We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Helpful Owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge 96

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lodge 96 to your Saves list
Lodge 96
96 Langenhoven Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Extremely Helpful Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Really enjoyed my time here at lodge 96. Matt and Rosa went out of there way to accommodate me and my daughter while we were in Oudtshoorn. The accommodation was clean and secure. We were given a long list of things to do in the area and further on our journey. Our two days here were filled with fun things to do. We didn't even mind getting up before the sun to go experience meerkat. Will definitely recommended this place as we travel up the coast. Thanks again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The owners do everything personally and will go out of their way to assist. They really sell outshoorn and fill your stay with great activities and discounts!
Great place.
Matt, if you ever need a break - call me to relieve you for a few days :)

Room Tip: All rooms are good - our room was hot but SA was experiencing a heat wave so there was little to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa Maria L, Manager at Lodge 96, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Roxanne!

many thanks for your kind words and we're both very glad you enjoyed your stay here. personally i need a break so please come now!! ;) although it is lovely and cool here today but dry unlike the rest of the garden route it seems! was lovely meeting you two and hope to see you again sometime soon. go well, Matt and Rosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed for a few nights and found the hostel to be clean but basic. We stayed in the house at the back of the property so I think there were 4 (private) rooms that shared a kitchen, bathroom, and living room. When we were there, there were a few men staying there long term so it really didn't have a fun hostel feel to it as there were no other travellers staying there.

Matt was very friendly and more than happy to provide suggestions on activities, food, etc. They have 2 big dogs so if you're allergic/afraid, you may not like it there.

If you're passing through and looking for a clean place to stay, then this is fine. But if you're looking to meet other travellers, then I wouldn't recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosa Maria L, Owner at Lodge 96, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Hi Eli my crazy Israeli friend!! Are you still in Capetown and having fun? Despite being one night only here you are still well remembered by myself and Rosa and the restaurant we sent you too still remembers the crazy israeli with all the tequila shots! Say hi to your lady friend too who's name escapes me but she was nice and good fun too! Look after yourself and come see us again soon!

Matt and Rosa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

lodge 96 was a night we didn't plan. we have arrived there after dark and after seeing some other places.
the second we entered the place, matt, the owner, has welcomed us in with warmness. we saw the dorms and the private rooms and everything was nice and clean. we got lots of recomondations for everything possible doing in oudtshoorn, including discount vouchers, and overview of resteurants in town.
realy good place, recomended for every body who are traveling around and likes to stay in good place and meet good people!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This no frills place was great for a night, we arrived late, took a look at our small but clean room before heading out for some food at a restaurant Matt, the owner, recommended. We were unlucky as the weather was 41 that day & a good nights sleep was difficult. If you love dogs, it wouldn't worry you but them knocking against the bedroom door all night kept us both awake. We also had to listen to the TV through the door as our room was right next to the common room and this also kept us awake. Matt is nice and has brilliant suggestions about what to do, how best to do it and where to eat.

Room Tip: Not the one next to the common room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The only Welsh in the village (possibly) Matt, the owner, was absolutely brilliant. He is genuinely very friendly, knowledgeable of the area and informative. He gave us discount vouchers for nearby activities which helped us save money and advised us of good spots to dine and visit. We would have liked to have spent a bit more time at the lodge and get to know Matt and his gang a bit more but maybe next time! Rian who helps out Matt is an artist and an interesting guy who has some awesome stories to tell. The place was clean and comfortable with nice shower - stayed in private room with a shared bathroom. It's just 5 minutes walk away from nearby shops and restaurants. Matt if you are reading this please oil or WD40 those doors which make a lot of noise as they can be very creaky at night forgot to mention :)) the dogs were fabulous too and kept us well entertained.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were a group of 10 people and stayed at Lodge 96 for 2 nights. Matt, the owner, is a really nice guy and helps were he can. He gave us tips about what we could do, phoned some places and did some reservations for us. He's a really good cooker too, and we enjoyed also a nice braai and long discussions.
The rooms were all clean and with nicely furnished. We had 2 two double bed rooms in the old house with shared bathrooms and a 6-bed dorm with own bathroom next to the pool (the shower here is amazing). The beds were comfortable and I sleept really good.
The kitchen in the old house is fully equiped, there is as well a living room with TV and DVD-player, outside there is as well a braai place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge 96? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge 96

Address: 96 Langenhoven Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oudtshoorn is the town that averages 333 days sunshine a year! Lodge96 Backpackers has immaculate double bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms and the dorms (only 8 people at a time) also have their own bathrooms.Nearby are awesome mountain passes and scenic red hill drives (great to do with a mountain bike if you so wish), stunning waterfall picnic spots, & natural thermal baths (nice!). We can also arrange quad biking, abseiling, a visit to the famous Cango Caves,Ostrich Farms, kayaking on a gorgeous dam nestled against the Swartberg mountains and paintballing just down the road from us. Also within a 30 minute drive you can visit some excellent vineyards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Lodge 96 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge 96, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.