We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What lovely room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Poort Country Lodge

De Poort Country Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oudtshoorn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
De Poort Country Lodge
R328, Schoemanspoort, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 64 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Bristol
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“What lovely room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was fantastic room with lovely decor. It had gorgeous king size bed with a much needed heater over the door to warm the room. There was a small kitchen so we could do a brew! Shower lovely and hot. The home cooking in the evening and for breakfast was fantastic.
We travelled as a group and one 70 year old friend stated that he had had the best nights sleep in this lodge that he had had for 25years!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Lovely cottages set in pleasant gardens. The pool was in a garden location, an excellent spot for cooling off at the end of a busy day! The thatched cottages were large, with a small balcony area.

The home-cooked food was delicious and interesting combinations, which worked well. Ostrich steaks were tender and perfectly cooked, the carrots were cooked with star anise, potatoes with rosemary, green beans with a white sauce and crispy topping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Situated a few miles from Oudtshoorn, this lovely lodge has beautiful rooms, a nice bar and the food was excellent. There are lovely walks and the bird life is stunning. A lovely relaxing place to stay

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Not too far from the caves De Poort Lodge is a very nice place to stay at. The owners are very helpful, providing copies of maps without even being asked after checking where we were heading.

Room was very spacious, comfy and clean. Of course with the traditional thatch roof there is the occasional bug, spider or ant but that's just the way it is. The view was spectacular.

Breakfast was lovely, one of the best we had on our trip. I specially liked the buffet style as you can choose what and how much of it you like. Very fresh fruit salad!

The pool was also very welcome as it was very hot on the day we visited. It could be cleaner, I believe the pump didn't work but it was still totally fine for swimming and cooling down.

All in all very repeatable experience. Love to watch the birds in the garden. Very helpful and friendly people !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We came as a group of six to this gorgeous place late one evening after a stressful day and delayed journey. We were warmly welcomed and shown to the most beautiful rooms we have ever stayed in. They were clean, comfortable, and there was incredible attention to detail. Breakfast was unbelievable! And we were well looked after by the owners who helped us to plan our activites - nothing was too much trouble for them! We would come back tomorrow!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nestled in the hills, his was the nicest of the hotels we visited on our holiday withe explore worldwide. a nice welcome and very comfortable, but not luxurious rooms. The breakfast and brei were also lovely. Cycling back to the hotel was a holiday highlight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulm, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The De Poort Country Lodge is located about 15km from Oudtshoorn not far from the Cango Caves . The rooms are spacious and clean with attractive furnishings. There are a few easy walks near the lodge or you can relax by the pool and watch the colourful birds flitting in and out of the trees.. A good location if you want to stay out of Oudtshoorn but be near to the Caves and Ostrich Farms. We were given a warm welcome by the owner.
There are lots of steps up to some rooms and dining room so may not be suitable for someone with disabilities.

Room Tip: The 1st floor rooms have huge vaulted ceilings and the views from the balcony are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Poort Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Poort Country Lodge

Address: R328, Schoemanspoort, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Poort Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added De Poort Country Lodge to your Saves list