We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A budget hotel in the right place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Riempie Estate

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Riempie Estate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Riempie Estate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO. Box 370 | Oudtshoorn, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Oudtshoorn
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A budget hotel in the right place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Cute hotel and liked by most of my tourists. One day only.Staff helpful and alwyas there for you. Food is average, but it is hotel food. Plenty of restaurants in the area.Can be noisy, as you have roosters at 02h30, Osriches barking and the balloon flying over at 05h00. Value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    27
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
19
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

As explained by other reviewers, this is a combination of Protea Group standards with a country styled rondavel village layout. Everything about the hotel is OK, but not exceptional. Clean rooms with the usual trimmings etc..

The lush grass is an oasis in this dryish part of the world, and you constantly feel the pull to simply relax and unwind.

Good for a night or two, a safe option when you're unsure of other options in the area, and well situated for seeing the surrounds.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed there for only one night but wish to return one day soon! Its situated a stone throw away from the Cango Caves, Ostrich Farm and the Cango Wildlife Range.

As you enter, there is lush green grass, the Rondevals are spaced out very well, the staff are friendly, they checked us in timeously. The room was very neat and comfy, the facilities such as the pool area and jungle gym are prime for kids!

Will recommend to anyone who wants to experience the attractions in Oudtshoorn :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

An overnight stay with our two small kids. Booking in was easy and a pleasure via email and telephone. Cute rondavel next to pool. TV reception was a bit fuzzy though. Did inform ahead of time of our young children so the enormously high single bed and very strange and low pull out type chair for them was disappointing. Space was limited I know but we are used to two double beds at the Proteas when we stay with the kids. They then share the one. Wi-fi access was provided very promptly and we opted for room service with kids again, which was OK. Breakfast was good and staff there were very friendly. Our last concerns was that we felt we couldn't enjoy the pool with the kids with our elderly neighbour sunbathing topless and our other neighbours partied loudly till all hours and at the pool, which didn't help when getting the kids to sleep or for ourselves through the night. Nonetheless, we would try staying again sometime.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Staff tries hard, phoned ahead to find out about arrival time and inform about specials. Well done, but on arrival A does not know what B does and there is obvious confusion. Some staff members read instructions before their shift, others did not. Rooms are ok, room no 25 is small. Would not recommand it if you have to stay longer. Noise travells well at this place. Breakfast buffet offered a wide selcetion and was ppened in time. Well done - specially in New Years Day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulph Mills, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was a bit concerned having read some reviews but found the property clean and well appointed (coffee maker, flat screen tv, desk, etc). The "rooms" are quite interesting - I was in a larger room than my friend and found that it was quiet albeit a bit cold even with the heater on as my room had higher ceilings than most. The bed was comfortable and front staff friendly to provide an adapter for charging. The location is fine if you have a car, as I was on a tour, getting to restaurants in town required a cab. The night I stayed the hotel restaurant was closed due to the local prom that was taking place there so I had to go to a restaurant in town. The buffet breakfast was filling and had many options. I think it is a fine place to stay for an overnight -

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed 2 nights, good location around Oudtshoorn local tourist attractions. Well manicured garden. Good food friendly staff always eager to help to make you very comfortable. Convenient stopover .The rooms quite pleasant a little bit tight as i had a cot too. But overall i do recommend. Value for money.cherry on top are the 2 resident Ostriches. My Son loved watching them

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel Riempie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Riempie Estate

Address: PO. Box 370 | Oudtshoorn, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Riempie Estate 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Riempie Estate - A Cosy country atmosphere in a tranquil setting. Situated in a farm-like setting on the outskirts of Oudtshoorn, the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate is a charming hotel with well-appointed thatched rondavels, only 20 minutes away from the Cango Caves and moments away from the crocodile and ostrich farms for which Oudtshoorn is famed. Dine in the excellent restaurant and enjoy the best in country fare and hospitality. There are many facilities nearby; golf, squash, tennis, bowls and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Protea Hotel Riempie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Riempie Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.