We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid time had by all.....magical in fact!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Moments in Oudtshoorn

Magic Moments in Oudtshoorn
261 Jan van Riebeeck Ave, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
076 501 8685
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An unforgettable evening of live music and traditional South African food in the intimate setting of the home of the performers.
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Splendid time had by all.....magical in fact!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stumbled across this evening when chatting to some fellow hotel guests, and thank goodness we did! A totally unique experience; Barry welcomed us into his home, and with Sissy and Joey, proceeded to entertain us from 7pm until whenever! What a fabulous time, what fantastic singers and what a superb musician. I'm partial to a glass or two of wine and their hospitality did not disappoint! Such a good and informative night we had, that Joey kindly took us on a township tour the following morning....if you get the opportunity to do this go. A real eye opener. We were on our honeymoon in South Africa and feel privileged to have shared a part of it here. We're meeting back up with Barry and Sissy back in England in July!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedgefield, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't miss this if in Oudtshoorn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Highly recommended if you are in Oudtshoorn. Its a really different evening of music and food in the home of the performers. We went as part of the Arts festival and booked through computicket. What a suprise! Intimate and homely as well as the classy music and good food provided by friendly hospitable people. Such a treat. Go if you can - Magical indeed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stuff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a lovely evening with great singers and good food in a home. Fabulous novel idea. Its an evening we can recommend completely. Sissy and Joey have great voices and personalities and are just waiting to be discovered by the world at large. The keyboard played by Barry sounds like an orchestra. They do jazz gospel pop and original music upfront and personal. There were only 6 guests - my wife was in tears after just the second song. Sissy and Joey both come from disadvantaged backgrounds and are on a journey to somewhere better helped by Barry. Its expensive at R250 for South Africans but the food drink (we forgot to BYO) and a CD are included. Good luck guys! Go have a great night and support these delightful people.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“More than a moment...a magic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I went there with my boyfriend - we are a young couple - and after having done the shark diving, the zip line in Tzitzikamma, the sunset trip in Knysna, the savari and river safari in Addo, the Cango caves..."Magic Moments" evening turned out to be the most exciting experience.
Great hospitality, delicious food, touching live music and the opportunity of meeting 3 people who made music their life engine. We also decided to stay there for the night, taking the B&B solution, and the day after we had a full English breakfast and the opportunity to know more about them and South Africa. If you are in Oudtshoorn this is an event not to be missed!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Unique and wonderfully different - a must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I went to the KKNK Arts festival and booked through computicket and didn't know what to expect. There were only seven of us as guests - they take12 max. The weather was poor so we were indoors. It didn't matter. When Sissy started singing a couple of metres away from us the atmosphere was indeed magical. Jaws dropped. Sissy and Joey were gospel singers moldered by Barry on keyboard into singing Jazz and Popular music. Joey cooked - and I've had many a poitjiekos - a really delicious one. We ate from a tray on our knees and had choc ice cream lollies for desert. All their guests receive a CD with the songs from the show. Afterwards we sat chatting for ages. Joey still lives in a shack in the township. We left as friends and will definitely be back next year. A unique experience with excellent South African food and great music performed by lovely people. It really is a must do.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Moments in Oudtshoorn also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Magic Moments in Oudtshoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Moments in Oudtshoorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.