We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour not as advertised - Wate of Money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cango Ostrich and Butterfly farm

Cango Ostrich and Butterfly farm
P.O.Box 1418, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
27 (0)44 272 4623
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 15 Activities in Oudtshoorn
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Farms, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cango Ostrich Show Farm offers the ultimate Ostrich experience. Exciting Guided tours daily from 9-5. The farm boasts a fantastic curio shop, wine house, coffee shop and restaurant for booked groups. Situated 14 km outside Oudtshoorn on the road to the Cango Caves.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tour not as advertised - Wate of Money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Tour Is rushed, and was told Tour included feeding / Sitting / Taking Pics with ostrich, but During Tour the Guide said there is no time and that one person per family / Group may do certain things, yet we all paid full price,

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    52
    22
    2
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A fun way to learn about ostriches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I knew very little about ostriches before this, but learnt a huge amount during the visit.
The guide was excellent, telling us in detail about the birds and answering any questions we had.
Quite an interactive tour, feeding one from your hand, having your neck rubbed, or if you are light or brave enough actually riding one!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice and entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ranger is a unbelievable guide ! We found the range very well organised and worth the visit. The history of the ostrich industry is very nice explained and forms part of this region.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ride an ostrich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a very entertaining way to spend a few hours in Oudtshoorn. We had ostrich giving us cuddles, neck massages and I even rode one, so funny!!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ostrich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

WOW!!! what an exciting day. Again, our tour guide was amazing and so friendly. We got to touch the ostrich's, feed them, have them give us a "neck massage" - you stand with your back to them with a bowl of pellets, and then they eat around your neck from behind, you get to ride them if you don't weigh too much etc etc

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cango Ostrich and Butterfly farm also viewed

 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Cango Ostrich and Butterfly farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cango Ostrich and Butterfly farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.