We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky but great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Opstal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Opstal
Save
You added De Opstal to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rt 62, Oudtshoorn, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 69 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quirky but great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed on 20 December. We thought we had booked two rooms (one for my wife and I and one for our boys) but ended up with a massive suite. It was all very quiet. Rustic but clean. The staff really made an effort the next day with rose petals spread over the breakfast table.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    53
    23
    18
    2
See reviews for
26
116
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Tucked away off the main motorway, a small number of cottage-like rooms, some of which have amazing views of the gardens. Breakfast is good (though it was better in other places). Service is friendly.

Room Tip: Room 13 - has an amazing view and a small, cozy reading room and a sit out area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a beautiful lodge with large pretty gardens and spacious rooms. This place is 10 min drive away from town. It is pretty remote. The night that we checked in, we did not see any guests around. The place looked forlorn and deserted. It gets pretty eerie especially after the front office closed. The restaurant was closed on the day of our stay so don't count on the resturant and be prepared to drive into 10 min into town for your meals. The service staff is friendly and accommodating. The place is clean and well maintained.

Room Tip: Ask whether the rooms are near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A very unique place to stay, very welcoming, very quirky, great food, Maurice and frank were very good hosts. Loved every minute, didn't want to move on. The room was very clean, large verandah. Quaint and old fashioned but with a wonderful charm to it. The gardens were immaculate.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. The lodges were beautifully decorated and the gardens were lovely presented. Although the lodge has a restaurant it was closed on our first night there so the staff made a recommendation and reservation for us at Jemimas - initially we were a little annoyed since we'd been hoping not to have to travel back into Oudtschoorn (about 14km away) but the food in the in Jemima's was beautiful, very large portions for starters and brilliantly cooked game steaks for main. The second night we ate at De Opstal and the food was ok. There was a large coach party which we had been warned about and chosen to eat before them. The food was buffet style and was ostrich neck stew - not something I would recommend as it is mainly bones with very little meat. However the homemade bread was delicious and the staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night just to break up the very long drive from Cape Town over to Plettenburg Bay. It was a bit odd as we were a couple on our honeymoon and everyone else was in a massive tour group. The staff were friendly and helpful, and our cabin was cosy, with our own log fire, which we really enjoyed making and watching in the evening. However there was no wifi in the room, the TV didn't have reception, and the food in the restaurant was just ok rather than good. When we checked out the next day we were also suprised at how expensive the dinner was. Given that there are not many other hotels around, this is a good place to stop over, but don't get your hopes up to high. We stayed in 5 places in South Africa on our honeymoon and all the others were wonderful. This one sticks out as below par.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Drove to De Opstal from Cape Town with my wife at the start of a Graden Route tour, so needed somewhere to relax and refresh. The lodge did not disappoint. Our room was large, well-appointed, quiet. The reception from Illona and the other staff was just right. The buffet breakfast was as good as anywhere. Evening meals had to be pre-ordered but were delicious. As a base for visits to the Cango Caves, Cango wildlife park (more of a zoo really) and a local waterfall, the lodge was perfect. The gardens are an attractive contrast to the surrounding working farms, even with a pair of grumpy ostriches on site. Most enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Opstal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Opstal

Address: Rt 62, Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Opstal 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
De Opstal Hotel Oudtshoorn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Opstal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.