We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a revamp” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl of Oudtshoorn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Pearl of Oudtshoorn to your Saves list
The Pearl of Oudtshoorn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr. Baron von Rheede and Van Der Riet Streets, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa (Formerly Oudtshoorn Hotel & Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Donegal, Ireland
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“In need of a revamp”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

Stayed here one night as part of a tour group. We had requested a non smoking room but received a smoking room. The curtains were drab and didn't fit the window, the room had a funny smell and the bathroom was grey with not enough hot water for a shower. The surrounding pipes rattled when any other tourists flushed their toilets and noise carried through the hotel. There were a million cigarette butts on the roof outside our window.

There was a kettle, tv and safe in the room. Bedroom was clean. Breakfast mediocre.

Ate dinner in a restaurant down the street "La Dolce Vita" - it was cheap for sure, food just ok.

  • Liked — Departure
  • Disliked — Cold shower and the rattling pipes.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    30
    18
    4
See reviews for
18
30
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

We found the hotel very impersonal. Geared to coach parties who had demolished the breakfast like a plague of locusts and it wasn't replenished for individuals who came later.
Refuse Room 432 - it takes full sun the air conditioning doesn't work and there are noisy youths outside! Pool was good.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

We stopped at Oudtshoorn on our way from Stellenbosch to Knysna and had a comfortable night in a large room overlooking the gardens and pool (We had one double bed each). The room and bathroom were well stocked and clean, although a little tired and well used. The service we received was friendly and efficient, both in reception and in the restaurant at breakfast.
The gardens and pool area were well tended, however the unheated pool wasn't very inviting or clean, but we found this was pretty much par for the course in SA hotels we stayed in.
Oudtshoorn itself is a nice town, with some good restaurants within a short distance. We ate our best meal of the holiday at Jemima's restaurant just round the corner from the hotel, book a table outside at the back if you can, or just get a table anywhere!

  • Liked — Convenient, clean
  • Disliked — Characterless
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

We checked in on Friday night - 28 April 2006. We were a bus group of travellers. I was in room 206. Our room phone was out of order, nothing done about that. My friends were next door in room 208. Their room door was faulty, their shower was not in good working order - nothing was done about that either. The ice machine on our floor was out of order, the lift was out of order. The roof was leaking in the foyer and there were constantly buckets of water standing there. The Saturday morning we had breakfast and all was going ok up to that point. The Saturday evening we were due to have a buffet dinner in the hotel, at the last minute, we were told that they can no longer accommodate us, as they have 2 weddings they have to cater for, but they would make arrangements with another restaurant nearby. The first restaurant we were supposed to go to, the hotel staff did not confirm back with them, so they had cancelled our booking. At six o clock the evening, they called the restaurant situated just behind the hotel and asked them to cater for around 55 people at seven o clock. When we got there, they weren't ready for us, and we were made to wait outside in the cold. When trying to ask Anne Anthony (reservations manager) what was going on - she refused to speak to us and brushed us aside and said she didn't have time as she was busy with the weddings....... The dinner was a total disaster!!!!!! Most people only got their main meal at ten o clock and by then others have left without dessert....We had two clients with us who had special meal requirements (Halaal) which the hotel knew about -but since they never informed the restaurant, these two clients and their room mates had to go and buy dinner as they were not catered for!!!! The Sunday morning breakfast was just as chaotic! They ran out of bacon and people were made to queue for a very long time - the student who is in charge of the kitchen just said that they were waiting for the bacon from Pick n Pay and we just had to wait or do without! - The eggs were being fried at the back instead of in front as per the day before - had to wait on that too. They ran out of croissants, salami, bread and muffins - the whole weekend was not well catered for!!!! The orange juice machine emptied half way through breakfast every morning and was not refilled. Most of the staff were so unfriendly and people couldn't wait to leave this place! The only staff member who actually took the time to come and chat with me was Lydia who is the kitchen supervisor! The Sunday morning at breakfast - there was not a manager in sight after the previous evening dinner disaster!

The pool is in desperate need of a good clean as well as repair - as there are huge sections of the marble that is chipped out! The room cleaning service was only getting to rooms at 15h30 when clients were back at their rooms already and that was totally unacceptable. Toilet rolls were just put on the existing roll holders and there were no extra rolls put in the bathrooms (all the bus clients rooms complained about this) the towels were not sufficient for the 4 pax in all the rooms. Every morning there were guests who had to request an extra two cups for the tea and coffee in the room. They knew that there were 4 pax per room and they should have catered accordingly!!!!! I could go on about all the things that went wrong, but there wouldn't be enough time. The feel of all as we left, is that nobody ever wants to go back to this hotel. I myself couldn't believe that this was a four star establishment!!!! I told Lydia that I received far better service from a two star lodge! I would seriously suggest that you send a representative to check all of this out - as it is certainly not worthy of the 4stars that you awarded them.

I too work in the travel industry and it's your clients who pay your salary at the end of the month - and the staff at this hotel leaves much to be desired. I even explained to them, that your front desk in your first contact and first impression with your guests. - There was no greeting throughout our stay - there was hardly anybody visible in the front - there were always three of them standing in the one corner chatting - There are staff who feel that things are going horribly wrong at this establishment, but they are afraid to lose their jobs - because management is greatly lacking here - and they intimidate the staff!!!! to such a point that they don't raise their voices if they disagree....

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury shropshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2006

We stayed here one night to break the journey from Stellenbosch to Knysna. The hotel is large and quite "impersonal" with long corridors which reminded me of huge airport hotels but it was very comfortable. The room we had was huge with 2 king size beds, had everything you needed, was spotlessly clean and had a quiet air conditioning system. The balcony overlooked the pool area although our room was behind a tree which blocked the view! The staff were friendly and polite. There is a good gift shop but for some reason the owner closed the shop between 9.00 and 5.00 each day - something to do with when the tour parties were in the hotel. Breakfast was excellent with an extensive choice of menu. There is a pool area.
There are a number of good restaurants within a very short walk from the hotel which is about a 10 minutes walk from the town centre. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pearl of Oudtshoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl of Oudtshoorn

Address: Cnr. Baron von Rheede and Van Der Riet Streets, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa (Formerly Oudtshoorn Hotel & Resort)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pearl of Oudtshoorn 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Pearl of Oudtshoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oudtshoorn Hotel Oudtshoorn
Oudtshoorn Hotel And Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pearl of Oudtshoorn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.