We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Stunning Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rosenhof Country House

Save Saved
You added Rosenhof Country House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rosenhof Country House
5.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   264 Baron van Reede Street | corner of North Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 64 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Most Stunning Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Words cannot do justice to this very beautiful Country House. Gracious splendour - beautiful rooms. Fabulous food - the best of our trip. Came back to our room after dinner and found hotwater bottles in our beds! The rooms are beautifully appointed. The weather was not good, but the welcome, the cosiness of the rooms, the outstanding service and food, made for an unforgettable stay. We were sorry to leave this very comfortable place. Next time we will spend longer just because it is such a lovely place to stay. No one could ever be sorry for staying here. One wants to linger as long as possible.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    23
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
65
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Well it was certainly quiet as we were the only people staying there. We had booked one of the two deluxe suites and the standard of the accommodation is very good indeed. You can eat dinner there but we went into town each night as we did not want to be on our own (dining is residents only, which I think is a mistake). We had a lovely lunch and the breakfasts were also excellent - I don't suppose the kippers were fresh but they were lovely! Staff are uniformly good - we very much enjoyed our return visit to Rosenhof

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Wonderful countryhouse, nice breakfast area in rosegarden and very romantic cottages around a rosegarden.
Nevertheless it was a disappointing experience to have a tasteless dinner and next morning a poor breakfast buffet. No croissants, no fruit, no bread, tea and coffee arrived after half an hour.
Beautiful pool area but no clean towels availeble, dirty matress covers.
And remember: Spa is not availeble on monday!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

What a beautiful place this is. It is quite expensive but for a luxury weekend or a special treat, I do not think it could be beaten.
We were lucky enough to be given a suite with its own pool. Luxury, luxury luxury.
The only downside was the breakfast. It was good but not the best we had on our trip.
Orange juice a bit watery, eggs overdone.As there were very few guests, it seemed a shame that we had to make any critism.
Never the less, the staff were lovely and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We felt very welcome and special whilst staying there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

We had a beautiful suite overlooking the garden area, throughout our trip, this has to be the biggest room we stayed in. On site they have a gym, pool, restaurant, Spa Room, Sauna and Jacuzzi room. The place is well looked after. The pool is a decent size, unlike some palces I stayed and found them very small pools. I also had a spa treatment was very good, she was lovely. The staff were very friendly and most helpful. Breakfast was amazing and the choice was gr8. We also had a set meal there one evening, it was great and definately value for money. Really relaxing time there and would recommend others to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed in the Rosenhof Country House as part of our tour along the garden route for our honeymoon. The guest house is best described as an oasis with beautiful gardens and nice rooms. The staff were extremely friendly, the dinner was very nice and breakfast was great. As we were on honeymoon they kindly provided us with a bottle of south african sparkling wine. A nice thought. We went in May 2010 and it was very quiet, we were the only ones staying!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

This hotel is a real gem! The luxurious bedrooms overlook a lawned central area with a fountain and everything is in immaculate condition. The hotel staff are eager to make your stay as enjoyable as possible - good old-fashioned service!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosenhof Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosenhof Country House

Address: 264 Baron van Reede Street | corner of North Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosenhof Country House 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rosenhof Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosenhof Country House Hotel Oudtshoorn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosenhof Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.