We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always trust a place with passionate owners!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse to your Saves list
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   88 Baron van Reede Street | Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 69 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always trust a place with passionate owners!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The moment we met Zoe and Huw, the hosts of the B&B, my boyfriend, Peter & I knew we had made the right accommodation choice at Oudtshoorn.

Hosts – Zoe and Huw make such a great team. They are big-hearted and earnest, and know the area at the back of their hands. We were eased into the B&B very efficiently, and got all the information we required and more (e.g. nearby attractions, recommended restaurants and even menus) without having to enquire. It’s no wonder why all their guests, us included, speak so fondly of them.

B&B/room – With not one but two passionate people running the place, you can only expect the best. The guesthouse is situated along the main street where there are plenty of cafés and restaurants to be found. Key attractions such as the safari ostrich farm and cango caves are just a short drive away. We stayed in room 8 which was spacious, clean and comfortable. We are thankful that the couple invested in additional units of heater to make the room warm in winter. The toilet is smaller than most, but good enough for us. Free wifi access was also available in the house.

Food – I can imagine how proud Zoe is of Huw, a husband who can cook! We had a hearty Full English breakfast to start off the day, and the lovely couple even packed homemade muffins for us, for the roads.

Parking – Private parking is available so safety is ensured.

This is a place with hosts that inspire people! We are happy to have met Zoe and Huw.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    47
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
285
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bunratty West, Clare, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The guesthouse itself is lovely, clean and spacious, with everything you could want in the room waiting for you. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was much larger than I would have expected for a B&B room. The location is easy to find, in a nice area to walk around from, and on the main road from town towards the local attractions (Cango caves, wildlife ranch etc). Breakfast is as good as I've had anywhere.

What really set it apart though was the owners, Zoë and Huw. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like friends. Huw gave us a map and talked us through everything worth doing in the area, with the sort of tips that only a local can give. As it turned out we were both ill during our stay and they could not have done more for us, they really were amazing hosts. (they also rang and reminded us not to leave town without our passports which i left in the room...)

I cannot recommend this place highly enough, it was great!

ps: Huws homemade chocolate muffins are delicious!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Happy to have chosen this B&B- hosts Zoe and Hew were great, friendly and welcoming. They shared information about the area, restaurants and travel routes. Our room was so great, clean and spacious and, our own balcony. Breakfast was yummy too. Easy to walk to restaurants

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We were touring around the garden route for six days and stayed in Oudtshoorn after visiting Knynas on the coast. We found this B&B online with excellent reviews and decided to stay. The owners of the B&B, Zoe and Huw, were a delight to spend time with. We were only there a day but left feeling we were leaving friends. We stayed in the main block of rooms and the facilities represented great functional value. Zoe and Huw deserve to do well and we hope to be back to see them at some stage. Thanks again guys.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

88 Baron Van Reede Guesthouse has everything we need for our stay. The room is clean and the king sized bed is comfortable. The vanity mirror which is not in room for some of the 5 star hotels is in the room. Near by, there are several restaurants and gift shops. We went for dinner at two restaurants following Zoe's suggestions. They were excellent. Hwu and Zoe not only made our stay restful but also provided outstanding advice for visiting Outdshoorn and South Africa in general. If you can get a room, stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the 88 Baron Van Reede Guesthouse one night. It is in the heart of the town and is in a beautiful old house. We were greeted by the very friendly owners, Hwu and Zoe. We were offered a complimentary drink on the front veranda and given suggestions for good eating places within easy walking distance of the B&B and Hwu made a booking for us at one. The lovely breakfast was made to order and served hot. The rooms were extremely clean and comfy. By the time we left we almost felt like Hwu and Zoe were old family friends. Free secure parking on site. Great value for the money. We will stay here again if back in the Oudtshoorn area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Our welcome by Hew and Zoe was the best we have had for a long time. They genuinely go out of their way to make your stay at their guesthouse as comfortable as possible, but then go the extra mile taking you through places to see, many of which are off the tourist track saving you time and adding to your experience. Our road trip through the swartberg mountains was unforgettable! Incredible value for money at the guest.house. We will be staying there again next year for sure. An aside, we took a balloon flight with Charl of Oudtshoorn ballooning, a very special experience and one we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Address: 88 Baron van Reede Street | Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our 150 year old sandstone home in the centre of the historical town of Oudtshoorn at the heart of the Klein Karoo. We are centrally located and walking distance to all popular restaurants in town. All 10 rooms are en-suite with separate entrances. Complimentary coffee & tea facilities and guest amenities are provided. A cooked breakfast is served to you whilst you relax on our verandah, watching the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.