We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and calm Lodge in the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hlangana Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hlangana Lodge to your Saves list
Hlangana Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 North Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice and calm Lodge in the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We arrive in the afternoon and was meet by a glas of champagne when checking in. The rooms are very good and the garden is big with a nice big pool. The whole lodge is very nice which a nice and calm atmosphere. The service is outstanding, all staff was extremely nice and friendly.
We got help with booking of restaurants and visit to the caves, it worked very well.
I strongly recommend this place when staying in Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    70
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
125
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hlangana over the New Year period and what a chilled out, tranquil haven it was for two ultra busy city girls. Rooms were tidy and spacious but have a homely country feel. The Bathroom was spacious and clean and had the biggest spa bath ever! The grounds and swimming pool are impeccably well-kempt. Breakfast to die for and lets not forget the complimentary car wash which was welcomed after the dusty dirt trail en route to Rust-en-vrede waterfall. Staff were super friendly, attentive and willing to go the extra mile. All the restaurants were closed on New Years day and Angie managed to concoct a delicious sandwich and hot chocolate spread for us at 10pm. We were treated like royalty and will most definitely highly recommend it to people looking to recharge and relax.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BV171, Front Office Manager at Hlangana Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Fatima,

What a wonderful surprise to see your comment on Tripadvisor.

It was my pleasure having such lovely guests as yourselves to enjoy our "plaaslewe" and beautiful region.

We are looking forward to your next visit. Anytime you need a break from your busy lifestyle, Hlangana awaits you!

All the best and friendly regards,

Angie

Hlangana Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at hlangana for a night while on our garden route drive. The place oudtshoorn does not really have much to offer besides the ostrich farms and hence a good hotel makes a lot of difference. Angie, the greeter at the lodge is superb. She is cheerful, sweet and extremely nice. We were greeted with a welcome drink and shown the way to the room. Room are decent size and the bathrooms are spectacular. All the rooms are next to the garden and pool, which are very well maintained. Morning breakfast was nice and just right.. I actually wish our stay was a bit longer. Do check with the lodge on good restaurants in town and they are absolutely correct and bang on. (Read another review of a restaurent recommended by Angie)...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BV171, Front Office Manager at Hlangana Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Mr & Mrs Saketbanka,

Thank you for the warm and lovely wishes. We really appreciate your gesture and kind words.

Please accept heartfelt thanks from myself and our establishment, it is always wonderful to hear that guests appreciate what we offer.

We really have the 3 best restaurants in town within walking distance from Hlangana Lodge and its great to hear that you enjoyed everything!

Kind Regards,

Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

i agree with most of the previous reviews. The rooms are spacious and neat, would benefit from an update, especially the pillows. Rooms overlook the swimming pool, free wifi. Breakfast is plentiful and a good standard. If you are in Oudshoorn this hotel should be considered.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BV171, Owner at Hlangana Lodge, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your review, and thank you for staying with us!

We have reviewed your comment regarding the pillows an you are correct, some rooms need pillow replacements, we have placed a big order for fluffy new pillows and soon all rooms will be tip top again.

It is a continues effort to keep to the highest standards of accommodation, without your comments it wouldn't be possible, so thank you!

We are also glad to say that we will be equipping all our rooms with LCD flat screen TV's this year!

Kind regards from the Hlangana Lodge team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in Hlangana for a night, had a comfortable experience. Good rooms, spacious bathrooms, very good hospitality. The property itself is well maintained, and has a soft and quiet feel. As for the addons - (1) breakfast was well laid out, and (2) we did have wifi. While I would say the rooms can do with a little re-modelling, they still make for a pleasant stay. Bottomline - I would happily visit Hlangana again, but also, would not mind checking out other places.

Room Tip: We stayed in 223 - overlooking the garden. Would recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Writtle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Lovely accommodation but due to our short stay and the fact it was winter we could not make the most of the facilities. Summer would be great. TV channels were limited which in winter is a factor to the guest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed two nights in Hlangana lodge on our trip garden route. Rooms were organised in half a cirkel around the swimming pool and the lovely garden with a lot if beautiful roses. Rooms are spacious and clean. Bathroom was provided with a shower. Although the rooms are nice, you have the feeling that the moment is there for some decoration refreshment. All rooms have a small terrace. Breakfast is served in the veranda with the possibility of having breakfast outside. Choice is very large. The frsh baken bread and spice cake are recommended to try!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hlangana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hlangana Lodge

Address: 51 North Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hlangana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the finest small luxury guesthouses in South Africa, and the best choice for your stay in Oudtshoorn. Hlangana Lodge offers a pleasant relaxing atmosphere while guests are treated to the highest standard of luxury and service. The lodge is perfectly situated to serve as a haven from where one can explore Oudtshoorn and the surrounding countryside. AA awards finalist as best luxury lodge in South Africa 2010. Golden award for tourism, value for money, Madrid Spain 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hlangana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hlangana Hotel Oudtshoorn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hlangana Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.