We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Zeekoe Farm

De Zeekoe Farm
P.O.Box 226, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
+27 (0) 44 272 6721
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 activities in Oudtshoorn
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Very good room and service. Dinner was excellent, having the ostrich fillet and cooked to perfection. Easy enough to find if driving and close to other activities. It is a working farm and some of the machinery starts very early, OK if you are going to see the meerkats at 5am. A little perfunctory but well worth the visit. The car was washed every morning, a great treat.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chobe National Park, Botswana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay for the meercats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

I travelled to Oudtshoorn to photograph meerkats and was recommended De Zeekoe by some colleagues. I must say that this is quite simply one of the best establishments i have come across in a long time. The rooms and communal areas were immaculate, the staff enchanting and very helpful, the cocktails most delicious and the food equally so. De Zeekoe organise the early morning meercat encounter as it happens on their land which is a brilliant wildlife experience that you have to do when in the area as well as the other traditional sightseeing options. I will be returning to De Zeekoe very soon and i will be bringing my own clients too. Thank you to Adri and the team for a very pleasant stopover indeed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
“Miss A Jonson & Partner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you want to feel free and relax, this is the place to be, so much beauty we haven't seen in such a long time. The place is just one word 'AMAZING"
The rooms and the cabins are luxurious and comfortable, not to speak about the food served, we had breakfast as well as supper in such a peaceful environment, soft classical music at dinner and the most beautiful Christian music in the mornings with breakfast.
Defnitaley a must see destination.
Paula the owner was one of the most amazing woman i have ever met, she went the extra mile for us, and it was realy so pleasant to meet her!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Beautiful landscape and sunset viewing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here one night. The farm is pretty isolated, and there is a lot of open land around, which is beautiful and perfect for sunset viewing (reminds me a lot of some Thomas Kinkade paintings). Make sure to explore around to find the best spots for picture taking, as there are a lot.

I ordered ostrich for dinner, and it was very good. Lamb was so so. Service was okay, but very slow, especially if you need something, like a refill on water, or the menu to look at desserts, etc.

Our room was very spacious, including the bathroom, and was comfortable, although it took a while to get the hot water going (not sure if it was just not knowing how to work it).

Stayed in Sep 2012

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay, every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I travel a lot across SA and when I first saw the pictures marketing De Zeekoe, I knew it was a must-see destination. An absolute delight!Paula and her staff have gone the extra 2 miles during every stay and the food, warm hospitality, stunning rooms and great views make me go back every time I travel this route. I have even taken a few interior decorating tips from Paula! Please try their gluwein and olive pate, it is divine!
Erna, East London

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Zeekoe Farm also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to De Zeekoe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Zeekoe Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added De Zeekoe Farm to your Saves list