We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse to your Saves list
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   88 Baron van Reede Street | Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 69 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We only stayed one night on our South African holiday as time was short, but from the online booking to the welcoming drink, lovely breakfast and clean, comfortable accommodation this hotel fitted the bill! Huw and Zoe are really welcoming, helpful and friendly. they really deserve to do well as they put themselves out to make everything perfect.

Thank you for a lovely, if short, stay. We wish you all the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    47
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
285
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the 3rd hotel on our 'garden route' holiday and by this time we were getting used to the great South African hospitality and the owners of the 88 Baron didn't let it down.
Such friendly and enthusiastic people! As we only had a small amount of time to see Oudtshoorn we were shown exactly how to fit in the main attractions, where the best places for lunch and dinner were and even the time scales we could work to!
The guest house is very nicely furnished and very clean. The breakfast was really good, very tasty and well cooked.
Our bed was huge and really comfortable, maybe the room wasn't the most bang-up-to-date that we stayed in but does the style of a wardrobe make any difference to your stay somewhere? I think not.
The Baron 88 is all about comfort, value, service, location and friendliness.
Don't stay anywhere else in Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bs. As. Argentina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Oudtshoorn is not a very nice place, not much to see/do, but if you are staying there, do not hesitate and stay at de 88 BVR. The hosts are really nice, and can help you book a restaurant. Rooms are very clean and bathroom is spacious. Walking distance from all restaurants. Totally recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Thank you so much Zoe and Huw for a fantastic stay, wish it could have been longer. You were so welcoming, with a lovely cool beer, just the ticket after a hot drive.
All the info you passed on was really useful, we loved the meal at Buffalsdrift and saw elephants, then the ostrich farm we laughed at the others riding them. The pool and sun loungers were just what we wanted to cool down.
The wonderful breakfast cooked by Huw was delicious, we will certainly recommend a stay here to anyone researching a holiday at Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mapua, Nelson
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We didn't know what to expect at 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse. It was very much cheaper than anywhere else we had stayed in South Africa and we were somewhat apprehensive of what we might find! We neednt have worried - Zoe met us on our early arrival & warmly welcomed us to our room, offering us a lovely chilled drink after our journey.
The rooms are well furnished and beautifully decorated and although not large, are more than acceptable for a one or two night stay. Everything is impeccably clean & the bathroom perfectly adequate & larger than many we have come across.
Zoe & Huw cannot do enough for their guests and ertainly go the extra mile in every respect. I had managed to fall a day earlier and badly twist my ankle & Zoe was kind enough to get me an appointment at the local medical centre at short notice & was immediately on hand with a prepared ice pack & extra pillows on our return to their guesthouse.
Huw made us a dinner reservation near by and was up bright and early the following morning to serve up a well cooked and appetizing breakfast - his chocolate muffins are to die for!
If you are visiting Oudtshoorn don't hesitate to book at 88 Van Reede Guesthouse - if you can get in there - you won't be disappointed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We can assure you that this guest house really is as good, if not better than, it's many outstanding reviews. Across all the 50+ countries that we have visited this is the only guesthouse to which we have returned. It's not just the location, the breakfast or the clean and straightforward rooms (all of which are excellent), but the calibre of the hosts - Zoe and Huw. The couple, who took a huge risk moving from the UK to set up the B&B just 4 years ago, are naturals. They always take time to check that you are comfortable and relaxed (who else takes ones drinks order at the poolside or bandages up ones cut finger!) and offer advice on each day's activities. They appear to have a genuine concern / interest for their guests and it makes for a great relaxing atmosphere at very good value for money. There is a surprising amount to do in Oudtshoorn and its environs so why not add an extra day and stay here - you won't regret it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay here on the basis of the amazing reviews; and the accommodation, plus Zoë & Huw as hosts, lived up to them. They are the nicest couple, full of chat and suggestions. The breakfast was amazing and Huw's famed chocolate muffins lived up to their reputation. Near, a few mins walk, to some good restaurants it made a great base for one night as we drove route 62 onto Addo. For the price as well, look no further than 88 if you are passing through.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Address: 88 Baron van Reede Street | Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our 150 year old sandstone home in the centre of the historical town of Oudtshoorn at the heart of the Klein Karoo. We are centrally located and walking distance to all popular restaurants in town. All 10 rooms are en-suite with separate entrances. Complimentary coffee & tea facilities and guest amenities are provided. A cooked breakfast is served to you whilst you relax on our verandah, watching the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.