We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have Fun with Meerkat.....!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meerkat Magic

Meerkat Magic
Scenic Cape Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
044 272 3077
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 15 Activities in Oudtshoorn
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Performances
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Have Fun with Meerkat.....!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It is a very special activity in Oudtshoorn. The guide gave us a lot of information about the meerkats. It is very funny when we see them stand up together under the sun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    5
    3
    0
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cape town
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Meerkat Magic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Beware people - there are TWO meerkat experiences!!! The best is the one by Devey who operates through de Zeekoe and this tour is well organised and run. Meerkat Magic, by Grant is NOT the one to go to. It is a rip off (if you even get to go after paying) So watch out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was a fabulous experience. Up at 4.30am to meet in a lay-by miles from anywhere, follow a guy in a pick up in the dark to god knows where. Cup of coffee provided by pick up man & then take a fold up chair & follow man out into the desert. Man turns out to be Devey who is very knowlegable about the area & the animals & spends a lot of time searching out the meerkats for us tourists to go & watch. So we sat quietly on our chairs waiting, not expecting much but suddenly out pops meerkat 1, followed by about 20 others. They just carried on with their lives as if we weren't there, yawning , stretching , playing. We were only a few feet away, it was amazing. After a while when they were all up & ready they set off foraging & that was it. Just marvellous !!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“tourist dream!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

we had the most friendly welcome and service, thank you, will be back for another interesting visit!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kruger National Park, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Poor response”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Let me start by saying that I was not able to visit the Meerkat Magic tour but I would like to put in writing my experience. On the website they say don't phone, they will only respond to emails or text messages. In a very polite way, I sent a text message asking if we could perhaps go on a tour and this is the response I got - and I quote: "The Meerkat Magic Conservation Project's conservation visits are all booked between research assistants and filming into later this year - limited visits are allocated so that the Wild and Free meerkats are not disturbed. We usually take donations of R20 - R50 per visit as our focus is not on large scale overpriced tourism but rather around limited numbers of small group visits with conservation minded guests NOT wanting the standard "check list" commercialised tourism. For a list of our international scientific publications with Cambridge there is a link on the main website. There are 150 + free online conservation videos from MEERKAT MAGIC MOMENTS - UNCUT of our Wild and Free meerkat greeting card images from our Wild and Free meerkat conservation research since 1993 ............. Best Wishes from Grant". I consider this response rude at best - how does Grant know that we are not conservation minded people and why, if they are so booked do they advertise so extensively. A simple "I'm terribly sorry but we are fully booked", would have sufficed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meerkat Magic also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Meerkat Magic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meerkat Magic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.