We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME AWAY FROM HOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Die Fonteine

Save Saved
You added Die Fonteine to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Die Fonteine
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Die Fonteine | Schoemanshoek, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter Special
Ranked #11 of 64 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a lovely B&B which is just outside Oudtshoorn Town Centre and not too far to drive to Cango Caves. It really felt like a 'home away from home' rather than an impersonal room in a 'business, and the owner was exceptionally friendly and welcoming. The room itself was large and clean, as was the en-suite bathroom. What can I say about the breakfast! There was a fabulous selection of dishes which would suit any and every taste, and the hot breakfast was really delicious. The location is perfect with lovely views and a feeling of openness, with the garden being very nicely set out. There are two dogs on the property but they are not intrusive and are very well behaved. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a really lovely stay.

Die Fonteine is just outside Oudsthoorn on the way to the Cango Caves which was perfect for us as we wanted to be in the countryside rather than the town itself but it's only a 5-10 drive anyway.

The room was lovely and spacious and set at the side so we felt like we had a lot of privacy. I would however spend a happy hour or so on the well manicured lawns reading my book and having a sundowner.

Anzue was a great host, very friendly and provided some great breakfasts.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a lovely guest house - friendly and welcoming, with a real feel of home about it. It has its own attractive gardens, and is set in a rural area of great beauty. Nearby Buffelsdrift game park is a very special place for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent a night here after visiting the Cango Caves and being hugged by an ostrich at the nearby farm, and were made very welcome. The "Roses" room was comfortable with beautiful linen, the gardens lovely and the breakfast was delicious. We had to be careful walking to our room as the paths were very uneven and steps steep. We ate at Buffelsdrift which was OK but so dark we could hardly see what we were eating!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a really great B&B that is ideally located between the Cango Caves and the Oudtshoorn Wildlife Ranch. The rooms are great with airconditioning and unusually for a B&B include a safe in the cupboard. The gardens are splendid with lots of shady places to escape the heat - the farm "dam" has been converted to a swimming pool which allows you to cool off at the end of your days activities. (Summer temperatures in Oudtshoorn can exceed 40C)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this lovely guesthouse. The host was very nice and courteous. Our room "Rose" was very clean, comfortable and big enough for two. Only the variety at the breakfast could had been a bit more versatile.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed two nights at Die Fountaine Guesthouse and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nothing was too much for the owners. They went out of their way to make us comfortable and were most informative about activities we might enjoy including Cango Caves, Ostrich Farms, etc. Anzue is a delightful host, too.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Die Fonteine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Fonteine

Address: Die Fonteine | Schoemanshoek, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Fonteine 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house is situated just outside Oudtshoorn on the way to Cango Caves. This guest house is owned and run by Anzue. There are 6 double rooms each with their own entrance and ensuite bathrooms. Rooms are spacious and new with wonderful finishes. The setting of the guest house is beautiful and we loved eating a delicious breakfast while being surrounded by mountains and watching ostriches nearby. I would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment especially to guests touring The Garden Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo and HostelBookers so you can book your Die Fonteine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Die Fonteine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.