We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and Setting With Attention to Detail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Opstal

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Opstal
Save
You added De Opstal to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rt 62, Oudtshoorn, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 69 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Service and Setting With Attention to Detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Under very difficult circumstances (all four in our party suffering from an aggressive intestinal virus), this place was a refuge. The setting and facilities helped immeasurably to "ease our pain" and every member of the staff, with whom we had contact, turned him/herself inside out to provide the most attentive assistance -- special meals, room service at odd hours, laundering our clothes and bed linens, pharmacy visits to town (eight miles away). Our greatest disappointment was that we were not in full health to enjoy this lovely place and these most friendly people. If we found any deficit, it might be the food in the restaurant, which seemed below the standards set by all else (though this could possibly be attributed to our rather depressed appetites).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    53
    22
    18
    2
See reviews for
26
116
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon in Sept 2011. On arrival we were escorted to our room called "True Love" :) Loved our room. Its not modern like other b&b but it was so beautifully quirky and cosy with a log fire ready to light. The restaurant wasn't open on our 1st night but we were driven to and from a restaurant in town free of charge. There was a security guard on site over night so we felt very safe.

On our 1st morning the owner insisted on doing all our laundry for us free of charge. This was an absolutely lovely gesture as we had gathered quite a bit of laundry by this stage. It was returned to us that evening ironed and folded.

The owner helped organise a bike trip for us on our 1st day.

Breakfast and Dinner were both great in the restaurant and we regret not being a little more brave and trying the ostrich

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capetown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed there with a group of 28 clients from Sweden.
We were welcomed like old friends and shown the facilities while our bags were delivered to our rooms!
The rooms are beautifully furnished with antique furniture. All of the rooms have AC.
The staff are extremely helpfull and drinks are served at the pool!

It is close to town but you are out in the country and amongst friends.
It is owner run and no request is too much.

They have a restaurant and the food was fantastic.

We were all very happy and I can not wait to go back!

Room Tip: All the rooms are just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We are a family group and we stayed at De Opstal for one night on 6th March 2012. All five of us wished that we were able to stay for longer because the location, the accommodation (the Farmhouse) and the service from the staff on site were all marvellous. I am somewhat baffled by the negative reviews on this website. Our experience was nothing if not positive. This is a wonderfully unusual place to stay. It is full of interest, in fact it is the exact opposite of the bland, soulless accommodation that many of us experience when staying in chain hotels on business trips. If you want a fascinating place to stay then choose De Opstal.

Apart from the location and accommodation, we found that the owners and staff were amongst the most friendly and helpful you could ever hope for. They were quite clearly dedicated to ensuring that our every need was met. When they discovered it was my birthday, they even insisted on sending a rather classy bottle of wine round to our room.

We have no hesitation in recommending De Opstal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterbrough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Beautiful location is all that can be said. Service dreadful. Told to collect tea bag and make tea in your room. Noise from neighbours in next room unexceptable, this was one of their de luxe rooms too. BBQ meal awful, overcooked, no salad. Breakfast fruit was rock hard. There was no management in the afternoons of what could have been one of our happiest hotels in S.Africa, a gorgeous pool and delightful gardens. Also no still bottled water available
Here's the response to my letter, half of which is rubbish.

1 . Regarding the making of the tea. The husband came to have a look in
the restaurant and saw that there is earl grey tea in the restaurant
but
not in the room. Frank and the chef offered to make the tea
and take it to where they will be seated and the husband said not to
worry, he only wants the tea bags and will make it himself. The chef
even offered some fresh milk as well. In the 20 years that De Opstal
has been open, no one has advised guests to make drinks or tea for
themselves. Where here to offer a service.

2. We did have sparkling water, but no still as the company which we
order water at had some delays and the day of the guests departure
the had delivered. There is always water as we know overseas guests
drink alot of water.

3. Some guests prefer to have ice with red wine and some not. If you
were not happy with the red wine that was served, you should of sent it
back
and asked for new glass or bottle of wine. Every person likes there
wine differently.

4. BBQ menu was given upfront so guests new exactly what is on the
menu, the rest of the guests did not complain at all.

5. Mrs. Helen was extremely nosey in every aspect. The night of the BBQ
my college Marius advised that she was explaining to the guests what
was on the menu, which I found that it is his job to do, not hers.
He also advised her to that this is his job you advise guests what will
be
on the menu for the evening.
I also find that it has nothing to do with other guests who is in the
office and who is not. Our staff knows what to do and if they not in
the office they are either helping other guests that have asked for
assistance.Also as I was checking rooms and guests arrived early, Mrs.
Helen was with the guests that were checking in and advised that she
was doing my job. Mrs. Helen told me herself that she is nosey
person. I find that guests that are already checked in has
nothing to do with other guests and especially not to watch when
other guests arrive. If the guests that arrived were unhappy and no
one was at reception ect. why were the rating of De Opstal the
following. Please see attached.

6. The fruit that was "hard" and "unripe" - not one of the other guests
complained and if the fruit was not right , why eat the fruit and then
complain. Why not let the staff know when you have started eating
the fruit. The owner went to taste it himself and there was nothing
wrong with the fruit.

7. Towels are washed late evenings and replaced just after breakfast in the
mornings.

8. As I advised that Room 11 's women had been ill, there was nothing
wrong with the "pluming". Surely the lady just to keep on
flushing the toilet after being sick. I am sure we can not be held
responsible for this either.

To De Opstal it seemed as you wanted to do our jobs for us, you are more
than welcome to buy De Opstal and then do our jobs.

Kind Regards
Albertus de Bod

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We arrived at De Opstal on a blistering hot day (40C) and when the electricity had been off all day - not the best start. We were taken on a pretty long treck to our room, which was nice, then had to walk all the way back to reception to book in and collect our luggage then treck all the way back to the room again.
We sat by the pool in the shade and ordered a drink - some 15 minutes later it arrived and was not what we asked for. We also asked for pool towels which didn't arrive after 45 minutes. Maybe it was due to the heat!
We had a table booked for dinner which was largely a buffet which was a miracle for the kitchen with no electricity. The food was OK but not inspiring and the breakfast fell in to the same category.
Our laundry requirements were handled superbly - in by 9.00am and back ironed by 7.00pm.
In our room there was no hair dryer and although requested at reception it didn't turn up. Our friends had a gaping hole in their bed linen - replaced yes but it shouldn't have been put on the bed in the first place.
There are no telephones in the rooms - specifically at the behest of the owners. Quite what you would do in an emergency if you were on your own in the room defeats us. To get a porter to trail your luggage back to the car park - you simply have to look around for one or walk to reception, put in your request then trail back again to your room - this is in 2012!
The staff were however helpful in recommending and booking a restaurant in Oudtshoorn (Jemimas) which was excellent.

Room Tip: We had a Superior room which had lovely views and was located on a quite corner of the site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Málaga, España
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We have spent 2 nights at De OPstal , during our honeymoon in 2007. The room was very big, with a huge fireplace built in in the middle of a wall. Great atmosphere, with wooden floor, fireplace, and lot of attention to every detail. We had a piano under the porch and a lovely view over the massive gardens. At nighttime it's a great treat to have dinner in the warm restaurant of the Hotel, with a huge pot of boling soups kept on the fire and lovely ostrich meat. Fantastic hotel ina fantastic place, pretty isolated. Lovely and spectacular views of starry skies at night time

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Opstal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Opstal

Address: Rt 62, Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Opstal 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
De Opstal Hotel Oudtshoorn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Opstal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.