosphere
  • Disliked — The cold pool.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
24
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for a nite, as part of our drive from Cape Town to PE in June 07.

The location of this guesthouse is breathtaking, with the Swartberg mountains all around, and it feels very remote, a real African experience, and very cheap.

The staff were pleasant, especially Rudy, who gave some great advice on where to travel to locally. The rooms were OK, but without a TV. We felt it would be absolutely lovely in the height of summer, but it was very cold when we arrived at 6 pm, and there was no heating on in the house or our room. There was a small radiator in our room, but it took several hours to warm up.

We were served a lovely dinner in the dining room, beside a lovely log fire, that would have been delightful if it had been lit!, and the breakfast the next morning was perfect to send us on our way.

My advice would be that this property would be perfect in the summer, if you are travelling along Route 62 (which is amazing), it is very close to the Cango Caves, De Heil, and the Swartberg Pass (breathtaking!!), but they should have heating on in the winter.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The cold!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2007

This country manor locates in the "middle of nowhere", but they have just fantastic views and opportunities for hiking and other outdoor activities.
The house itself is not very big but at least our room was just ok, clean and comfortable.
The best thing is the host Rudy, who was very helpful and offered opportunity to star gazing (ans knew a lot!). We saw e.g. Saturnus and Southern Cross.
This manor is quite far from Oudtshoorn, but they offer 3 course dinner and it was something like 150ZAR per person. Because Oudshoorn is Ostirch capital, they of course offered ostirch as a main course.
Food was very good overall and we can recommend this place for 1-2 ight stay. Near by the hotel are Swartberg mountains and also Cango Caves and some Ostirch show farms, Crodcodile farm and little "zoo".

  • Liked — Cosy feeling
  • Disliked — quite far from the city
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2007

Stayed here for 1 night in February 2007 during tour of Cape.

A lovely property in a stunning location, well off the beaten track. Fantastic scenery all around.

The bedroom was very big, with a very impressive bathroom.

If you like star gazing, this is the right place for you as they have a big telescope which guests can have a look through.

Nice little swimming pool area.

Staff very friendly.

I only wish the stay could have been longer!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2007

we were a little apprehensive -since there were no reviiews.
however we were pleasantly surprised.

The manor is located quite a way out of town-quite close to the swartberg pass and not far from the cango caves.

There are fantastic views of the mountains.

The room was lovely ,with a really great bathroom.
We had dinner - 3 courses with wine -which was of a high standard-and was great value.

all in all a great stay and we can highly recommend the manor .

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swartberg Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swartberg Country Manor

Address: Farm Voorbedacht Matjiesrivier, Oudtshoorn, Western Cape, 6625 | Cango Valley, Oudtshoorn 01312, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swartberg Country Manor 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swartberg Country Manor is nestled on the farm "Voorbedacht" situated in the Cango Valley at the foot of the world-renowned Swartberg Pass. The picturesque panoramic view of the Swartberg Mountains will bring comfort to anyone that wants to "get away from it all" and simply soak up the peace of its tranquil surroundings.The farm was purchased in 2003 and welcomed its first guests in February 2005. The extraordinary views of the Swartberg Mountain from the veranda of the original farmhouse compelled us to create a venue where more people could share in the tranquillity and serenity of this beautiful valley."Voorbedacht" farm is a working farm, which offers our guests the unique opportunity to explore and experience the true essence of subsistence farming in the Little Karoo. Among the various agricultural products farmed, we also farm livestock such as, cattle, sheep and ostriches. Daily walks on the farm allow guests to experience the peace and serenity of this beautiful valley, while for the more "wild at heart"; mountain bikes are available to explore the more rugged terrain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Swartberg Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swartberg Country Manor Oudtshoorn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swartberg Country Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.